Forney Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Forney Industries Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Steve Anderson
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Nice people, but a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forney Industries

    Pros

    Great co-workers that are always there to help, flexible hours

    Cons

    No training for new products, managers only care about the what you did today, not yesterday. Would have to order for stores even if they did not want an order. Also upper manager just see you as a number on a computer screen. CEO's are leaving, someone fired or stepping down almost daily, its like a sinking ship

    Advice to Management

    Help train sales reps on new items they are forced to sell into stores. Stop making sales reps sell in orders to stores that do not wish to order.

    Forney Industries2016-12-03
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great Family-Oriented Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forney Industries

    Pros

    PTO program exceeds expectations. Good vision and transparency from leadership. Great work environment where you can make a difference.

    Cons

    Health benefits are standard for a mid-size company. Salary slightly below average.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees that have helped transform the company into what it is today, not just the fresh meat.

    Forney Industries2016-10-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Bad News"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forney Industries

    Pros

    Acceptable equipment, products and accessories.

    Cons

    Horrible communication throughout entire organization. Company totes integrity, non existent in realty. Discounts employee dedicated work. Management refuses to accept responsibility for extreme poor judgment and decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to your word. Strive for transparency.

    Forney Industries2016-11-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Small company poised for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forney Industries

    Pros

    CEO passionate about building this company for long term growth and success. Investments around culture, people, technology, and sites all have positive impact.

    Cons

    At times, too many initiatives demanding focus and resources.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to share progress and barriers to the strategic plan.

    Forney Industries2016-09-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forney Industries

    Pros

    Every single person you talk to is friendly. Even people who you only see once a week approach with enthusiasm and kindness. It makes it easy to come into work and speak with people online.

    Cons

    Sometimes, with so many people coming in and out, it becomes difficult to learn about everyone. Fortunately, the Chaplains who come by are fun to talk to and love getting to know everyone.

    Forney Industries2016-09-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forney Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product line, we'll known brand with lots of growth opportunities, extensive product mix which is a blessing and a curse.

    Cons

    Extensive travel in designated territory, few incentives, long hours and low pay when compared to like sales positions. Little growth potential.

    Advice to Management

    Share the wealth

    Forney Industries2016-09-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Warehouse overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Picker in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forney Industries

    Pros

    Great team that works together

    Cons

    Raises are non existent and personal growth is not there

    Advice to Management

    create new jobs that the company can expand there market share

    Forney Industries2016-06-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custoner Service Specialist in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Forney Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my job here, great variety in tasks, took some time but i became very adept at my job requirements. Comraderie with fellow employees and sales team. Very caring CEO.

    Cons

    Lack of touch or monitoring of middle management. They are free to gleefully terminate or push out anyone that doesn't endear themselves to them and suck up. Instead of seeking to have a good relationship with all subordinates middle management carries themselves as aloof and has a holier than thou attitude. Like soo many have mentioned befire, HR is a 1 person empire with constant turnover. Actually turnover is a company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While some or most of the execs are accessible and caring, having just one that is poisonous can be virtual suicide for a company on the brink of either falling away or taking off like never before. Man up, make the right decisions, above all, when you have a good employee, and I'm not just talking about myself, don't allow them to leave if possible, and certainly don't terminate them or allow a poisonous snake to terminate...

    Show More
    Forney Industries2015-12-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tipp City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forney Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing to share here. There were absolutely no pros I could list during my tenure.

    Cons

    The CEO and executive management lacks experience to lead the company in the right direction. They have no brand identity. The HR department is non-existent! You will be on an island and the corporate office doesn't know what time zone you are in. Benefits are awful! Long hours worked with no recognition. Went to the corporate office and the CEO didn't know my co-workers name, my co-worker had been with the company for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You must establish a brand identity. The current executive team needs turned over because of their lack of vision. Pay employees a fair wage and improve your benefits package. HR needs to be more engaged with the employees.

    Forney Industries2015-12-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Dishonest Director!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forney Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment is nice

    Cons

    My Manager/Director is a micro-manager. He is one of the most dishonest people I have met. He can't understand the technical side of my function so focused on the personnel side. Ultimately, since I do not appreciate the interference, this will lead to my departure. Seams like everyone that I talk to about this Company is very unhappy.

    Advice to Management

    The owner of this company needs to wake up. Maybe He is part of the dishonesty? Drop the emphasis on the pop-pychology. It's a waste of time and money. Recognize the value that every employee creates, not just the management team. Spread the wealth around a little. Learn to forgive mistakes. Focus on quality - the stuff you make is crap and you are one worthy competitor away from losing the 2 customers that provide most...

    Show More
    Forney Industries2015-11-11
Found 28 reviews