Fort Bend ISD Reviews | Glassdoor

Fort Bend ISD Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Fort Bend ISD CEO Charles E. Dupre, Ed.D
Charles E. Dupre, Ed.D
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Met great people and learned plenty(in 4 reviews)

  • "Enough money to fully support kids, lots of teacher support, strong administrative ladder(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "FBISD has the worst salary for paraprofessional and HR sucks(in 4 reviews)

  • "Lowest pay for substitute in the area(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "School nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    schedule with family life is easy to balance

    Cons

    there is little increase earning potential and no level of advancement

    Fort Bend ISD2019-04-12
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Librarian in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Pay is better than some of the districts

    Cons

    They only see data not the actual children

    Fort Bend ISD2019-05-15
  3. "Wonderful education environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Kids and parents are awesome. A lot of support available, you just need to ask. And follow up on it.

    Cons

    At my school, one of the specialists wasn't helpful. As a first year teacher, provide more support.

    Fort Bend ISD2019-04-10
  4. "Teacher review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good quality of education in Fortbend ISD

    Cons

    Large district, large school, big class sizes

    Fort Bend ISD2019-04-09
  5. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - High School Math Teacher 

      I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time

      Pros

      School district is working to do everything than can to be the best.

      Cons

      Becoming larger and controversy over school boundary lines.

      Fort Bend ISD2019-04-03
    • "could do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Grou Leader in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fort Bend ISD part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      most of the employees were working here only because of the attachment to the children

      Cons

      management was poor, they expected us to do more and get paid less and put in money for work. most of the time it was a requirment

      Advice to Management

      commit and hold yourself accountable , as you do your staff.

      Fort Bend ISD2019-04-17
    • "Good place to work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - High School Math Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to be involved in extra curricular activities.

      Cons

      Paperwork and documentation of everything is getting exstensive.

      Fort Bend ISD2019-04-11
    • "Work Expectations Not Obtainable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Educator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Influencing the lives of children. Other than that, it's a job that consumes you.

      Cons

      There are not enough hours in the day to do all that is expected. The students academic success and employees well being do not come first with FBISD. Saving money does. New positions which are not full time but what they call 1/4 of a position are available to those who want to take them on in addition to their regular position. These 1/4 positions were created to fill the gap of the full time positions that were...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Walk in the shoes of your teachers for more than a 2 hour visit to each campus. Walk for an extended period of time to truly understand. I have no doubt you will see with new eyes. Even your principals have stressed their concerns.

      Fort Bend ISD2019-03-24
    • "Great ISD with Great Kids"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great ISD with amazing kids who work very hard.

      Cons

      Not much to say here. I really enjoyed my time

      Fort Bend ISD2019-03-03
    • "Ugh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Counselors Clerk 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Bend ISD full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The time off is awesome. Summers

      Cons

      Pay is by far horrible for support staff.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Fort Bend ISD2019-03-05
    Found 149 reviews