Free People Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Free People President Meg Hayne (no image)
Meg Hayne
217 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "impossible to ever get into upper management outside of the store(in 48 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, low pay, quality of product is not as a great as it used to be(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Free People full-time

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and good discount

    Cons

    Regional managers didn’t always take complaints seriously

    Free People2020-06-04
  2. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Free People part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the company, management, clothing, everything honestly. They have a great emplyee discount and really care about the people who work for them

    Cons

    I felt as if there were no cons

    Continue reading
    Free People2020-06-03
  3. "Loved my time there"

    5.0
    Former Employee - MIT in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Free People part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, creative atmosphere, flexible with schedule

    Cons

    on your feet for up to 8 hours at a time, varying schedule for shifts

    Free People2020-06-02
  4. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Free People part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers and a great work environment!

    Cons

    Retail is retail & people are crazy!

    Continue reading
    Free People2020-05-22
  5. "Nice place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Topanga, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Free People part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot, collaborative environment

    Cons

    Difficult to get time off

    Free People2020-06-04
  6. "Good for Part time"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Free People part-time

    Pros

    Good part time job, you can pretty much work however much you want and the people there are nice

    Cons

    Management turned twice in 3 months, they don't communicate with the employees

    Free People2020-05-20
  7. "not a bad place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Stylist in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Free People part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great years there good part time job

    Cons

    hours werent super consistent not a lot of room job promotion

    Continue reading
    Free People2020-06-04
  8. "Fun and Down to Earth Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Free People part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s such a great and woman positive atmosphere

    Cons

    You can’t make commission on what you sell which is tough, because sometimes id sell 1k worth of stuff for one customer.

    Free People2020-05-18
  9. "Great Place to Grow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Free People full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount and benefits. Opportunities to bounce. Wonderful, creative experience and strong training with URBN means they are molding great employees that will eventually out grow positions. I made lots of friends and gained awesome life experience.

    Cons

    They will work you to the bone and never admit they have made mistakes. At Free People in particular, there can be some deceiving and unethical practices when it comes to trying to "manage employees" out of the company. I had been asked to perform tasks that were definitely not in compliance with OSHA. When I stressed that, I was shunned and eventually let go. My store became someone of a hostile working environment because of the district manager. I won compensation in an unemployment hearing because of their actions. My advice always is to take notes, pictures, and document anything if you feel you are being taken advantage of. They need to tighten up their policies and they also need to understand that employees have rights. Trying to fight me in unemployment was mind boggling. Every week up until the hearing, my DM emailed me and asked me for a letter of resignation. She needed that to "prove" that I quite. Even though she kept telling me it was only so they could given me a "good" recommendation when I went to seek new employment. The very first question asked at the hearing was if there was a letter of resignation. I never sent one so that I could defend my position.

    Continue reading
    Free People2020-05-18
  10. "Assistant manager"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at Free People part-time

    Pros

    Great work culture! Loved the staff

    Cons

    Bad pay, worked too many hours

    Free People2020-05-03
Found 592 reviews