Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center CEO Kenneth McFarland (no image)
Kenneth McFarland
15 Ratings
  1. "Telemetry nursing review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This facility pays better than the hospitals around it, solely because of the union.

    Cons

    Corporate continues to create more policies, including more paperwork, while cutting CNAs.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2017-01-12

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    March 30, 2017Chief Human Resources Officer

    I apologize for our tardy response. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I am sorry to read that your experience working at our hospital has been less than ideal. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in more detail on how we can help make Fountain Valley Regional Hospital & Medical Center a more engaging place to work. Please drop by the human resources department for a chat. Thank you again your feedback, and more importantly, for everything that you do for our patients, their families, and our community!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fountain Valley, Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays and benefits are reasonable. 12 hrs straight pay. People are friendly

    Cons

    High turn over. Often luck of supplies.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-11-05

    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center Response

    March 30, 2017Chief Human Resources Officer

    I apologize for our tardy response. We are thankful that you took the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. The Hospital Leadership team strives to create a working environment where our caregivers are inspired to help provide world-class healthcare to the diverse patients of our community. Showing our caregivers how much they are appreciated is very important, and we are already working on a few ideas to enhance our recognition program. I invite you to share with the human resources department any ideas you may have on how we can do this even better. Thank you again your feedback, and more importantly, for everything that you do for our patients, their families, and our community!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "change... hmmmm..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center

    Pros

    benefits are reasonable, I like most of my coworkers and colleagues

    Cons

    lack of a willingness to listen to proposals/solutions. lack of empathy for what it actually takes to do the job as outlined on paper

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-10-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Community Based Nursing Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My department is the PICU. It's a specialty so my review might not reflect the hospital in general. Unlike some of the other local children's hospitals, Fountain Valley PICU has been able to keep to serving the surrounding community in a very intimate way. The nursing staff are committed to the well being of the patients, and management supports the nursing staff 100%.

    Cons

    Nursing turn around due to lower acuity PICU patients. Good nurses are go to bigger hospitals, been there, done that.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-07-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I couldn't distance myself from FV Hospital fast enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CNA in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center

    Pros

    High emphasis on HIGH QUALITY of care ....when in fact the emphasis is HOW THE HOSPITAL CAN MAKE MORE MONEY and overwork nursing staff to the breaking point....not quite a PRO

    Cons

    Nothing in their policy and procedures is clear....everything is GRAY, double standards depending on who you are as a person; employee actions are interpreted at their discretion and deemed WRONG if their actions are towards the best interest of the patient and not necessarily the hospital!!!! Patients are treated poorly! NO QUALITY in patient care whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-07-20
  6. "Anesthesia Tech."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surgical Technician/Anesthesia Tech/ECT in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I was there for 10 yrs. I received so much knowledge from the staff there. Everyone is so helpful, caring. Loved all the staff, and the Dr's are great too.

    Cons

    I couldn't say anything bad about a place that I care so much about.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-05-05
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff RN in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Like the people or my staff that I work with

    Cons

    Not consistent in covering for breaks

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-05-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nursing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great to work with, great facility, enjoyable experience.

    Cons

    Some difficulty with getting help among the unit.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-04-20
  9. "Seem chaotic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Over all the experience was good, everyone seem knowledgeable and competent. Bigger hospital with about 400 beds and for the most part it ran well.

    Cons

    No ownership in some departments, teamwork felt like a fantasy there. Everyone was too busy to try helping one another out that it felt like everyone was slowly drowning.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-02-09
  10. "No Trust in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only reason to work here would be the friends you may have had while working here.

    Cons

    I can't speak for other depts but Patient Access employees are treated like dirt by management. Unless you're buddies with management team your work schedule may change on a weekly basis. They have no trust in their employees and will implement ridiculous protocols that would require a lot of time to complete, but yet expect you to be done in a very short time. Management will roam around like sharks micromanaging and pick on employees. I truly feel that the reason they don't hire quality workers is because they are afraid for their own jobs.

    Continue reading
    Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center2016-01-05
Found 59 reviews