Fred Meyer "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fred Meyer Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Fred Meyer President Joe Grieshaber
Joe Grieshaber
194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The lack of communication between upper management and the workers can make this job challenging(in 45 reviews)

  • "No full time cashiers positions(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "5stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fred Meyer part-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    Not a place for full time employment

    Fred Meyer2019-04-25
  2. "It’s a ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PEM Sectionhead 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Fred Meyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full time, great benefits, overtime, and most importantly the customers.

    Cons

    Communication lacks, ownership lacks, no Structure.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2020-01-22
  3. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, holiday pay ,atmosphere and great customers

    Cons

    No full time cashiers positions

    Fred Meyer2019-11-27
  4. "Tuition Reimbursement is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Regulars would brighten anyone's day.

    Cons

    Fred Meyer doesn't give you a full time job unless you agree to work a flexible schedule even though they have 30 other people who want a regular schedule as well.

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-11-04
  5. "Quick to advance but brick walls at a point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy Job Will always call for Overtime Can make decent money if you answer your phone

    Cons

    Competitive Hours Bad Scheduling if not Full time 40 Rough managment Bad HR

    Fred Meyer2019-07-20
  6. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love all of my coworkers

    Cons

    The schedule is ridiculous, 5 days in a row. One day off. Then five more days in a row. One day off and then five MORE days in a row. You rarely get 2 days off in a row. The pay for barista is barely above minimum wage but I could walk into any stand alone Starbucks and start out at $16 an hour. Too bad the closest one is an hour away. We are short staffed and they refuse to hire anyone. I’m supposed to be a part time 20 and I work 36 hours a week as a full time student

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2019-05-04
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time

    Pros

    Employee discounts and appreciation Insurance and Union Teamwork and good communication

    Cons

    Flex schedule, regularly called in No full-time available Short-handed, out of stocks

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2018-12-09
  8. "Great for those starting out, but don’t expect anything close to a living wage outside of grocery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apparel Sales Associate in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Meyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with Improved training program Variety of functions and retail experience Management helpful for the most part

    Cons

    Salary for everyone outside of grocery non-competitive Little hope for full time, benefits Questionable hiring practices at specific locations Long hours

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2018-12-17
  9. "Cashier part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Meyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fair break time, employee discount, no drug testing - unless you screw something up bad enough. Two days of training before you’re expected to be active on the floor. Extra training provided for special tasks. (Cashier, deli, paint mixing, key cutting. etc) My store has a pretty great incentives for doing your best, safety bingo gives out cash, cash incentives for when you help lp (loss prevention) either deter or catch a shoplifter. Growth in the company is pretty much encouraged. They mostly hire entry level part time positions and if you can show grit and apply for higher up positions, its how your grow in the company.

    Cons

    Benefits wait time-one year unless you snag a full time position right off the bat. Lockers seem to be impossible to get one assigned to you, maybe theres a secret I haven’t been informed about? I’m a cashier and it’s tough leaning and reaching for 8 hours, but I guess that’s the whole point! lol

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2018-10-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fred Meyer was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fred Meyer full-time

    Pros

    I loved everyone I worked with in produce and helping customers was always fun. I also loved how fast paced produce is and how you're constantly moving and learning new things. If you show up and treat everyone kindly you will have a great work/life balance and make great friends. Even if they start you part time if you work hard you will get full time quickly and I was making about $16.50 in less than a year and I started at $10.50.

    Cons

    I worked very hard for 3 years, only called in sick 2 times, always had at least 5 great comments a week and when I put in a transfer to another store the HR treated me terribly. I had my previous HR send my transfer request assuming they would be happy to have such a great worker but I wrong. I went into the new HR dept and told her I was there to discuss my transfer and she laughed at me and said, we don't do transfers, you need to apply internally and I'll see if we have anything. I completed the application and was told they only had 12 hours in the deli and was so upset by how I was treated I declined. When I went downstairs I saw a former coworker and she told me she not only got a transfer but they had tons of positions available. She also told me that HR was awful and many people have issues with her. It actually made me cry it hurt my feelings so bad and now I have to start over again and just really sad to have such a negative feeling about this place now. I

    Continue reading
    Fred Meyer2018-10-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 61 reviews