Forterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Forterra Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Forterra CEO Karl Watson Jr. (no image)
Karl Watson Jr.
0 Rating
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AutoCAD Drafter in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Pay, Available OT, Benefits, and many more positives. -The company is not afraid to invest in workers -The biggest Pro is definitely the co-workers!

    Cons

    -The IT infrastructure is horrendous -Downsizing mere months after hiring for said division

    Forterra2019-02-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Training and Safety Protocol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent wages and benefits including health, life, dental, vision, 401K, MSA, and supplemental.

    Cons

    A new injury every day. No time spent on proper training and people act on their own volution. They repeat the same mistakes over and over. Fingers are lost, and backs are broken regularly.

    Continue reading
    Forterra2019-08-07
  3. "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Menifee, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, none, none none none

    Cons

    Worst place to work bc management do not care about their employees, they don’t train them, unsafe conditions, long hours on the hot heat.

    Continue reading
    Forterra2019-05-26
  4. "Poor management, terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - General Clerk/Order Entry in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Forterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t think of 1 good thing to say about this place or the general clerk order entry position. I only gave it 1 star because I had no other option.

    Cons

    Poor management! The lead/supervisor has no people skills, no management skills and is unwilling to help anyone. The words “I only care about my work load getting done” have literally been spoken by that individual on more than one occasion. The parking lot or lack there of is terrible! Your vehicle will ALWAYS be dirty and when it rains it’s literally like an actual lake you’re expected to drive through to get to the office building. The facility itself is trashy, leaks and smells everywhere! And the cleaning crew steals your personal items and nobody does anything about it! Also the workload for this position is ridiculous and no help when you ask!

    Continue reading
    Forterra2019-05-24
  5. "Production Scheduler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Scheduler in De Land, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working in a office setting

    Cons

    Long hours without overtime pay

    Continue reading
    Forterra2019-02-18
  6. "Customer coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Coordinator in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forterra for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great pay if you work hard for it and have a good manager that pushes for you.

    Cons

    Every plant is different and upper management is pulled in a different direction constantly. Keeping up with what has to be done can be exhausting and no one seems to know.

    Continue reading
    Forterra2019-01-01
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forterra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is changing for the better with new CFO. I love my job, and I love the people I work with. I feel challenged and respected in my role.

    Cons

    It is a new public company.

    Continue reading
    Forterra2018-11-16
  8. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Forterra for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, made a lot of friends along the way. Had opportunity to get hands dirty and learn the ins and outs of concrete manufacturing and industrial engineering concepts that drive productivity in this type of workplace.

    Cons

    One might say that long, unpredictable work hours are a con. I, however, enjoyed the opportunity to extend myself beyond the workday in order to take the most away from the experience.

    Continue reading
    Forterra2018-10-23
  9. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Forterra full-time

    Pros

    Great people, many hours, good pay

    Cons

    Some people are lazy sometimes work can be stressful

    Continue reading
    Forterra2018-07-18
  10. "Good For Learning the Trade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Forterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of overtime available and on call hours.

    Cons

    Don't plan on keeping your car clean and plan on replacing your tires. Even if you just drive it to work and back, you will have concrete in every nook and cranny and nails in your tires. Shift was 6-7 days per week and very rarely off on Saturdays. Not the best job if you actually want to see your family.

    Forterra2018-06-19
Found 31 reviews