Frankie & Benny's Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Frankie & Benny's Server Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Andy McCue
3 Ratings
  1. "Do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frankie & Benny's full-time

    Pros

    The people I got to work with.

    Cons

    My General Manager was great, but management above that level was extremely poor. They constantly understaffed the restaurant to keep labour costs down. They have a rule that servers should not have more than 6 tables but I had more than this almost every shift. Occasionally I had up to 25 tables with no bartender and only one manager on site. It is impossible to give a good customer experience in these situations and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the menu smaller and stick to what you do best, also make the food better or the prices lower. Stop rolling out so many surprise discounts - people just get mad when they find out they can't use them on the already discounted menu or mad when the server has no idea what the discount is. Most importantly, staff the restaurant adequately. If you don't then you end up with over-worked, unhappy employees and unhappy...

    Show More
    Frankie & Benny's2019-05-23
  2. "Fun place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frankie & Benny's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always come out of work with smile on my face

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful if busy can lead to mistakes

    Frankie & Benny's2019-07-11
  3. "Frankie and bennys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Frankie & Benny's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, short hours, friendly staff

    Cons

    Low pay, hard work, effort

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay

    Frankie & Benny's2019-06-18
  4. "wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frankie & Benny's for less than a year

    Pros

    Keep your own tips Free meal at lunch

    Cons

    Lack of effort to train new staff properly Managers and staff members alike were unfriendly and unhelpful

    Advice to Management

    If you get numerous complaints about a certain manager, please investigate or do something about it.

    Frankie & Benny's2019-07-18
  5. "Good for people starting out in hospitality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frankie & Benny's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have a great team at my branch, shifts always seem to fly by Paid training Made some great friends Above minimum wage 50% off twice a month

    Cons

    Always wanting to cut labour yet always hiring more people, hours are never consistent Get treated poorly by kitchen staff

    Advice to Management

    Don’t say you value staff when you’re always cutting labour and reducing hours

    Frankie & Benny's2019-06-08
  6. "Good tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frankie & Benny's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good tips - Friendly staff - Food for free

    Cons

    - if they dont need you, you will get less hours than you expected

    Frankie & Benny's2019-05-25
  7. "Its a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Frankie & Benny's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff feels like family Food on shift is good

    Cons

    The place is a joke. Everything is super disorganised. Upper management forgets what it's like to work in a restaurant. Unrealistic expectations placed upon staff.

    Advice to Management

    Sort yourself out

    Frankie & Benny's2019-06-04
  8. "it’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frankie & Benny's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most of the staff are lovely - Free food - Keep your own tips - 33% discount in F&Bs as well as discounts in other restaurants - Easy to get back into (I had 6 months out for uni and then went back, and felt like i’d never left)

    Cons

    - Long, unsociable hours, often with limited breaks - Managers don’t really care about staff - Pay is minimum wage but sometimes it doesn’t seem enough for how demanding it is

    Advice to Management

    In my experience managers don’t seem to care about their staffs lives outside of work eg.: people struggling with childcare etc, rotas only come out the week before and continue to be changed throughout that week so it’s really difficult to plan anything

    Frankie & Benny's2019-04-09
  9. "Do not work for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frankie & Benny's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros at all about it

    Cons

    Have to provide own money for float Managers steal tips

    Frankie & Benny's2019-04-15
  10. "Good pay but strenuous hours with barely any breaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

      I worked at Frankie & Benny's for less than a year

      Pros

      - pay is good and you get to keep all the tips you earn - free food when on breaks

      Cons

      - can be expected to work 12-13 hour shifts consecutively with no days off - breaks are not guaranteed, you may have to work 12 hours with no break or only a 30 minute break - rotas can be changed unexpectedly midweek without consulting staff, making it hard to plan around your shifts

      Frankie & Benny's2019-01-14
    Found 20 reviews