Forward Air Dock Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Forward Air Dock Worker Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bruce A. Campbell
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Management (Pittsburgh) + Flexible Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forward Air part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Strong teamwork mentality Management that cares about you as a person, not just as an employee Competitive pay and pay increase structure (even for part time)

    Cons

    The work can be physically taxing Hours can be long (pro if you need the $$) Other terminals (Columbus) seem to care less about how freight is shipped to you

    Advice to Management

    Step up quality management among all terminals, including your hubs. I have seen so much inventory senselessly destroyed because of cut corners on the loading of trailers.

    Forward Air2018-12-05
  2. "Its ok for most of the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forward Air part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are good not too many for part time people you work with and around are nice.

    Cons

    Some times you don't know how many trucks you will have coming in for the day

    Forward Air2017-09-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "the supervisors are a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Forward Air full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros at all

    Cons

    The supervisors are just ego driven people.They do not STAND UP FOR THE EMPLOYEE INSTEAD WE ARE THROWN UNDER THE BUS.Ask a supervisor to help with something the response is "not my job". BULLY SUPERVISORRS

    Advice to Management

    THE EMPLOYEES NEED PROTECTION AGAINST YOU BULLY SUPERVISERS.LET US VOTE TEAMSTER TO REP US AND THE DRIVERS.EDUCATE YOUR SUPERVISORS ON WORK PLACE HARRASMENT.

    Forward Air2017-03-13
  4. "Good because of people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forward Air full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers make it better to want to stay.

    Cons

    Top performer fell thru the cracks from merger with Towne Air Freight.

    Advice to Management

    Didnt understand where i was coming from.

    Forward Air2016-08-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you're looking for a company with advancement opportunities or that treats employees well, Forward Air is not the one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forward Air full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice coworkers for the most part. I worked with some really good guys on the dock.

    Cons

    Management treats dock workers as though they are completely expendable. Horrible pay. I worked there full time for 5 years and the last 2 years part time. So 7 years total and after that much time I was only making $1.00 more an hour than the day I walked in the door. Management will lies to it's employees and will show favoratism towards certain employees. Will even fire an employee based on the claims of another employee...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start treating employees better, especially dock workers. No matter how good of a business or marketing plan you come up with, no matter how good your sales team is, the workers on the dock are the ones that determine the success of the company.

    Forward Air2014-10-18
  6. "Cons at working at Forward Air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Groveport, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forward Air part-time

    Pros

    Long Days long nights

    Cons

    Horrible place to work sent to LCK alot

    Advice to Management

    They need more people at LCK

    Forward Air2014-10-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dock worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forward Air part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During peak season, october through december, you will get hours. The harder you work the better the hours.

    Cons

    Only team leads, and supervisors are hired as full time. No weekly schudle. The day you work you go home and recieve a phone call late at night about what time you will work the following day, if you work the following day. Supervisors will not open all the bay doors for ventilation on days when the tempeature reaches 100 degrees. You go to the bathroom and you need a card key to get back in the security gate but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a weekly schedule. a card key to enter the security gate and full time hours.

    Forward Air2013-01-07
Found 7 reviews