Fox Searchlight Reviews | Glassdoor

Fox Searchlight Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Fox Searchlight CEO Stephen Gilula & Nancy Utley  (no image)
Stephen Gilula & Nancy Utley
7 Ratings
  1. "Production Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible team, great internship that exposed me to many different aspects of production, was allowed to sit in on meetings and provide creative feedback on scripts, never had to do runs or menial tasks

    Cons

    Cant think of anything it was great

    Fox Searchlight2018-10-30
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Top notch professionals good notes

    Cons

    Politics slow project progress at times

    Fox Searchlight2019-08-12
  3. "Great Job & Wonderful Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fox Searchlight

    Pros

    Everyone was very friendly and they give you plenty of opportunities to get involved. You also get to screen some movies early.

    Cons

    The work could sometimes be tedious.

    Fox Searchlight2018-07-04
  4. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight full-time

    Pros

    In the middle of the Film industry! If you love movies, you'll love the parties, screenings, gifts associated with working at a studio. Fox also has good benefits. Co-leadership is also very good. (Nancy & Steve)

    Cons

    The management team at Searchlight is a nightmare to work with. Self centered and critical. They pat themselves on the back for work they didn't do. A very hostile culture/environment in which employees are expected to know everything or be show the door. They took the fun out of the position.

    Advice to Management

    Get some therapy! Not my fault you hate your life.

    Fox Searchlight2017-09-25
  5. "Quality place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fox Searchlight full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with some great talent!

    Cons

    Slow and limited opportunities for growth within the company.

    Fox Searchlight2017-02-05
  6. "Great cast and crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Assistant in Savannah, GA

    I worked at Fox Searchlight

    Pros

    Worked on a feature as a pa. Great cast and crew. Days were short because it was weekend and at a school. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult communication when it came to understanding who higher ups were. And people would get frustrated easily.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your pa day players are up to speed with who's who. Sometimes it can get confusing

    Fox Searchlight2016-11-18
  7. "Incredible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight

    Pros

    It was a rich experience - I learned so much in so little time. It was also a great networking opportunity as their supportive intern program encourages interacting with people in different fields.

    Cons

    At first it does feel quite fast-paced, but with time everything starts to make sense and it's easier to gain from the experience.

    Advice to Management

    Introductions to everyone in the office at the very beginning could be nice! It would make it a lot easier to remember names.

    Fox Searchlight2016-07-14
  8. "Production Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fox Searchlight

    Pros

    No one has better taste in Feature Film Development than Fox Searchlight. The execs are amazing, the material and the talent they work with is unparalleled. I LOVED working there.

    Cons

    The pace is a little slower, and projects can take a long time before they take off. It's not very high-intensity, so it could get a little dull.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work, take risks with the material, and find ways to keep breaking boundaries in filmmaking and storytelling!

    Fox Searchlight2016-07-02
  9. "Editor / Camera op."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Visual Marketing Picture Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight for more than 3 years

    Pros

    variety of content, lots of access to great artists and events which led to creative marketing material and fun shoots.

    Cons

    inconsistent events and miscommunication led to some troubleshooting issues.

    Fox Searchlight2016-04-25
  10. "I had a great experience interning for the marketing and publicity department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Century City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fox Searchlight for less than a year

    Pros

    They always let their interns sit in on meeting, work events and really become a part of the team. They try not to give you busy work but projects that are meaningful and that you can really learn a lot from.

    Cons

    It would be nice if they allowed interns to work in different departments throughout their time there. But at the same time we REALLY gained an understanding of what marketing and PR is about.

    Fox Searchlight2014-07-16
Found 12 reviews