Fred Meyer "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fred Meyer Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Fred Meyer President Joe Grieshaber
Joe Grieshaber
193 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The lack of communication between upper management and the workers can make this job challenging(in 45 reviews)

  • "No full time cashiers positions(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Produce Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee discount lots of opportunity for advancement great pay and benefits 401k plan with company match 1 week vacation after 1 year

    Cons

    You will need to work evenings, weekends, and holidays. But you should expect this from any retail business. Blackout dates for paid time off.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2016-07-23
  2. "Cliques in management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce in Bend, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, fellow co workers

    Cons

    Upper management has a “boys club”

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2020-01-10
  3. "For the most part good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Manager in Idaho Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Employee discount.

    Cons

    Too many upper management to answer to.

    Fred Meyer2019-08-14
  4. "Too many chiefs not enough indians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Freight in Ballard, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and employee discounts

    Cons

    Too many chiefs to report not enough indians that work.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-08-23
  5. "changing times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time

    Pros

    competitive pay, weekly payroll, employee discount

    Cons

    Corporate restructuring resulted in inconsistencies and rapidly changing policies. Management frequently rotated between stores during this time. Corporate distrust of employees based on "theft prevention" training during new hire training. Policy and procedure changes began treating employees as tools instead of people.

    Fred Meyer2019-08-03
  6. "Grocery stores are not gas stations, you cannot run them by the same rules. Especially in Oregon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fuel Clerk in Hillsboro, OR

    I worked at Fred Meyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benifeits, nice employee discount, someone higher on the chain of command is avaible to reach no matter what time

    Cons

    The biggest issue was that because Fred Meyer is a grocery store, they expect all employees to treat it as such. Working in the fuel center however presented its own issues with following union rules. Yes, it's all well and good that those rules are there, but the fuel center wasn't treated with the same priority when it came to cleanliness. No one working the fuel center was biohazard trained and people treat gas station bathrooms with very little regard. We would have to close them in the event of someone even leaving a bloody tissue on the floor. There's also that gas stations require a much more firm hand at dealing with customers, seeing as I worked at one in a state where you cannot dispense your own gasoline. If a customer is trying to serve themselves, and the powers that be (fire marshal, epa) were to see, everyone on shift is at risk of losing their jobs for allow this. However Fred Meyer management treated this as a customer is always right, but it was still my job to stop them, leading to situations where I was penalised and reprimanded for doing my job, following the law, and preserving customer safety.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-07-23
  7. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Nutrition Clerk 

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time

    Pros

    -Customer service -Benefits -Reward cards -Employee discounts

    Cons

    -Not enough pay -Management is bad -Coworkers are lazy -Rotating shifts -

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-07-16
  8. "Friendly employees and supervisor, management could be a bit harsh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts, plenty of positions and flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Very busy, lack of communication with staff

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-05-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Started Great But Declined Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay Benefits Employee discount I met some really amazing people at this job.

    Cons

    The biggest con is the toxic work environment. The company consistently talks about how they care about their employees while screwing them over. Problems are glossed over or given temporary fixes. When you have a manager who cares (some departments have this) it isn't too bad. Home is one of the worst departments to work for. The company will make big "wonderful" changes that inhibit their employees instead of helping them. The company does not care about the customer and hasn't for a long time. They care about their bottom line and that's it.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-01-04
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time

    Pros

    Employee discounts and appreciation Insurance and Union Teamwork and good communication

    Cons

    Flex schedule, regularly called in No full-time available Short-handed, out of stocks

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2018-12-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews