Franklin University Reviews | Glassdoor

Franklin University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Franklin University CEO David R. Decker
David R. Decker
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "The faculty and employees at Franklin are superb- hard working, dedicated(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons that I can see right now(in 3 reviews)

  • "Say they like to promote within, but very difficult to move up quickly(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    An open-minded institution; at the forefront of technology; new ideas are welcome and people who work here are absolutely amazing. I have been to two other universities and I have never seen more amazing staff and faculty. I love everything about this place and I know it will go far!

    Cons

    None. This place is just amazing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I love that employees are treated with such respect.

    Franklin University2018-12-14
  2. "Franklin University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Franklin University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a great school for those who are looking for a school that is more focused on adults. There are resources in the lab/ library that you use. There are books you can get from other libraries. The professors who taught me in my graduate program were very understanding and accommodating.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any right now

    Franklin University2019-03-28
  3. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work! Online options are amazing.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Franklin University2019-01-16
  4. "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 

    I worked at Franklin University for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, great supervisor and coworkers

    Cons

    no promotions works on weekends and July 4th

    Franklin University2019-01-14
  5. "great IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Very good array of benefits. Competitive Pay. Large IT staff that keeps systems leading edge and offers a wide range of jobs.

    Cons

    As with most universities, the compensation packages are faculty biased. Non faculty opportunities are very limited outside of IT.

    Franklin University2018-08-08
  6. "Work Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Franklin has been a great learning experience for me. The staff is very nice and willing to help. The hours are super flexible and work is conducive to my future goals. I would highly recommend Franklin to anyone.

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Franklin University2018-07-16
  7. "Worked for Franklin for 8 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Bonuses, Good PTO, week between Christmas and New Years Off

    Cons

    Have to drive downtown, constantly given more work than one person can handle, would like opportunity to work from home at least 1-2 days a week

    Franklin University2018-07-13
  8. "Lots of opportunities for the right kind of person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family friendly and has great benefits. Fast paced so there are lots of opportunities to make your mark. Wonderful and caring co-workers. New projects are common so the work duties do not get stale.

    Cons

    Very growth oriented so best suited for big idea and sales person personalities. Tends to be a bit siloed between departments. Management appears to be very personality driven.

    Advice to Management

    Big ideas are great but someone has to implement them.

    Franklin University2018-06-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Franklin University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits unlike no other place. Great options for medical, dental, vision. A 2 dollar match for every dollar added to the retirement plan up to 5%, and 4 weeks of vacation, not including 7 sick days and 3 personal days.

    Cons

    Too many Vice Presidents for a university of this size, with some who are too undeserving of the title. A VP at Franklin equates to what would be considered a midle manager at other universities of similar size. A manager can become a VP upon effectively conveying the “used car salesman approach” to the business. There’s some evidence that even a background in car or furniture sales gives an edge to those who...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be wary of those in mid-management (supervisors, Directors, VPs) who subtly or blatantly undermine their colleagues in surreptitious ways that self-promote. A deserving promotion should be rewarded more on merits, not because someone can effectively sell themselves as someone they actually are not. It’s one reason we have too many smooth talking people in leadership positions at Franklin. Many of them can talk...

    Show More
    Franklin University2018-06-19
  10. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Franklin University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Create your own schedule. Supervisors are understanding if you need to take time off.

    Cons

    Cubicles. Everything about the department is disorganized. It felt chaotic. There is a hierarchy you need to go through if you want to talk to an executive or someone in a different department. I couldn't just send an email to an executive to get something I needed even if it was the most efficient way. I had to wait on my boss to contact him/her, but he was forgetful.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication. Ask yourselves how you can operate more efficiently. Operating like a corporate culture is stagnating to creativity and collaboration.

    Franklin University2018-03-06
Found 70 reviews