Fort Walton Beach Medical Center RN, Bsn Reviews | Glassdoor

Fort Walton Beach Medical Center Reviews

Updated May 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Fort Walton Beach Medical Center CEO Mitch Mongell
Mitch Mongell
3 Ratings
  1. "You won't regret working in the Dietary Dept here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Nutrition Supervisor in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You have an excellent opportunity to learn new skills and work with a great bunch of people. The Director keeps the place moving and makes it fun at the same time. I highly recommend working here.

    Cons

    I can't think of any. I enjoyed my time there. Kevin and Sherry kept it lively and there was always something going on in the cafe. The RD's are the nicest group of people you would ever hope to meet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You are appreciated !

    Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2019-05-17
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Navarre, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HCA has great resources and benefits.

    Cons

    No cons that come to mind.

    Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2019-04-08
  3. "Great place to start work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pct in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and environment

    Cons

    It's more about profit than the patient

    Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2019-03-25
  4. "NURSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    There is lots of room to move up the company is very intrested employee engagement. They have great reimbursement to assist with furthing your education.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2018-07-07
  5. "Registration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time

      Pros

      I can't think of any

      Cons

      Work Life Balance Management Didn't care All about the numbers

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2018-06-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Current Employee Not Many Local Options"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center

      Pros

      Great coworkers in my department

      Cons

      Expected to more with less --- all the time. New duties with less staff members. Admin is totally detached from the people doing direct patient care. Pay is subpar compared to other parts of the country.

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2018-03-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Staff on the floor are wonderful; management is distant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time

      Pros

      Very friendly environment Works hard to accommodate schedule availability

      Cons

      Literal no upward advancement in career Stubborn in promoting beneficial change Leaves all department decision making to people not in the department Listens to your problems, but will not do anything to solve them Bad communication. 2-7 weeks before you get an email reply

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees and listen to them

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2018-01-01
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits, wonderful team, great administration,

      Cons

      Beautiful area but hard to recruit staff

      Advice to Management

      No advice

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2017-10-20
    • Helpful (3)

      "Horrible, understaffed, unsafe ratios, no management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Niceville, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I don't have a lot of Pros about FWBMC. The staff I work with were very nice. The ER is always in need of qualified personnel especially night shift. Good experience for new nurses patient acuity level is high.

      Cons

      FWBMC is a very poorly run facility. They offer minimal pay no bonuses and little chance for advancement. They have unsafe working conditions in that they are severely understaffed. Every night I worked I felt my license was on the line.

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2017-05-23
    • "small town hospital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Walton Beach, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      supervisors and direct management very caring and supportive of staff and try to allow an equal work life balance, okay

      Cons

      Cafeteria is old, floor plan is ancient, only one person working in the morning so same person is serving food and is the cashier. Bathrooms with one toilet

      Advice to Management

      upgrade

      Fort Walton Beach Medical Center2017-03-16
    Found 18 reviews