Foxwoods Resort Casino "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Foxwoods Resort Casino Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
53%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Foxwoods Resort Casino CEO John J. James
John J. James
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of breaks, free food during breaks, pay was decent(in 17 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good co-workers, learned a lot(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Cook3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pastry Cook in Mashantucket, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good benefits Free food Paid vacation

    Cons

    Chance to get higher position is low if your department is small

    Advice to Management

    ——————————

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2017-12-08
  2. "Abused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grand Pequot Shift Manager in Ledyard, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There really are not any pros, especially when you're in a salaried position, that is understaffed and you can't break away for your lunch to enjoy the free food.

    Cons

    During my tenure at Foxwoods, I encountered direct verbal abuse from the subordinate tribal members on board. Reported several times to human resources, in writing and through my management, however absolutely nothing was ever addressed. Bottom line, if you are not tribal, don't even try to work at this establishment. Oh, you'll get the job because tribal members are so lazy and overpaid at $25 an hour, tax free,... free benefits, free untaxed land, etc. The current tribal members are a disgrace to the original Pequot heritage and these people are less than 1% Pequot. Not one would ever survive in the real world... what a sad, sad situation. I have been employed at other tribal casinos and this is the only one that operates in this way.

    Show More
    Foxwoods Resort Casino2019-09-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Consider yourself lucky if they actually give you a 30 minute break on a 9 hour shift."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Food and Beverage Assistant Manager in Mashantucket, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free food(but be ready for a lot of food poisoning) the benefits have been cut, but there is still medical benefits at a cost.

    Cons

    Zero training, zero development of staff, Serious health code violations through out the company, exposure to cockroaches, rats, biting flies, chemicals, severely high levels of chemicals in the water(as well as poor quality recycled water has led to a huge amount of illness and cancer throughout the workforce) employees are subjected to repetitive strain injury and told it is their own problem(dealing cards,... carrying drink and food trays)... wait until you meet the upper management they operate with their top priority being their bonus and they lay off an entire workforce of older to middle age people to cut health benefits because Directors need their bonuses. life-sucking upper level management who operate under the risk and reward management style and don't give a second thought to training and coaching instead, just firing. There is a reason they are always hiring. Because the management is so terrible, especially in food and beverage, the moral is stifling..The employee relations department is a joke, people are allowed to work in hostile environments where sexual harassment, age, gender bias and a looming ora of negativity... what's the motto, the loonies run the asylum? If you are different there is no inclusion in this workplace, you will be singled out and made to feel inferior.. it is a "sovereign nation" so don't expect them to follow federal or state guidelines on equal opportunity, health codes, workplace safety, or any other employee protection, they make their own laws to suit themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put in place a training and improvement program that you actually stick with. Follow federal labor regulations and ensure you have management who aren't bias against certain race or age groups. Have the tribe run the place and get rid of the entire lot of management in currently, no one runs a business like an owner who has a vested interest in it. People who have been in management 25+ years are obviously past... their primes and have lived by some pretty bad principles for far to long(the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over but expecting different results). Over the 16 years I had been with the company I witnessed various systems come into play(reward systems, incentives, coaching and development classes) but lower level managers change so frequently due to the abuse they are subjected to, none of the systems were ever adhered to. Most employees are subjected to such abuse from the losing customers and the terrible management that they develop drinking and drug habits, gain weight severely, or just become terribly depressed and join a union against Foxwoods. Getting the guts, to get out of Foxwoods was my only saving grace. Working for a new business I realized that the way Foxwoods manages their workforce is terribly wrong and detrimental to the success of the company. I'm Foxwoods there is no transparency, no trust, no compassion, no hearts, you are nothing but a number if you work for Foxwoods food and beverage.

    Show More
    Foxwoods Resort Casino2017-04-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Esthetician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA in Ledyard, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Use to be a great place. Management and Tribal members cared about treating employees fairly. Good health benefits. Free food. Uniforms so clothing cost are low Met many great friends there.

    Cons

    Low moral, management and tribe are usually in conflict. You can loose seniority to a tribal member. Tribal employees can do the same job as you and make more money. Breeds resentment .... Overall...... it's not the place it use to be in the 90's When every one wanted to work there. Left after 15 years. Management always seem to be in conflict with Tribe.

    Advice to Management

    Hire Quality people, pay a little more. Tribal and non tribal employees get same pay and same treatment. Cannot take seniority away from other employees.

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2017-03-29
  5. "Poker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer 

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of breaks, free food during breaks, pay was decent.

    Cons

    Management didn't seem to care about dealer issues. This was only applicable to the poker room management and they often pawned off any issues to the union reps, who were terrible. Smoking environment was gross.

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2016-07-25
  6. "Your Mileage May Vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Utilities in Groton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food at the cafeteria.

    Cons

    Little to no chance of advancement within the company if your non-tribal. Managers tend to favor certain nationalities and races. Change of schedule is near impossible as it's seniority base when the annual schedule rotation comes around and the most junior people are stuck working grave.

    Advice to Management

    Actually adhere to equal employment and quit playing favorites towards certain groups of people and treat everyone equally. Provide opportunities for advancement for entry-level workers. Actually pay your workers above minumum wage

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2016-01-24
  7. "Just a hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is true what you hear. The pros to working at Foxwoods would be the paid break time and at times the free food. Also, I enjoy working with most of the people that I work with. In the beginning the benefits were fantastic, however, that is no so anymore. Yes, the benefits are still better than many other places, but when we rarely get an increase to our pay and the cost of our benifits keeps going up our pay... checks are going backwards. I bring home less now than I did 6 years ago. I have been with the company over 20 years. I have seen some great things with this company and have seen some really bad things.

    Show More

    Cons

    My first an foremost con for this company would be the policy the tribe has in place for tribal preference. I completely understand that this is a 'family' business and that it's important to raise up the people in the 'family' to run the busniess, but there is a huge difference between hiring a tribal member that has the combination of knowledge, education and skill to do the job and hiring a tribal member that has... none of these attributes. Again I have been here a very long time and I am thankful for the job. But time and time again I see unqualified people being handed a job because they are tribal over someone that has worked hard for the company has gained the knowledge, education and experience to get promoted yet because the tribe comes in an says the tribal member even if they have know experience in the field will most always get the position. Now this is not a tribal bashing post, over the years I have worked with many tribal members and in many cases the members are awesome to work with, there are the few and I do say the few that are a little to big for the egos and are not a very pleasant to work with. My complained is agains the preference policy or more importantly how it is applied.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage an environment of growth within your company especial for the non tribal memebers that have poured many years into building your business. If you want loyality from your employees, show them that you care enough to give them the opportunity move and grow with your company. I have come to a time in my life that it's just about time for me to move on and I would like to think that the company I have worked... for for so many years would hears the things that I have to say. I wish the company and the tribe all the best. Don't lose focus of what is really important. The People

    Show More
    Foxwoods Resort Casino2015-08-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Casino Credit Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Representative in Mashantucket, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free Food was nice. Internet usage Free stuff on occasion Indoor job.

    Cons

    No true raise after 7 years of employment Credit Director would not provide a raise or promote from within Credit executives treat representatives like a lower class citizen If your not a tribal member, don't count on getting promoted or making more money

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within and give your loyal staff a shot at a better future.

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2015-06-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I've worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino for 6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Mashantucket, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxwoods Resort Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free food, paid breaks parking on site, health discount for local gyms, 401K match hourly employees only,

    Cons

    Some of the employees and management are as idiotic and mean as some of the customers. It's almost impossible to move out of your department. Benefits continue to decline like quality of free food, cost for insurance, less people on insurance due to hiring casuals and part time, smoking is allowed which caused me to have asthma. Job security is non existent due to financial difficulties with the company over $1... billion in debt. Tribe has Indian preference for jobs and shifts. Environment can be noisy and work stations ergonomically incorrect. Management in your department views you as a number, they really don't care about anyone they just pretend to and they do a poor job pretending. You can't get straight answers from management when you ask them questions. Management likes to confuse customers and doesn't like to make anything easy for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees and customers better. Spend your money improving benefits and stop wasting money with needless renovations, building more casinos, etc take care of this one first. Make your facility smoke free and offer more room for advancement for employees.

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2014-11-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Management on Power Trip, Disorganized, Unqualified people running property"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foxwoods Resort Casino

    Pros

    Free food, room discounts, friendly co-workers

    Cons

    A lot of the upper management is terrible and unqualified to be in a position of authority. They dilly dally, horse around with each other, act like a high school clique. Everything is extremely political and favoritism is prevalent, therefore a lot of undeserving employees get away with a lot without getting disciplined. Managers on a lower level are over worked and underpaid, nepotism is everywhere. Native... american family members are overpriviledged and underdisciplined since they will technically never get fired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and run a business like it should be and maybe you wont have to worry about it going bankrupt.

    Foxwoods Resort Casino2014-09-18
Found 17 reviews