Fortnum & Mason Reviews | Glassdoor

Fortnum & Mason Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Fortnum & Mason CEO Kate Hobhouse (no image)
Kate Hobhouse
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really good staff discount and treatment of staff(in 18 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount, 25% - 30% depending on the items(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours work (10 hours work 20mins break)(in 12 reviews)

  • "There are some members of staff who will seriously damage the company's reputation by giving such a disgusting shopping experience(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "j"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Advisor 

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    the types of people there

    Cons

    there aren't any cons imo

    Fortnum & Mason2019-10-03
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good teams good company good

    Cons

    Nothing I like to work this company

    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-22
  3. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buying Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people (mostly) Really good canteen

    Cons

    Workload isn’t delegated well Poor system

    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-11
  4. "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good brand and products, lovely colleagues. Staff shop and canteen!

    Cons

    Archaic company, chaotic processes and management

    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-23
  5. "Hard hard hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free meal on shift, some team members are lovely, monthly staff shop where you can get discounted goods and a 25% staff discount.

    Cons

    Cultural groups form and it’s difficult to make friends outside your ‘group’. Tips are not shared fairly and the headwaters often get a big cut. Pay is below London living wage. Long hours on your feet with only a 30 minute break. Tronc ‘service charge’ is capped and makes your wages go from minimum wage to £2-3 more per hour. This is particularly bad because the company makes millions and over Christmas the... service charge will go through the roof but the staff never see it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, pay competitive prices.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-04
  6. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment and friendly management

    Cons

    Pay isn't great - but not bad for the retail industry

    Fortnum & Mason2019-08-26
  7. "Great team and work environment, low pay to market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchase Ledger Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team Good discount People always willing to help

    Cons

    Salary lower than similar companies Hard to make changes

    Advice to Management

    Match salaries to companies in the same industry

    Fortnum & Mason2019-08-05
  8. "Bad, really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef De Partie 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay every 4 weeks, friendly staff, except management.

    Cons

    Managers threaten you, HR is not for employees but for company. No break time allowed in Gallery, no paid overtime.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-08-29
  9. "****"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Customers love the store and you feel a sense of pride working for such an establishment with such history. I had an Amazing Manager who taught me a lot during the time I was with F&M. I had a fantastic team (floor as a whole) who helped me feel at ease as soon as I started, and they respected me as I did them. My Supervisors were also fantastic. - Staff Canteen was brilliant with free tea &... coffee!!!! - In Retail - 37.5hrs PW is actually less than other places in London (hours aren't long as others on here say - it's Retail...) - Closed Boxing Day - which is so unheard of in Retail. - It's a place where if you work hard you will get noticed (opportunites for career development within F&M). - Bonus.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some customers can be very difficult and rude.

    Advice to Management

    Being more approachable and understanding could help some Management build relationships with their teams. Some Directors and above should spend more time on the Floors.

    Fortnum & Mason2019-07-09
  10. "Minimum and bad payments, every months there are some problem in the payslips, it is ridiculous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KP in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No reason to work in this company, it is just big and luxury.

    Cons

    They don’t pay, regularly, no benefits if you work hard, and discrimination.

    Advice to Management

    No present and lazy managements

    Fortnum & Mason2019-08-13
Found 112 reviews