Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center CEO Kenneth McFarland (no image)
Kenneth McFarland
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "The nursing staff are committed to the well being of the patients, and management supports the nursing staff 100%(in 3 reviews)

  • "Flexible scheduling, over time opportunities and great coworkers(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is impossible to provide good patient care but we are constantly chastised for not doing so(in 6 reviews)

  • "Almost always short staffed and difficult patient population(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Patient Experience Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    I love working at FVRHMC, because the people here are very friendly, professional and diverse.

    Cons

    There are none at the present time

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2017-06-26
  2. "Great place to learn, great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn, family environment

    Cons

    Does not support a work-life balance for leadership, not enough hours in a day to do it all

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2020-02-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers and team work, the ONLY reason I am still there.

    Cons

    Almost always short staffed and difficult patient population. It is impossible to provide good patient care but we are constantly chastised for not doing so. Several days I have been scared for my patients because I am unable to provide the care they need. Nurses are burning out FAST. They expect 200% from us but are unwilling to give us the compensation we deserve.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2020-01-17

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    January 18, 2020Recruitment and HR Operations

    Along with our employees, our patients we serve are of utmost importance to us. Of course, however, we appreciate your feedback and are always looking for good talent. Please feel free to direct all referrals to our career site at jobs.tenethealth.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management does not respect their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork among the employees on the line

    Cons

    Management refusing to come to the table to negotiate a fair contract.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-12-05

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    December 6, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We%E2%80%99re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the pay/benefits offered. We do think of our employees as our greatest asset and are always looking to improve our offerings.

    Continue reading
  6. "Coworkers make it worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ER Registered Nurse in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff at FVR are amazing

    Cons

    The union won't advocate for you and even if they do nothing ever comes of it. For example, our nurses have not gotten a raise in almost a year even though every other year we have and it says we are supposed to in our contracts. Also constantly running out of things we need and important equipment will break down because the hospital and management does not want to pay the money to keep things nice.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-11-06

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    November 7, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate this feedback. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.

    Continue reading
  7. "Enjoyed my unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telemetry Technician in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team and unit were great to work with

    Cons

    Often have to float to other units, some not great to work with.

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworker are great, especially those seasoned Vietnamese nurses. They really care about the patients and they are super helpful.

    Cons

    Unless you are so desperate and can’t get a job anywhere, avoid this place as much as you can. The management team doesn’t support the nurses AT ALL. Unfair/ unsafe assignments are so common. The management team also punishes nurses for working overtime. No break nurse on the unit and they punish the nurses for not taking a break. A lot of seasoned nurses have left due to the unreasonable management team. Patient safety is the biggest concern here. If you value your hard earned RN license, think carefully before applying for this place.

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-07-21

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    July 23, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback and will share with leadership immediately. We also encourage you to discuss your concerns with your direct supervisor.

    Continue reading
  9. "It's cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Ambassador 

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers that bond well together

    Cons

    Pays little with high work demand. always on your feet

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-04-25

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    April 25, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We’re sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the pay offered. We do think of our employees as our greatest asset and are always looking to improve our offerings.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and hardworking staff

    Cons

    Long hours and small facility

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2019-03-27

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    March 28, 2019Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate this feedback. We're thrilled to hear you were so happy in your role.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Lots of OT potential because they are always short staffed in many units. Inexpensive health insurance.

    Cons

    Vacation unlimited by seniority so if you dont have a lot of years, good luck getting a vacation. Management knows the real problems but instead of fixing them, run around fixing things that dont need fixing. Short staffed in many units... like often scary short staffed.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2018-10-18

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    October 19, 2018Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for leaving an honest review about Fountain Valley's management. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times. We will share your review with leadership but encourage you to discuss your concerns with your supervisor.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 59 reviews