Fred Meyer Jewelers Reviews | Glassdoor

Fred Meyer Jewelers Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Peter M. Engel
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and perks - health insurance, 401K contribution from company, great employee discounts on product(in 14 reviews)

  • "fun work environment and great people to work with(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "The vast majority of the product is low quality cheap Chinese and Indian produced jewelry which is typical in corporate(in 16 reviews)

  • "During Slow seasons the sales goals were kind of unrealistic they should reduce slow season goals and add them to peak seasons(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training, great upper management.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2018-11-25
  2. "Great Team, Disorganized Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time

    Pros

    Great team, decent benefits, potential to make a commission

    Cons

    Lots of pressure to make sales quotas, obtain email addresses, and sign customers up for the credit line.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-08-20
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount is amazing. Many employees stay just for the discount. My location is unionized so we get a little better pay Commission is a plus Most crews to work with are nice Management is good. I have worked at four stores Under 6 managers and loved every manager.

    Cons

    Little room for growth. Personally I have been working towards management and fellow associates have warned me about certain managers not allowing advancement. Managers have even said that they wouldn’t be a manager by today’s standards. Goals can sometimes be harder to hit with little forgiveness. You can exceed every aspect of your job and miss one thing(like credit) and get written up because other associates hit...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow some forgiveness and room for growth and never stop teaching and coaching your associates. They are your biggest asset. If they aren’t performing keep coaching and coaching instead of coming down on them, especially if they’re new.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-08-04
  4. "It was a fun pleace to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a fun and easy job

    Cons

    The schedule was very irregular.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-08-19
  5. "Not great, not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate in Mount Orab, OH
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Depending on the location, you can be working with some great people and have close work relationships due to the small work environment. - If you want to dip your toes into a luxury sales job, then this is perfect. - Low-key job, mostly talking to and engaging with customers as well as building a client base. - Commission based on sales, given as bonus. Potential for huge commission if your sales are great.

    Cons

    - Some associates can be sharks. Beware, you can't always be friends. - Management can be fickle. Sometimes you get the time off you want, sometimes you don't. Plan ahead as far as you can and be clear about taking time off that has already been paid for. - Job security can be dicey. If you don't hit your sales goal for three periods straight, they will begin to approach you. Feels unfair during slow periods in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Training needs to be better. We should be getting paid better for the amount of work we do that sometimes extends out of work. More realistic and fair goals. Communication.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-08-14
  6. "Pay + great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing pay and great benefits.

    Cons

    Stale / slow upper management to adapt to newer sales tactics.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Pay lots of busy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only reason to work at Fred Meyer Jewelers is the level of benefits that are provided by being part of the Kroger Family

    Cons

    Poor pay, minimal actual jewelry training. If you like to push credit and care plans you will love it here. If you think you are involved in “Fine Jewelry” you will be shocked. The vast majority of the product is low quality cheap Chinese and Indian produced jewelry which is typical in corporate jewelry.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the 80’s. You are in a rapidly changing retail environment and you have no feel for that reality. Your buyers are out of touch, your marketing is out of touch. You will follow the Signet stores to the same end when Kroger no longer can be afford to subsidize you!

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-06-15
  8. "Too much expected with little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the staff that I work with and greater a lot of personal relationships and learned a lot.

    Cons

    The management is poor and the pay overtime is poor. The lack of raises no matter how long you've worked there or how good of a job you've done is disappointing. Having a ton of measurables that doesn't have any benefit even if you exceed them. Promotions are less picked on Merritt and more decided by personal relationships are grudges that one holds.

    Advice to Management

    Stop offering minimum wage everyone that comes in and start trying to hire more capable and competent people if you're going to expect the world from them.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-06-07
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful Management, was very flexible with schedule

    Cons

    Sometimes there was o much work to be done

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-03-01
  10. "Meh heh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelery Sales Professional in Wood Village, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer Jewelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers. Guaranteed hours per work if hired as a full time employee. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Horrible regional. They don't train well. Very greedy. Goals are outrageous and unrealistic. Stressful. Diamond parties are the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Train your regionals and managers to actually have a heart. Better over all training is needed for all levels of management.

    Fred Meyer Jewelers2019-03-14
Found 165 reviews