Fortnum & Mason Reviews | Glassdoor

Fortnum & Mason Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
28%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Fortnum & Mason CEO Kate Hobhouse (no image)
Kate Hobhouse
46 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Looks good on CV but not for long term benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Ordering Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - 25% off food, 40% off home Central tourist location Looks good on CV

    Cons

    Pay not at par with the work you do Major operational problems Higher management can be a pain

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your lowest levels of management and employees. They need all the support they can get.

    Fortnum & Mason2018-04-29
  2. "A company with so much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The name looks good on a cv The people are great and there is a good working environment with peers

    Cons

    Workload can be unachievable but expected Lack of autonomy

    Advice to Management

    Value staff more

    Fortnum & Mason2018-04-10
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Free Fortnum Tea & Coffee

    Cons

    Old Family Style Management Team

    Fortnum & Mason2018-02-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Discustingly Vile and Arrogant Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Good staff benefits. Decent canteen

    Cons

    Very little support. Only a few nice colleagues. Easy to become "wrongly judged" Arrogant and hypocritical idealism. Bullying and intimidation is rife. Have now felt it necessary to join a union! Hollier than tho department heads

    Advice to Management

    Wake up to whats happening you have a legal responsibility! Ignoring it won't make it go away.

    Fortnum & Mason2018-03-03
  5. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason

    Pros

    friendly team, nice working environment

    Cons

    long hours on your feet

    Fortnum & Mason2018-01-14
  6. "Interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Services in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, decent canteen, reputable brand, beautiful store, wonderful products

    Cons

    Low pay, not disabled friendly

    Fortnum & Mason2018-01-08
  7. Helpful (6)

    "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Get to look like a butler :) + Good step-up for a career into luxury retail +'Relatively(with strings attached)' friendly , familial and relaxed environment (i only speak for the T5 branch- i know for a fact that the Piccadilly branch are much more harsh/B!tchy on staff, last time i was there they get paid less than T5 too). + Get to see famous people every now and then. +Great opportunities for advancement,... a lot of senior management started with the company and worked their way up. The staff on all levels are relatively very young. + Being sarcastic to rich snobs

    Show More

    Cons

    -LOOKING LIKE A BUTLER! D; - Possibly the lowest starting salary of any luxury retail store -when I left i was earning just under £9 an hour, a 'mcjob' for luxury retail standards. - Not as prestigious as the other major british luxury retail brands . - Very lackadaisical on the logistic side-issues which were never really resolved even up until i left e. g damaged products not properly packaged because of... oversight on the part of the warehouses, not enough storage space. It got to the stage where the common cry among upper-managers was 'what do you expect? it's fortnum's...'., uniforms that didn't fit etc. The last part i was called up on by upper-managment. -Incredibly high-turnover of staff, by my own calculation was probably about 70%, good perhaps for WHSmith, NOT good for a luxury retail brand. - Last time I checked the company has a load of benefits and policies- The problem? none of them are used, or very useful. Though i do remember before i left a policy whereby staff who stayed on up until april were supposed to be paid a dividend as a percentage if the company made a profit. I don't know if they kept their word on this... -Bouts of low company morale, this is exacerbated by the visits of company heads every so often into the store- who judging by their posture and glazed appearance probably belong in a modern art museum. A phd in pretending to be important is an apt description for these visits. - dealing with rich snobs, one purple haired geriatric threatened to tell 'chris', the ceo, that i was bad at my job personally. you look like a traffic light, your opinion is invalid. - Did not get paid properly for my first wage! >/ . Though, they did give me an advance so... - Favouritism among management, one guy was fired in the first week of working because the upper-management didn't like the way he opened a storage cupboard , I s!t you not...Un ironically he had expertise in wine which could have proved very useful. Which brings me to my next point. - No respect for veterans and specialists of particular disciplines in store see:high-turnover and no basis to build upon knowledge learnt and losing it completely to rivals. - Free overtime, i must have managed at least 1 1/2 hours unpaid overtime every day. oh...but don't you DARE be more than a few minutes late, 15 minute deduction from pay for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Way below my pay-grade to be giving advice to anyone. Just look above.

    Fortnum & Mason2017-12-18
  8. "Customer Service Christmas advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Nice group of people and a surprisingly interesting job working in customer service. Also got a free Christmas pudding when I left!

    Cons

    The office was understaffed, despite recruiting over the pre Christmas period. This meant that it was incredibly stressful, with many customers being dissatisfied with our service.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely need to replace the antiquated computer systems, which were inadequate for such a busy working environment.

    Fortnum & Mason2017-12-17
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess At the Gallery in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch if you work in hospitality Free coffee/tea Staff discount Looks good on CV Central location

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of breaks Poor pay Expected to work overtime everyday for free Extremely tiring No support from line managers and senior managers The restaurant is highly disorganised Consistently understaffed No communication - all the emails sent to HR were always ignored Extremely high staff turnover No career progression No life/work balance Rota received only a few days before each week I... worked as a Hostess/Receptionist at the Gallery restaurant. I was offered the job before I even left the interview, which shows how desperate they are for people as no receptionist stays longer than a few months. This job is too exhausting to do full-time or long term. You stand on your feet all day with only 1 half an hour "lunch" break which you get at 11am because later on the restaurant gets busy and they want you to be always present, so no more breaks from 11.30am onwards until the the end of the day. You are expected to work overtime every day without getting paid and have to ask for permission to use a bathroom or drink a glass of water. It is a very toxic environment where the managers and head waiters constantly criticise everything you do and blame you for everything that goes wrong. They refuse to share the tips with you because according to them, the receptionists do not work as hard as the waiters. One of the senior managers sends you daily to stand on the shop floor to bother shoppers in the Food Hall and try to persuade them to visit the Gallery restaurant, even though it is not part of your job and you are not paid enough to put in extra effort. Overall, the job is exploitative and you will be mentally and physically drained.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only a miracle will help.

    Fortnum & Mason2018-01-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worked in Offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice,friendly and helpful colleagues Good canteen

    Cons

    Very low salary Minimum training is provided Minimum support from line managers and Senior managers Expected to work overtime for free A lot of responsibility, huge workload No structure No career oportunities, no extra training

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude towards the staff members. At the moment the moto of the management is: 'you are lucky to work for this amazing, well known company, so keep it quiet and work 24/'7 if you don't like it just leave, don't forget you can be replaced very easy'.

    Fortnum & Mason2017-12-16
Found 114 reviews