Fortnum & Mason "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fortnum & Mason Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
27%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Fortnum & Mason CEO Kate Hobhouse (no image)
Kate Hobhouse
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really good staff discount and treatment of staff(in 18 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount, 25% - 30% depending on the items(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours work (10 hours work 20mins break)(in 14 reviews)

  • "There are some members of staff who will seriously damage the company's reputation by giving such a disgusting shopping experience(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Great team and team values

    Cons

    Long hours and demanding days

    Fortnum & Mason2019-11-17
  2. "Great brand but shame about the working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Commercial Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brand, history and products

    Cons

    Bullying culture, particularly from 1-2 members of the leadership team Archaic ways of working, endless meetings Desire to grow the business at the expense of all else Long hours, unrecognised by managers Cramped overcrowded, disorganised office

    Fortnum & Mason2019-11-06
  3. "Hard hard hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free meal on shift, some team members are lovely, monthly staff shop where you can get discounted goods and a 25% staff discount.

    Cons

    Cultural groups form and it’s difficult to make friends outside your ‘group’. Tips are not shared fairly and the headwaters often get a big cut. Pay is below London living wage. Long hours on your feet with only a 30 minute break. Tronc ‘service charge’ is capped and makes your wages go from minimum wage to £2-3 more per hour. This is particularly bad because the company makes millions and over Christmas the service charge will go through the roof but the staff never see it.

    Continue reading
    Fortnum & Mason2019-09-04
  4. "Big lies behind its brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big brand but completely different behind the doors

    Cons

    Modern slavery Low pay (min. wage) Mobbing Bad management Incompetent managers Favouritism A big portion of the tips are shared among head waiters the rest gets bread crumps Long hours work (10 hours work 20mins break) New staff comes and runaway within we days

    Continue reading
    Fortnum & Mason2019-07-13
  5. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    deffo loved working here believe me great discount

    Cons

    long hours tired rude staff

    Fortnum & Mason2019-05-09
  6. "Looks like a great company....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff canteen, good food for the staff and a good environment as well as the 6th floor.

    Cons

    A total mess when we talk about how they organize and allocate the new employers, after 6 months never have a looker to keep my belonging and let me tell you that I was a manager, no reviews and a culture of harassment is on top of the daily basis, the worst thing is that all the senior team know about it and nobody says or do nothing to stop that. Long hours without breaks and a total lack of leadership in almost all the restaurants. So far this is the worst company that I ever work for in my life, don't recommend to anyone that I know to go to work there ( at least at 45 Jermyn st restaurant). People there is only a simple number.

    Continue reading
    Fortnum & Mason2019-05-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Shocking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - 25% off food, 40% off home Central tourist location Looks good on CV

    Cons

    Extremely long hours Managers have little respect and bad communication!! Shouting seems to be acceptable from Manager level - Obviously can not handle the pressure of her job. Underpaid in the head office - Breakdown your hour's by the amount monthly and you might as well be on minimum wage Growth opportunities none existent High staff turnover Blame culture Poor leadership- last minute decisions from the top, often no one wants to make a decision for fear of the repercussions. Do Not Recommend Working Here.

    Fortnum & Mason2018-12-13
  8. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason

    Pros

    friendly team, nice working environment

    Cons

    long hours on your feet

    Fortnum & Mason2018-01-14

    Fortnum & Mason Response

    January 25, 2018Employee Communication and Engagement Manager

    Hello there, and thank you very much for your review – we’re delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time at Fortnum’s. Kind regards, Fortnum’s Communication and Engagement Team

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess At the Gallery in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch if you work in hospitality Free coffee/tea Staff discount Looks good on CV Central location

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of breaks Poor pay Expected to work overtime everyday for free Extremely tiring No support from line managers and senior managers The restaurant is highly disorganised Consistently understaffed No communication - all the emails sent to HR were always ignored Extremely high staff turnover No career progression No life/work balance Rota received only a few days before each week I worked as a Hostess/Receptionist at the Gallery restaurant. I was offered the job before I even left the interview, which shows how desperate they are for people as no receptionist stays longer than a few months. This job is too exhausting to do full-time or long term. You stand on your feet all day with only 1 half an hour "lunch" break which you get at 11am because later on the restaurant gets busy and they want you to be always present, so no more breaks from 11.30am onwards until the the end of the day. You are expected to work overtime every day without getting paid and have to ask for permission to use a bathroom or drink a glass of water. It is a very toxic environment where the managers and head waiters constantly criticise everything you do and blame you for everything that goes wrong. They refuse to share the tips with you because according to them, the receptionists do not work as hard as the waiters. One of the senior managers sends you daily to stand on the shop floor to bother shoppers in the Food Hall and try to persuade them to visit the Gallery restaurant, even though it is not part of your job and you are not paid enough to put in extra effort. Overall, the job is exploitative and you will be mentally and physically drained.

    Continue reading
    Fortnum & Mason2018-01-04

    Fortnum & Mason Response

    January 25, 2018Employee Communication and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. We appreciate such honest feedback, and your observations will help us make working at Fortnum’s a more rewarding and exciting experience. We are naturally disappointed to hear that your Fortnum’s experience was not a positive one, but rest assured your feedback has been heard, and the issues you have raised are being discussed internally. Where necessary, we’ll address them and take action as swiftly as possible. Kind regards, Fortnum’s Employee Communication and Engagement Team

    Continue reading
  10. "Adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fortnum & Mason full-time

    Pros

    Exciting product range Good team spirit

    Cons

    Poor pay (below living wage) Long hours

    Fortnum & Mason2017-11-01
Found 14 reviews