Fragomen "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fragomen Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Fragomen Chairman of the Firm/Partner Austin T. Fragomen
Austin T. Fragomen
254 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, work environment, good management, coffee machine(in 55 reviews)

  • "Managers recognize potential and when to listen to Paralegals who understand the newer technologies(in 40 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Assistant Paralegal in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fragomen for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, work environment, good management, coffee machine

    Cons

    It was a Short job

    Fragomen2020-01-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Understaffed and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fragomen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Offices are always super fresh and well stocked w sugary beverages to keep you energized for a grueling work load

    Cons

    The most unprofessional work environment that profits off of fresh college grads eager to learn. The firm practices massive legal document services preparation through the use of off shored legal preparation. When docs are prepared undertrained staff are expected to provide legal analysis on complex subject matter. Th isn’t a learning curve. It’s a hit or miss world that relies heavily on cutting fees for mega clients who do not need 100% perfection. Mistakes are handed down thru the ranks and blame is given freely. Staff at all levels, especially partners, is immature, short sighted, and offensive. Many instances of pitting staff against each other and a well-oiled gossip mongering session is used as management skills. A senses of PTSD for those of us that have left. A wish a job here on no one.

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great opportunity if you can handle it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Paralegal in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fragomen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity, pay, they hire a lot of new grads, half point for good management and working environment

    Cons

    Work/life balance is off the table, training isn't very comprehensive, hostility from some higher ups at times; all depends what team you're on

    Fragomen2020-02-03
  4. "Be working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Analyst in Johannesburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fragomen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It has good working environment.

    Cons

    Is more focus on immigration consultants

    Fragomen2019-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nightmare work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Paralegal in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fragomen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited amounts of overtime, average salary, decent benefits.

    Cons

    There are so many to list. First, let’s start with the actual work environment. The New midtown office, while very updated, has been poorly designed for the needs of employees. The paralegals are given a small work table to work on that doesn’t allow you to fit papers or properly organize yourself. There is no privacy - in fact, even senior partners share offices. This is very distracting as people are constantly walking past you as you are trying to concentrate on work. From what I have seen, the quality of experience that you will have here will largely depend on what team you are placed on. It seems that some teams do a decent job of delegating work among paralegals so that no one is staying too late. However, the team I was one, most people stayed well past 8pm every night. It wasn’t unheard of or unusual for people to be in the office past 10 pm. Also, take note that this is a corporate immigration law firm and the clients are all businesses. As such, the cases you will handle will not vary much; however, you will be overwhelmed with the sheer volume of the work you will be assigned. The paralegals here do ALL the work. The attorneys just oversee and sign off and also speak to HR reps. You will see the same types of cases on a daily basis, it is just that there will be large volume and enormous pressure to complete everything quickly. Take note that immigration law is highly technical, and even small mistakes can have major consequences. You, as an entry level assistant paralegal, will be held responsible if anything were to go wrong. I gave this place my all - regularly worked nearly 60 hours. What I got was disrespect and condescension from attorneys. The job caused me to have an emotional and mental breakdown. The money, while decent for a recent college grad, is not worth the amount of emotional stress that you will face. Good luck.

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2019-11-12
  6. "Great first job, however low progression prospective within company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Immigration Paralegal in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Fragomen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious firm, really great for CV

    Cons

    Poor work environment, overworked/underpaid, attorneys care at all about those who work under them. Very passive and toxic environment as poor training is blamed on the employee rather than the employer.

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2019-09-26

    Fragomen Response

    January 9, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing the best training and introduction to the immigration space, so I'm sorry your experience didn't match up to that. The Firm offers over 1,000 training sessions on our Learning Management System, including sections on communication, client service, personal development, and a series of management and leadership trainings; all in addition to our live and recorded business immigration basics series. Many training sessions are as short as five minutes, and all are intended to assist our employees in their development while providing flexibility in where and when they take them. In addition, in 2020 we're planning on rolling out a Firmwide Fragomen Academy onboarding - coordinating our training and onboarding experience across the Firm. We hope to ensure that everyone receives the same positive training, setting them up for success in their immigration careers. Patrick Gallagher, Director of Learning & Development

    Continue reading
  7. "Mediocre job with decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Team Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fragomen

    Pros

    Decent work environment, bagels on Fridays.

    Cons

    Constantly overloaded with cases, hierarchical management lead to toxic work environments, people slack off and when they are terminated their work load gets added to yours.

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fragomen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, fair pay, good perks, great opportunity for growth, values work ethic and skills over tenure.

    Cons

    37.5 hour work week (if you're used to working 40) and you have to clock in and out

    Fragomen2019-07-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fragomen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Perks -Hired with minimum experience -Opportunities presented from being employed there -Compensation... until you’ve been employed there for a while -Care for your well-being from the hire ups -Generous PTO

    Cons

    -Unevenly distributed workloads -QUICK turnover -Complacency of senior employees -No on-site HR representative -Compensation for all AP employees in regards to workload -Improper training. There’s no way someone employed for only a week or two should be training a new employee -Praise and concern of lazy employees -After 6 months, it’s in your best interest to look for another opportunity -There is not a conducive work environment

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2019-04-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A cubicle farm, literally and metaphorically"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant/Paralegal in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fragomen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They try to have there be an office culture, but it doesn't really work and feels very stilted.

    Cons

    The organization, training, and communication are terrible. I frequently got yelled at for not doing things that nobody told me to do or were never explained to me. The work environment felt totally toxic and I'm so grateful I got out. Low pay and long hours.

    Continue reading
    Fragomen2019-03-12

    Fragomen Response

    March 20, 2019

    We're incredibly sorry you had this experience and thank you for your feedback and comments as to our opportunities for improvement. We're constantly looking at ways for our teams and functions to work more closely together and to improve our internal communications. I'd love to hear more about your experience, please feel free to contact me: gwhyld@fragomen.com; Gary Whyld - Director of Worldwide Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading
Found 80 reviews