Foxtons Reviews | Glassdoor

Foxtons Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 294 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Foxtons CEO Nic Budden
Nic Budden
152 Ratings
  1. "A great foot in the door but beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lettings Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    * Great training * Genuinely enthusiastic, knowledgeable, passionate impressive people to work with * Class leading use of technology to make your job as easy as possible. Essentially a lot of tasks that distract you from making more sales are highly automated leaving you free to earn plenty of commission

    Cons

    * Staff are often over worked and underappreciated * Working hours are too long with no flexibility * Staff turnover is enormous, my entire team left several times over in twelve months

    Advice to Management

    Adding in a little flexibility with working hours would go a long way to retaining a few staff. Perhaps giving half a day off in lieu when a weekend is worked would help

    Foxtons2019-02-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Office Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Being an office coordinator at foxtons is a good 'first step' job, it will enable you to get some office experience, and other companies will respect that you worked for Foxtons in interviews.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. They are perfectly happy to screw you over, and a situation has to be at its worse before management will step in.

    Advice to Management

    Just because someone earns an office money, it does not mean they have be aggressive and abusive to other employees - it should have been dealt with straight away, properly.

    Foxtons2019-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing money, opportunities and progression

    Cons

    Working hours were quite long

    Advice to Management

    None

    Foxtons2019-01-21
  4. "Long hours - little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Negotiator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Some people were amazing. It sometimes can be a fun environment.

    Cons

    The hours were over 60-65hours a week with a shockingly low basic salary. You can make good money with commission but not worth the hours you put in. It worked out to be below minimum wage. A very micro managed environment. Felt like I was back at school.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the hours of work just like your competitors and ease up on the micromanagemt. Then people might think about staying.

    Foxtons2019-02-10
  5. "For the hardworking and ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chiswick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Hard work and dedication are rewarded with competitive commission and promotion. Company promotes from within. Diverse workforce, in terms of age, gender, race and orientation. "Work hard, play hard." Constant support at every level, even within competitive sales forces.

    Cons

    Sales roles aren't for everyone. You will need to constantly challenge yourself to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Employee surveys and consultation are great; more of these please. It's good to feel that decisions at the top are being made with the front-line staff in mind.

    Foxtons2019-01-04

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of life at Foxtons! If there are any further areas you think we could improve please don't wait for the next employee engagement survey - reach out to the People Team as we welcome any suggestions you may have. Laura Kuth Head of Learning ...

    Show More
  6. "Excellent environment to succeed in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    When I started I had no experience in the industry. Even then training was second to none. Since then training has improved beyond recognition and continues to improve as the industry changes. One of the best reasons to work for the company is that it is a true meritocracy. You will not be overlooked for a role if you work hard, have the correct attitude and produce results. The environment is fun to work in and over...

    Show More

    Cons

    The long hours are not for everyone but the rewards outstrip the sacrifice.

    Foxtons2019-01-03

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    At Foxtons we are so incredibly proud of our welcoming, inclusive, and friendly culture so thank you for highlighting it as part of your review. Laura Kuth Head of Learning & Development

  7. "Still the the number one destination for a career in property."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Balham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    A true meritocracy with an abundance of roles to find success in.

    Cons

    You get out what you put in.

    Foxtons2019-01-03

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    Well said!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good learning experienence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons

    Pros

    Great place to learn and build a foundation of knowledge

    Cons

    The hours are terrible, the pay isn't fantastic, it is micromanaged and there isn't much variation in the day

    Foxtons2019-01-14

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to see that you benefitted from our industry-leading training and development. We are sorry to hear that you didn't manage to take advantage of the rewards and incentives on offer. Laura Kuth Head of Learning & Development

  9. "Foxtons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time

    Pros

    Having worked at Foxtons for almost 12 years, I can safely say that I work for a great organisation. I had no knowledge of property or real estate, Foxtons took me on and almost 12 years on and still learning and growing as my career progresses. Working at Foxtons will not just give you a job, you'll get a career. The ongoing training and development becomes part of your progression. All of this as well as being in a...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not everyone that come through have the same drive and determination.

    Advice to Management

    Apply Yourself. Lead by Example. Have faith in your people

    Foxtons2018-12-30

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    Congratulations on what sounds like a highly successful and rewarding 12 year career at London's leading estate agent! Laura Kuth Head of Learning & Development

  10. "London’s number one for a reason!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lettings Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Being part of the UK’s most dynamic property company is one of the many reasons I’ve stayed at Foxtons for so many years. It’s a fun, go getting environment with some of the best senior management in the industry. The benefits are well above industry averages, including a company car, fuel card, parking allowance, iPhone with bills paid, laptop and iPad. Foxtons invests in its people, training is outstanding, the investment...

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly cannot find any, so long as you have the right attitude nothing could be described as a con. If you work hard and look out for the people around you then you will go far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in investing in your people and you will reap the rewards!

    Foxtons2018-12-29

    Foxtons Response

    January 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of life at Foxtons. Very jealous of all the company paid trips you've been on! Laura Kuth Head of Learning & Development

Found 294 reviews