Fortna Reviews | Glassdoor

Fortna Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Fortna CEO John White (no image)
John White
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you want to work from home you can(in 10 reviews)

  • "Generally some great people to work with, but too many layers of overlap(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is top heavy and have no clear direction(in 8 reviews)

  • "Narrow career focus, poor middle management, low work life balance during projects(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Sales V"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open, straight discussions within teams. Highly supportive and delivery team. Encourage and empower to live by Fortna principles (ethics and keeping Client interests first). Complex and challenging projects. Lots of trainings available to support your skills and advance in career. Accountability and “no-pointing-finger”.

    Cons

    In busy times, pace could be challenged. Nevertheless, people ready to roll up their sleeves and do what is necessary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep flow of consistent messages and expectations in career advancements. Keep leading and in front of clients, technology and solution wise.

    Fortna2018-11-14

    Fortna Response

    November 19, 2018Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thanks very much for your input. This is clearly the message we want to resonate with our associates.

  2. "An Enthusiastic Two Thumbs-Up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Woodstock, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Fortna, promoting high-standards in business ethics and principals are not just a collection of cliché terms that appear on framed posters around the office. Here, it is the real-deal, from the Executive to the Entry Level roles, our dedication to providing Best-In-Class service can be seen in action. We operate as a heavy-hitter in the industry and with a collection of some of the largest clients/suppliers in... the world, it is refreshing that we still have that "small company" culture where you are so much more than just a number. Associates are treated with respect and our voices are not only encouraged, but they are actually heard. I continue to be impressed by this organization every single day.

    Show More

    Cons

    Legitimately cannot think of one.

    Advice to Management

    What you are doing is working and has played a role in my happiness within the company. So just keep on keepin' on!

    Fortna2019-09-12
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Controls Engineer in West Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Great pay Awesome co-workers Travel rewards Great support system

    Cons

    Travel Takes a while to go up in company

    Fortna2019-06-02

    Fortna Response

    June 5, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    Thanks for your supportive feedback and commitment to Fortna!

  4. "Proud to be part of the Fortna Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Benefits Excellent HR team Cares about employees Client-focused Growing Values diversity and input from everyone Global footprint

    Cons

    No company is perfect but there aren't any strong negatives to mention

    Advice to Management

    Continue to solicit feedback from all employees

    Fortna2019-05-31

    Fortna Response

    June 4, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your feedback and pride in being a part of Fortna!

  5. "Growing Organization but inconsistent and biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The associates are dedicated and hard-working.

    Cons

    Depending upon what department you work in, managers are inexperienced, inconsistent and biased among their teams. Fortna as a whole is a global company with advanced technology with probably over 75% of their employees working remotely, however, they are biased and show favoritism with this aspect allowing some employees, even if they live close to an office to work from home while others are not allowed this... benefit and then on top of it, they expect the employees who are working in the office and have commute times on top of their normal hours, to work longer hours to accommodate those that are working in their homes with flexible working schedules.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at current research and get on board with the culture you portray. Employees who are given flexible work schedules and/or working from home flexibility are more apt to work more and do a better job and remain at a job longer. If you don't have employees you trust to do this, you should re-look at those employees. If you don't have managers that can manage a team remotely in this type of culture, you should... re-look at those managers. Usually these managers want to micro-manage their direct reports due to inexperience, lack of confidence, and feelings of intimidation.

    Show More
    Fortna2019-05-28

    Fortna Response

    June 3, 2019Sr. Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. You highlight hard work and dedication of our Associates and, as you know, that is a core principle of Fortna that we couldn’t function well without. We also count on teamwork and mutual trust, another guiding principle, regardless of which part of Fortna you support. With respect to work locations – while many of our positions have a good bit of flexibility in this regard – this is not the case for every position and depends on a variety of business-related factors. I encourage you to reach out to your Resource Manager, Department Leadership or Human Resources if you’d like to discuss your concern. Your comments are noted and we value your input.

    Show Less
  6. "Overworked Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reading, PA

    I worked at Fortna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. None. None. None. None.

    Cons

    Overworked Employees, Poor Benefits, No Bonuses

    Advice to Management

    I recommend this company provide their employees better benefits and give out more bonuses due to the work load distributed. Working 24/7 doesn't pay personal expenses and most importantly, damages an one's health. The amount of employees quitting shows the disorganized and favoritism to Fortna's greedy, lazy upper management.

    Fortna2019-05-17

    Fortna Response

    May 31, 2019Sr. Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts regarding your prior work experience at Fortna. As a company operating in various geographies, we truly strive to ensure that our benefits, wellness programs and compensation plans are competitive in the various markets where our Associates are located. We feel this is critical in serving all our Associates who work so diligently for Fortna and our clients as well as those considering Fortna for employment. Over the past two years, for example, we have expanded a number of our existing plan offerings in addition to rolling out new incentive programs. Be assured, this is an on-going effort and your feedback is helpful to us.

    Show Less
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fortna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you work hard you will get noticed.

    Cons

    Management transparency not always the best

    Fortna2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Proud to be a part of Fortna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time

    Pros

    • Encourages and values input from all areas of the organization • Strives for transparency and open, honest communication with Associates • Focuses on career growth • Strong emphasis on team-work

    Cons

    No strong negatives with Fortna.

    Fortna2018-11-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortna full-time

    Pros

    * Great people * Client focused * High Integrity & Honesty * Teamwork - One Team! * Flexibility to work from home or office

    Cons

    None. You'll get out of it, what you put in.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to to encourage one team and open communications!

    Fortna2018-11-28
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - ITS Delivery Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming and team oriented culture Customer satisfaction driven focus End to end solutions development and implementation Diverse, broad skill set, and talented team

    Cons

    International travel Baptism by fire (no structured integration training) Each solution is different, perceptual learning curve

    Advice to Management

    None

    Fortna2018-12-03

    Fortna Response

    January 30, 2019Vice President, Global Human Resources

    Thanks for the positive remarks. We wish you the best.

Found 89 reviews