KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Freebird Stores

Is this your company?

Freebird Stores

Add a Review

Freebird Stores Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 29 reviews

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Freebird Stores Owner/ CEO Mike Murphy (no image)
Mike Murphy
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to build a career

    Aug 26, 2021 - Finance Team Member in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freebird is growing really quickly, creating a lot of opportunities. Great benefits (401K, medical, dental, sick/vacation days). Snacks in the kitchen, Open work environment and open communication at all levels of the organization. The CEO and leadership constantly stop by our office just to check in! Nice to not feel forgotten as an Accountant. And the shoe discount is AMAZING!

    Cons

    High levels of growth can cause hiccups as processes change and new people need to be trained. This can be frustrating. The open work environment and floor plan can be distracting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Could Be A Great Place To Work..

    Aug 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freebird does a great job hiring great people. I thoroughly enjoyed my coworkers and being at work because of them. The company events are fun and they do try to build a "family" kind of atmosphere. Everyone works hard and if you don't you definitely stick out.

    Cons

    No support from leadership if you are not on CEO's good side. If the CEO likes you, you will be paid well and treated well. It is very easy to see who his favorites are. Work life balance is not really advocated for.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Thankful for Freebird!

    Aug 5, 2021 - Customer Experience Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freebird is an amazing company to work for! The company culture is positive and FUN. I love being surrounded by uplifting, supportive, and hardworking people day to day that challenge me to be the best I can be. Learning and growing within the company is encouraged and celebrated. The opportunities for growth are visible and exciting!

    Cons

    Because we all care so much and the culture is so incredible, one of the biggest challenges for me personally is to manage my work life balance. Mainly because I value being apart of the team and want to see myself and the company succeed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    TOXIC environment! Run fast and far from this place!

    Aug 25, 2021 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The ONLY pro to working here is the discount on shoes.

    Cons

    Many cons, but perhaps the biggest con is the toxic upper management, which continues all the way up the food chain. These people continually brow beat the employees to the point where everyone quits. The turnover here is HUGE and the company continues to employ these toxic people. The hours are ridiculous and the schedules change on a dime. They don’t believe in a work life balance because you’re never allowed a weekend day off and if you ask for any of those days off you receive snide comments from management. The upper level people come off as caring, but don’t let that fool you because it’s all a front. When an employee gives notice, which happens often, they basically throw you out the door like trash. This company cares nothing about their people. It’s all about the bottom line dollar.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture and a Fast Pace environment

    May 25, 2021 - E-commerce 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freebird is growing and at a fast pace in the world of E-commerce. It is a place where you can take on a challenge and really grow to your strengths. Many employees have been here a long time and have had the capability to create pathways to success. Looking at a lot of these past reviews they are a lot of people who did not leave on the best of terms with the company, so please take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. Through Covid the company did it's very best to support all of it's employees and makes a continued effort to make sure people feel safe and supported. They offer great benefits and pre-Covid offered Flock Festivities and team bonding experiences which everyone really enjoyed together.

    Cons

    Not every company is perfect, the holidays are our busiest time of year so there are black out dates for PTO. There could be stronger communication between departments, however I have learned that if you want to answer you have to ask for it. Would love to see more options about a 401K and Maternity/Paternity leave in the future.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Feb 5, 2021 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is amazing and high quality

    Cons

    Working on the weekends and holidays

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work and extend career.

    Jan 25, 2021 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great place to work.

    Cons

    A growing company, which as expected has some pains.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Solid place to work

    Jan 19, 2021 - Stylist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    decent pay great discount fun and high energy environment

    Cons

    expected to do a lot for how little you earn

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't ever work here-WARNING

    Jan 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a great discount but there are restrictions of course. People are friendly to your face but fake.

    Cons

    Where do I even start? There are an incredible amount of cons to working for this company. First of all, don't expect to ever get your idea off the ground in this company. It is highly discouraged to start your own project as the CEO just creates his own documents and then you have to do it his way. There are no career opportunities because of this and no chances to learn anything. It is his way or nothing so you just have to do it. Great if you love conforming and don't care about contributing anything. Felt like I was just pushing paper and was incredibly demeaning. The CEO is listening to everything, he monitors your emails, chats, and wouldn't be surprised if he had listening devices planted. He is also paranoid about everything, can't work from home, and no flexibility in work-life balance. Even if you pick up a call or make an appointment for the doctor everyone is up in your business asking what you were talking about. You are expected to work a scheduled 9-6 or 8-5 and can't leave early or you are judged. NO ONE is happy and can never speak up about how they truly feel. You have to wear the shoes to work and dress in a bohemian way that is on brand and you even have to listen to the same playlist every single day and it is infuriating. The music has to be on-brand so they are not willing to change it and discourage you from wearing headphones as you can't listen to the office chatter. Also, the shoes are uncomfortable!!! If you wear other shoes they make fun of you, very belittling. So you are forced to pay for the shoes and then just wearing them with co-workers around? No training for employees and just expected to learn it on your own or figure it out. It felt like a cult where everyone just trained to say certain things and wear certain things to fit in. I never felt like I belonged or fit in and they made no efforts to make me feel like a part of it or to get to know me in any way. Did not give us paid holidays off Completely devalued me and took a hit to my confidence-they micromanaged every chance they could get. I've never felt so negative about myself in my life. It is truly the worst workplace I have ever worked in.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Never gave me covid pay

    Jan 6, 2021 - Shift Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing i was told i was resented by my coworkers

    Cons

    I worked at freebirds got covid and never gave me 2 weeks pay for not being able to work and a very hostile work environment

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Freebird Stores Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Freebird Stores? Share Your Experiences

Freebird Stores logo
or