Cover image for Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Logo

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Is this your company?

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Add a Review

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Oct 19, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 761 of over 761 reviews
4.2
85% Recommend to a Friend
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center President And Director Thomas J. Lynch Jr.
95% Approve of CEO

Found 87 of over 761 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center President And Director Thomas J. Lynch Jr.
Thomas J. Lynch Jr.
126 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low(in 69 reviews)
  • "I personally think salaries are low for software types who can make much more in the private sector.(in 44 reviews)
  • "Sometimes it is difficult to get work done due to negative/toxic environments, slacking off, bad managers, etc.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Some of this depends on the funding provided to each particular group and also management style.(in 13 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    supportive and kind working envirnment

    Oct 19, 2021 - Research Technician II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues really care about the research mission Can access strong scientific/ career mentoring networks Great core facilities On campus coffee shops and lunch Commuter benefits (mobile bike service, bike repair stipend, locker rooms/showers, subsidized bus pass) Responsive to employee feedback Effective communication and trust building leadership during the pandemic Good benefits (health/dental, retirement match)

    Cons

    pay is likely higher in biotech employee satisfaction is very dependent on which group you work in

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic culture: no PHD, no pay

    Oct 16, 2021 - Project Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible work hours, good cause. Great place to make connections.

    Cons

    I made the mistake of coming in at a lower salary than I wanted and hoping that I would be promoted over the years. Instead what ensues was a series of lies made to make me think that I was on track for career growth but would never come to fruition. My manager would often promise me things like reducing my hours but keeping my salary the same to make up for the fact that the promised raises never came, but then HR would get wind of that and tell me I was breaking rules and deny me raises even though my supervisor approved them. If you want a promotion, it is up to you to find hidden job descriptions for titles and research your peer’s pay and experience to argue your case. If you don’t have a PHD it doesn’t matter how much experience you have, someone with a masters/PhD and far less experience will always be paid more. If you want a raise you just need to get a new job in another department because it will never otherwise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place to work

    Jul 23, 2021 - Clinical Research Coordinator II in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good work life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    not a lot of support

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Unprofessional

    Jun 28, 2021 - Bio-pharmaceutical Manufacturing Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good for work life balance Good for people who are close to retirement Good benefits

    Cons

    No women equality. The glass ceiling definitely exists which is why I have seen women employees leaving. Even after promotion, there is no clarity when the salary raise will happen. Very ambiguous process I would say. Additionally, if the salary raise happens, it is lesser in comparison with the male counterparts. As a woman, I am saying this after thorough research. This has lead to lower morale and motivation even if the mission is for a good cause, I would still want to go to a place where my work is valued.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It depends

    Apr 24, 2021 - Philanthropy Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good benefits, especially healthcare. I've seen consistent desire and efforts to embrace diversity/inclusion initiatives, more than I've ever seen in other nonprofits I've worked at. Family friendly, on-site childcare (expensive), and feeding/changing rooms in my building.

    Cons

    Low pay, high turnover. Lack of transparency from management. There are people genuinely want change -- and are trying -- but we struggle to practice it. Being "too pushy" can make you a target for those who're not ready.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great bunch of people, nice academic atmosphere

    Apr 16, 2021 - Senior Staff Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Hutch is combines really good science with a family atmosphere. They have really cutting edge equipment from mass spec to microscopy, a full vivarium, good benefits including 7% 403(b) with no match required.

    Cons

    If you are not a PI there is no higher level career progression here. If the PI in you lab sucks you will have a bad time -- every lab is a little fiefdom.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Mar 24, 2021 - Research Technician I in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and good benefits.

    Cons

    Salary could be higher and bonuses would be nice.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jan 17, 2021 - Manager, Clinical Programming 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible work, good benefits, good upper management

    Cons

    Less salary compared to profit companies

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company. Ok pay

    Mar 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexibility in science position

    Cons

    The pay can be low for Seattle’s standards

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    good

    Mar 5, 2021 - Research Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits to work for

    Cons

    good work life balance in the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 87 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center - Public Health Science Building
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Interns at Fred Hutch
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Skybridge
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Holiday Gala
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Rooftop, Arnold Building
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Visitor Center
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center photo of: Waterfall
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

Seagen Logo
Seagen

4.1

320 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 761 Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center reviews submitted anonymously by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center is right for you.