Fortnum & Mason Reviews | Glassdoor

Fortnum & Mason Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
24%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Fortnum & Mason Chairman Kate Hobhouse (no image)
Kate Hobhouse
51 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason

    Pros

    The best team and leadership. Atmosphere is incredible. Learned incredible amounts from this as well as lifelong friends.

    Cons

    Demanding and occasionally unrealistic expectations from clients

    Fortnum & Mason2017-02-17
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hotel General Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trading , training , management, staff, experience

    Cons

    I really don't have anything to say against my time there

    Fortnum & Mason2016-04-29
  3. "Excellent Quintessential British Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Ordering Associate in London, England

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Strong brand values - Excellent employee training - Excellent employees facilities - Supportive, interesting and fun working environment - Competitive salaries

    Cons

    - Not many job vacancies on the client services department

    Fortnum & Mason2016-03-21
  4. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason

    Pros

    great place to work highly recommended.

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    keep up

    Fortnum & Mason2016-03-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Ordering Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Managers treat you like you're all in it together. Met interesting customers and made friends with all of my colleagues. Staff discount is good too.

    Cons

    Infrastructure could be really disorganised which is frustrating when you're on the shop floor and have to be the one to explain why their hamper didn't arrive on time. Often the managers were reluctant to deal with angry customers although that's their job. Floor staff often know more than the managers do too. Although managers were fun while I was there, that was starting to change when a new retail director and the higher management from Selfridges came in and started to create more levels of management distancing themselves further from shop floor staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retail and floor managers keep doing what you're doing. Higher management need to treat shop floor staff as equals and a genuine 'good morning' doesn't go amiss.

    Fortnum & Mason2015-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional yet friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A constant professional atmosphere and a really great team to work with. Solid wages, nice work space and a good degree of respect along with friendly and helpful training. I was allowed freedom to make my own decisions on tasks that gave me a sense of self confidence as well as allowing myself to keep jobs under control. Civilized hours of work

    Cons

    Slightly touch and go system that I had to sometimes take the blame for from customers, and little time off in the working day.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the corporate order system is sorted completely and maybe allow a short afternoon break

    Fortnum & Mason2014-11-23
  7. "Has been a great experience working there, great people and management. The environment is wonderful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People , environment.Location. All is good.

    Cons

    working sundays.Bank holidays might be open also.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on as you are

    Fortnum & Mason2013-09-19
  8. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Recruitment Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff and good atmosphere. Great location. Good staff discount. Emphasis on quality knowledge of products for staff. Beautiful shop.

    Cons

    Marketing department fails to recognise potential of the brand of Fortnum & Mason. Product quality is higher than competitors but the lack of publicity costs the shop potential sales.

    Advice to Management

    Re-think marketing

    Fortnum & Mason2012-11-29
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good teams good company good

    Cons

    Nothing I like to work this company

    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-22
  10. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment and friendly management

    Cons

    Pay isn't great - but not bad for the retail industry

    Fortnum & Mason2019-08-26
Found 121 reviews