Freddie Mac Reviews

Updated May 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,449 of over 1,668 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac Chief Executive Officer Michael DeVito
Michael DeVito
87 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

61.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Freddie Mac~1585
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Company is very diverse and has great benefits.(in 254 reviews)
  • "The company provides a good work/life balance and allows remote working.(in 158 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and awesome attitudes(in 143 reviews)
  • "Pay was good though college hires definitely were low(in 51 reviews)
  • "Culture is great and the building are nice(in 50 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Freddie Mac and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Credit Risk

    Mar 29, 2022 - Credit Risk Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Vacation, Competitive pay, Hours

    Cons

    Large corporation . hard to connect if remote

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Freddie Mac Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We work hard to provide our employees more in return, which includes comprehensive benefits and competitive compensation to achieve total well-being. Thanks again for your feedback and support of our important mission.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Place

    May 27, 2022 - Compliance Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Pay and great benefit

    Cons

    Management seems not to care about employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    We make Home possible

    May 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission work life balance People

    Cons

    Subject to political policy making

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great job

    May 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    easy, flexible work schedule, nice people

    Cons

    remote work is hard to learn

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    would return

    May 20, 2022 - Associate in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people, benefits, work life balance

    Cons

    slow paced at times, hard to execute things with layers of approval

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Solid Co

    May 18, 2022 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance, not too stressful

    Cons

    Older demographic which leads to an old fashioned company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to start (multifamily)

    May 18, 2022 - Underwriting Associate in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great place to learn the multifamily/CRE business -Most people are smart and willing to help -Well known brand that provides good opportunities farther down the line -Analysts and associates are able to earn overtime pay -Overall: would recommend to a friend

    Cons

    -High turnover rate in management -As you advance in your career within multifamily, the pay disparity between staying with the company and leaving for a similar role externally increases -HR is not the best

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    review

    May 17, 2022 - Operational Risk Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, compensation is good

    Cons

    Can be very hard to get ahead due to red tape and politics game.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    May 16, 2022 - Technology Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very welcoming environment with room to learn and grow further into your career.

    Cons

    Takes time to work your way up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Freddie Mac Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to hear you're benefiting from our inclusive work environment as we pride ourselves in providing employees with the right environment to succeed. Thanks you for your continued contributions.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work Life balance

    May 16, 2022 - Senior Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is by far the best company I have worked for; great benefits and very flexible schedule that allows for a work life balance I have never had in my career prior.

    Cons

    If you are looking to get rich, you won't do that here; especially with being under Conservatorship from FHFA, the salaries are capped and do not pay as high as similar roles at more private firms.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Freddie Mac Response

    Thank you for your review. We enjoy hearing feedback like this, especially when it comes to our industry-leading benefits and focus on work-life balance. We encourage you to reach out to your manager and HR for information on our hybrid return to office. Thanks for being a part of our team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,449 Reviews

Freddie Mac Reviews FAQs

Freddie Mac has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 1,668 reviews left anonymously by employees. 81% of employees would recommend working at Freddie Mac to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Freddie Mac employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Freddie Mac. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

81% of Freddie Mac employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Freddie Mac 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Freddie Mac to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Freddie Mac Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Freddie Mac? Share Your Experiences

or