Cover image for Forrester
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Forrester

Engaged Employer

Forrester

Add a Review

Forrester Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Nov 22, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,305 of over 1K reviews
4.2
86% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
Forrester Chairman, President, and CEO George F. Colony
86% Approve of CEO
Top CEOs 2021

Found 47 of over 1K reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Forrester Chairman, President, and CEO George F. Colony
George F. Colony
920 Ratings

What people are saying about Forrester

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are smart and supportive.(in 220 reviews)
  • "You will learn so much and the culture is great.(in 114 reviews)
  • "Great work / life balance(in 99 reviews)
  • "'Anywhere work' is a great benefit that allows you to select if and when you want to work in the office.(in 85 reviews)
  • "Looks good on the CV and some great colleagues.(in 81 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Forrester and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Research!

    Dec 22, 2015 - Researcher in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is absolutely fantastic. Gym in the office. Great work/life balance. Work with like minded smart individuals. Great place to start a career.

    Cons

    There are tensions between departments due to the departments having different business objectives. Senior management is aware of this, and things may change.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor Management

    Dec 12, 2020 - Senior Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good people. Great access to industry insiders.

    Cons

    Senior management is a club of folks that have been at Forrester most of their careers. They have an inflated sense of themselves and are very clubby. The reality for most folks is they are kind of stuck and can’t move even laterally.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Forrester team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong brand, excellent team, needs a clearer strategy

    May 21, 2020 - Senior Research Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I came to Forrester through the acquisition of SiriusDecisions. Immediately on joining I felt the influence of the brand -- they have a phenomenal reputation and a clear respect among clients. The people are smart, energetic and driven. The culture is embracing.

    Cons

    The company lacks a clear and coherent strategy that will drive growth (or at least has not articulated this well). The SiriusDecisions integration process has been flawed, and a lot of good people have left. Senior management can come across as a clique that is impervious to change.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Drink the Cool-Aid, Play Political Games, Make Your Numbers, or Get Out

    Nov 10, 2019 - Research 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can be interesting work and provides a platform for exposure in the industry. Be opportunistic and make the most of your connections while you're at the company as it can be very beneficial for future jobs.

    Cons

    A treadmill for most analysts to maintain their advisory and document numbers, thus quality of work and life-balance often suffers. A lot of talk and aspirations to change this but, when push comes to shove, it's a numbers game. Favoritism and politics at senior management levels means you had better be in the right group with sway. HR is useless when dealing with personnel issues and the lack of diversity in the workforce is overt.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good people, disconnected senior management.

    Aug 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - New, modern, office. - People will answer questions at all levels of middle management regardless of who asks.

    Cons

    - VP level management sit in cubes alongside line-staff. Leads to potentially overhearing sensitive information about team mates. - Bad communication of goals and objectives during hiring process even when pressed for success metrics. My position is entirely different than what was communicated and does not play to my strengths. - Senior management plays that they want to know any matter no matter how big or small that may be an issue for staff. Yet, at recent company all hands the number one online question asked by far was "What do you plan to do about low morale and burnout" It was passed over in favor of more generic questions.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    Forrester Response

    Chief People Officer

    You may remember that the recent all-company meeting to which you refer was plagued by a series of technical difficulties which shortened the time for Q&A. And I, too, was disappointed that we ran out of time to address the question to which you which is why, within a few hours, I posted a detailed response on Chatter. In case you’re not aware, answers to the questions that receive multiple employee votes but aren’t answered in the meeting, are posted internally by the executive in whose area the question falls. I hope you’ll take the time to log in to Chatter and reach out to me directly if you have more to say. On the employee voice at Forrester: The Executive Team and the EX team keep their ‘ears to the ground all the time’ – including by hosting ‘listening sessions’ on topics of employee concern, the annual all employee culture-shaping survey, these Glassdoor posts, the on average more than 70 1x1 interviews per quarter with current employees, interviews with exiting employees and feedback on almost all of the learning sessions we run. Forrester employees are never shy with their opinions – the most valuable input we have and how we get better. Lucia Luce Quinn Chief People Officer

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great opportunity to grow but some limitations

    Aug 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of really bright people leads to great collaboration. The company culture is relatively free of politics compared with many large companies. Employee metrics are clear. Annual bonus is based on revenue and profitability (vs. customer-impact metrics). The company is fairly customer-focused (improving each year). Great focus on innovation and creating new opportunities. Recently acquired two digital startups to accelerate Forrester's digital transformation. Managers receive regular training and coaching. Excellent opportunity for graduates to learn about business. Opportunity to work with and influence many of the most senior executives in the world's largest companies as well as non-profits and the public sector. Offices around the world, offering opportunities to work in different countries for senior leaders. Great benefits. HR provides extensive training. Very approachable CEO who likes to stay connected to employees. Many employees who leave do come back.

    Cons

    Not as agile as a startup ... it's not a startup ... but can be agile when it wants to be. Employees are regularly moved into new teams (and managers) by senior management without discussing with employees in advance. Managers are rewarded for managing up, not providing leadership and coaching to their teams. Managers who manage-up get promoted, even if they provide poor leadership to their teams; meanwhile good team leaders who don't manage-up as well find it harder to get new opportunities. Employees are not measured on customer impact - metrics still focus on inside-out metrics like revenue earned, research produced, tasked completed. Consulting and Research teams appear to compete for client revenue (STILL). Employee coaching not as good as it could be - managers should focus more on helping their teams succeed and less on reacting to their own manager's demands. Senior leaders appear to not focus on how to help employees at the bottom of the pyramid, who engage with clients daily, be more successful. 2018 Pay rises in US below inflation rate (while CEO takes millions in dividends and executive team gets huge payouts in stocks). Managers are quick to suggest employees own accountability ... but many managers struggle to own accountability for team performance; as a result too many managers see any failure of their team to hit their goals as a failure of individual team members, instead of a failure of their own team leadership. This can lead to pockets of low morale around the company. HR spends too much time/resources on managers and not enough on employees who are not managers. Many younger employees use Forrester as opportunity to beef up their resumé and move on.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic Work Environment

    Mar 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free, potable water and Herman Miller desk chairs.

    Cons

    There are lots of cons to working at Forrester and Leadership Boards is at the top of the list. When you start at Forrester there is a lot you will ignore and push to the side. You’ll think, “there are arrogant people in every office, right?” No, not like in Leadership Boards. People that have been there way too long have a sense of entitlement that is ENCOURAGED and REWARDED by upper management. There is a complete lack of general respect for other human beings in Leadership Boards. I was embarrassed to work on Leadership Boards. Several people from different departments told me how difficult it was to work with Leadership Boards and tried to avoid contact with the product at all costs. There is zero support from senior management and the recent cultural shift to career building is a farce. Unless you start in Research, there are no career growth opportunities for you. No one will care about your resume or your work experience before you got to Forrester. Compensation is extremely low, almost insulting, but many people (including me) take positions at Forrester because it is a great resume builder. My best day at Forrester was the day I left and gave an honest exit interview. I hope what I said is taken seriously, but I’m not holding my breath.

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful

    Forrester Response

    SVP, Leadership Boards

    Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear that your time at Forrester was disappointing. I review all exit interview feedback within Leadership Boards and can say that your experience is not consistent with our data regarding culture and career development. Many of the reviews here on Glassdoor call out collaboration with colleagues, great client relationships, and high ethics and integrity as bright spots of the Forrester experience. This is consistent with our internal employee culture surveys, exit interviews, and peer recognition award process we conduct annually on the Leadership Boards Team. Over the last two years more than 30% of our Leadership Boards team has enjoyed a promotion and salary increase. Half of my leadership team came from other parts of Forrester or outside the organization. We offer onboarding and training for new hires and pair every new hire with a peer mentor. Over the last twelve months our team has participated in monthly skills training on a wide range of topics have been engaged in Design Thinking Workshops to innovate our customer experience. And, there is more work to do. Flexible career paths for non-client facing roles and more team-based goals have been cited as areas for improvement. We added new job levels and special project teams to allow employees to stretch outside their job and explore various career paths. The team recently provided keen insights that resulted in a fresh approach to goals and recognition for 2018. We are listening and growing together. I’m sorry that this was not a good fit for you and wish you the best of luck in the future. Colleen Donahue-Bean Senior Vice President, Leadership Boards

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good culture and work environment .... Sometimes.

    Jan 24, 2017 - Events in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent vacation perks, fun activities monthly/quarterly, free food, free awesome coffee, growth opportunities if you work hard! VPs and managers are always willing to meet with anyone from the org which gives everyone a great opportunity to network and pursue different careers within the org. They really prefer to promote from within which is great.

    Cons

    Not enough support from senior management. Rare raises or opportunity to grow for those who work hard. Much of the focus is on growing sales but you need resources to support the sales function. Almost everyone is drowning in work. Always expect more growth but never provide enough resources to support that growth. Communication between senior management and those who do the work is terrible. Poor technology and not enough investment in BT teams to transform into a digital business.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    It was great but trending in the wrong direction

    Oct 19, 2016 - Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Smart, sincere people that care about their job. -Competitive benefits (it makes up for the lower than average pay) -Still has a strong brand name which is great for the resume -You learn a lot which can help you long term in your career. -Age of the customer is resonating

    Cons

    -The product is stale. The "new" products are just old products re-branded with a few changed features. The new research product for the user group is the exact same product that vendors reps have been selling for years but it's a "new product". People aren't reading the 15 page research reports anymore. Great content but need new ways to engage the customers. -Forrester can't get out of it's own way. You spend more time negotiating internally than you do with your clients and prospects. Too hard to get things done -They are reorganizing the sales team for the third time in the past few years. Although it may help a little, they are focusing on the wrong problem. It's the product. Fix the product and sales will come back. The CSO is great but he isn't given a lot of help when it comes to product. -Forrester has amazing analysts but the senior management doesn't seem to leverage them or if they do, they ignore them. If Forrester is trying to teach other leaders to be world class, shouldn't they be world class themselves? I never understood why Forrester never drank their own champagne.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mixed Bag

    Oct 12, 2016 - Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some super-smart people - in all areas - Genuine desire to help clients - Great opportunities to engage with, and build, network - Learning / development opportunities - if you take them

    Cons

    - Insane focus on sales metrics (to the detriment of research and client product) - Most senior management (especially CEO) suffer from false belief that they are right all the time - Too many research staff have no experience of working in the real world (or experience is 20+ years old) - Challenge Thinking (MAYBE), Lead Change (NO WAY)

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Forrester Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Forrester? Share Your Experiences

or

Forrester Careers

Cover image for Forrester

At Forrester, we’re bold. We make big moves, transform businesses, and define the future. We’re the people who challenge, who innovate, who...More

  • Be you
  • Be global
  • Be remote
  • Be collaborative
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Forrester Photos

+ Add Photo
Forrester photo of: New hires outside our Cambridge HQ
Forrester photo of: Annual table tennis tournament finals in our Cambridge office lobby.
Forrester photo of: The lobby in our Cambridge office.
Forrester photo of: London Employee Appreciation Day
Forrester photo of: Lunch break in New Delhi!
Forrester photo of: Dallas Employee Appreciation Day
Forrester photo of: London Summer Picnic
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Forrester Job Seekers Also Viewed

Gartner Logo
Gartner

3.7

6,366 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,308 Forrester reviews submitted anonymously by Forrester employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Forrester is right for you.