Foundation Medicine Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Foundation Medicine CEO Cindy Perettie
Cindy Perettie
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, Great potential for growth(in 10 reviews)

  • "Passionate People, Great Mission, Puts Patients First, Hard Working Teams(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Molecular Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool people, great culture. People are passionate about what they doing. Employees are treated very well.

    Cons

    Sometimes some of the work gets boring, but that’s with any job. People you work with make up for that!

    Continue reading
    Foundation Medicine2020-05-19
  2. "Great place to work, but becoming more like big pharma"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, real commitment to helping patients, good salary and benefits, interesting work

    Cons

    Silos and inter-departmental conflicts, career growth not always easy

    Foundation Medicine2020-04-28
  3. "Good opportunities"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Developer in Boston, MA

    I worked at Foundation Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission, Competitive Salary and Benefits

    Cons

    Rapid expansion, cross-departmental communication, unclear career ladder

    Foundation Medicine2020-05-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Meaningful mission, unethical leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foundation Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’ll have the opportunity to work on cutting edge technology and research alongside brilliant scientists. Good compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    The culture here is ego and fear based. For a company whose mission is to cure cancer the leadership is tremendously unethical. Talent that quietly gets their work done is overlooked and taken advantage of. I routinely experienced harassment, intimidation tactics, retaliation, and a cruel prank committed by a member of my department’s management that I believe constituted assault. Middle management is inexperienced, immature, frustratingly inefficient, and often creates blockers for the team.

    Continue reading
    Foundation Medicine2020-04-14
  5. "Nice Company with Mobility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, solid mobility and pay

    Cons

    Favoritism can be either a negative/positive factor

    Foundation Medicine2020-04-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "You will never want to leave!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is rewarding, and the passion in this company is amazing. Everyone I've met here is a hard worker, and they don't stop until every patient and client gets the best service. The company is always trying to find new ways to make the company and processes better, and things are always changing to become more efficient and easier for employees. Some people may see this as a con, but I think it's amazing. Management is always open to process suggestions, and they really guide you on your growth. The monetary benefits are BEYOND GREAT. Insurance is great and coverage is great, bonuses are beyond what you will get at any company, and we get monthly/quarterly gifts that include apparel from the company. Celebratory lunches almost every week. They really try to create a great culture and they are doing just that. I do not see myself leaving, ever.

    Cons

    Like always, some management does not appreciate or support you, but I feel you can find this anywhere. If you can find the right person to talk to, you will resolve these issues. Work sometimes is a lot in one day and you can leave feeling exhausted, but when you are working with patients and cancer care, it's not always going to be easy. You will find this anywhere as well. Not much to say about cons besides some of the management, but that's it.

    Continue reading
    Foundation Medicine2020-02-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Innovative company adeptly navigating a tough crossroads"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The future is bright! The new CEO and executive team have impressed me with their commitment to innovation and their thoughtful approach to learning what the market needs. This company really lives its values, and it is great to have a workplace where your coworkers are both friendly and passionate about delivering on our promise to patients.

    Cons

    The company is clearly still coping from the after effects of damaging leadership from a few years back. There are organizational silos, and it is difficult to quickly identify who is accountable for something unless you are already familiar with the background processes. Because so many employees were hired recently, the institutional knowledge is simply not present.

    Continue reading
    Foundation Medicine2020-02-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Billing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay PTO Sick Insurance Free MBTA

    Cons

    Was flexible now you get an email for the most stupid time clocking mishap or just for plain annoyance. Favoritism You express concern and get shutdown No one is held accountable (there is a coworker doing his job wrong I have told supervisor that it’s affecting workflow... and nothing has been done) You let supervisors know about a case that needs immediate attention and nothing gets done Oblivious to feedback event though their mission statement says “trusted thought partner...” yeah no they want to get feedback that everything is a okay. Micromanaging at it’s best they even tell you to “socialize less”... really? Leadership is a joke no one knows anything literally employees know more than leadership but kissing up is what gets you to the top or having in with leadership so if you do mediocre job you can do whatever you want cause you have an in with a higher up. Employees who speak up about things that need improvement from operations to anything are then targeted. Again they want “everything is great” feedback. Pay is the tool for retention Despite all this I stuck it out because I was promised that you advance quickly in the company but guess again also failed. For my 7th month I applied for several positions that I knew I was qualified and HR completely ignored my emails. If you don’t follow up nothing will happen and again I followed up and just got ignored. I was told on one email that I needed to wait for the year but yet I saw other employees who didn’t have the year being moved up. Comes again to the kissing up I said earlier. When this happened I knew I had to leave this place. The billing department is a dead end job. If you have a bachelors or higher and more than 3 yrs of experience just don’t waist your time you will feel dumb in this place because there seems to be no sign of intelligence life in this department. (Few have intelligence to clear things) You ask for something regarding a case you work on and get a dumb follow up question instead of just working the case. (Again no sign of intelligence and treated like you are dumb). That’s why I left. I was done with being treated like a 3yr and not as a professional that could bring something to the company.

    Continue reading
    Foundation Medicine2020-02-12
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment. Good benefits. Competitive pay. Overall a great place to work!

    Cons

    Just the typical growing pains of a rapidly growing company.

    Foundation Medicine2020-01-21
  10. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Comparable to Proposal Manager/Writer 

    I have been working at Foundation Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Management encourages growth and the culture is fun and supportive

    Cons

    Growing company so there are growing pains

    Foundation Medicine2020-01-14
Found 116 reviews