Freedom Mortgage Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Freedom Mortgage CEO          Stanley Middleman
Stanley Middleman
813 Ratings
Pros
  • "Freedom also does a good job at promoting a fun work environment(in 49 reviews)

  • "Work From Home always an option(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No matter how many loans you close, they will make everything possible not to pay you bonuses(in 34 reviews)

  • "Woked directly with Loan Officers(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Sexual Orientation

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Freedom Mortgage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Worst company that I have ever worked for in my entire life

      Apr 7, 2021 - Loan Advisor in Columbia, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to use the bathroom

      Cons

      Unrealistic goals, horrible lead sources, obsessive micromanagers

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Freedom Mortgage Response

      VP, Commmunications

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glassdoor is not just a forum to share comments, but also a way for Freedom Mortgage receive feedback as we want to always find ways to improve.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Apr 30, 2021 - Underwriter in San Dimas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management support is the best in the industry Compensation is comparable Excellent Training for all levels of experience

      Cons

      None that I have experienced

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Freedom Mortgage Response

      VP, Commmunications

      Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review! We are glad that you have felt supported by management and benefited from training.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Unprofessional and gaslighting company, beware unless desperate

      May 15, 2021 - Loan Processor in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance, computers, some coworkers

      Cons

      Where to start? Even if you're hired as a full timer, Freedom will treat you as a temp. I only lasted about a month.. There was a mass layoff at the end of April and it looks like HR has asked current employees to provide good reviews. Take those "positive" reviews with a hefty dose of salt. The training and support were not sufficient, it seems that Freedom didn't want to spend too much on the new hires that were going to be laid off not long after. Sink or swim policy. It seems they intentionally hire more than necessary and cull the extra employees every few months. I can't imagine this would engender loyalty nor a positive work environment. Another con: no coaching or feedback from your sup/management If was doing something wrong, why not let me know so i could address it? In their meetings they drone on about how well the company was doing, but turns out it was gaslighting.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible job for LOs

      Apr 30, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Officer in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you get to work from home

      Cons

      everything, nothing is great about this company, first you have to fund at least 25 loans to get paid , which equals only 300 if you fund less than 25 you get a big fat 0 Most employees have left the company and more are leaving day by day. They are having a hard time finding Los , lying deceitful managers that just want to fill thier pockets with more and more greed money . I would never work for freedom , too much red tape, you have to get approval for everything , even have to ask 2 weeks in advance to use my EARNED PTO . by the way , they nickel and dime you , and increase metrics every month , processors and uw, are dont know anything, dont know how to process a loan. Oh did I mention they outsource processing overseas to a 3rd party.. and you cant even talk with the processors . horrible system . Cancel your loans , and they wont fund. how are you not hiring staff in the U.S , why outsource, cheap labor and they cant even process a loan... closing in 60+ days , looking to leave as well as my other 10+ friends

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Thought they were a better company to work for

      May 6, 2021 - Mortgage Closer in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good insurance you don't have to wait 90 days for. Pay is decent and met some really great people. The executives seem to always thank everyone for their work

      Cons

      Training is a big problem at Freedom. They don't fully give you the support you need once you start working loans. Hard to get in touch with team leads and Managers for assistance. In the wholesale group they don't believe in meeting with employees 1 on 1. Even the review at the beginning of the year no one went over the results with you. You just had to read it, their excuse was there were too many people. In the nearly 1 year I was there I never had a 1 on 1 meeting with a leadership person to go over my performance either good or bad. Then one day your on a 5 minute zoom call letting you know your being laid off.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Freedom Mortgage Response

      VP, Commmunications

      Thank you for taking the time to post. We value and appreciate your feedback and want to continue to find ways to improve

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      You're a number, and not a person

      Apr 29, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Officer in Marlton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gives company mugs, tshirts, and headphones, and have drawings to win prizes.

      Cons

      Management isn't helpful and not much training and guidance is given. They will train you briefly on how to work the Sales Portal/Stream systems but never train you on how to sell. Everyday there is a tech issue, but they expect you to still reach your goals. Doesnt matter how much Overtime you do, if you still cant reach your app to goal for the month, your job is on the line. They will not give you a verbal warning if you are going to get fired the next month due to dipping below the stack rankings. Managers suck at updating your rankings daily for you to know how well or not so well you are doing. They are lying when they say if you do well in a campaign that it will reflect 2-4 weeks later by placing you in a better or as equal as a camp. They def have favorites and the ones that are top dogs they will make sure they are getting the best of the best leads. They will not be afraid to randomly let you go because of not reaching goals. Not a great company at all. So many things wrong here. Complete disappointment at its best.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Freedom Mortgage Response

      VP, Commmunications

      Thank you for your work at Freedom Mortgage and for posting. Your feedback helps us to continually improve.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      a job that keeps you busy for sure

      May 11, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have had the opportunity to work on a great team at freedom mortgage although i am no longer with the company i am thankful for the family vibes and the opportunity they have to offer. i am also thankful for the knowledge i gained not only about my position but other departments. Escrow is awesome!!

      Cons

      I only think they need to work better with employees handbook wise. there could be better communication and help more opportunities defenitly if the worker is one of your knowledgeable workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Pros

      ... ... ... ... ...

      Cons

      About three years ago the company went through a lengthy layoff streak that lasted about 4-5 months that massively lowered employee morale. Since the company doesn't offer severance packages and many longtime employees were laid off to be replaced by younger cheaper college grads, an (understandably) large stream of one star reviews were left on Glassdoor over an 8 to 12 month period. This severely lowered the company's average rating on Glassdoor. It was eventually brought to the company's attention that prospective employees were apprehensive about working at Freedom because of so many one star reviews. In order to reverse this trend the company started outright requesting employees go to Glassdoor and leave a positive review about working at Freedom. Numbers don't lie. The company's rating on Halloween 2017: 3.6. A year later same time after layoffs, below 2.5. The company started requesting positive reviews be left starting in early 2020 and, surprise surprise, the average rating is back up to 4.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Soaring With Freedom Mortgage

      May 13, 2021 - Final Docs Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom Mortgage allows you the opportunity to soar with the company with many learning and training tools. The flexibility is a plus. No pressure workflow, it's quality over quantity

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons not to work with Freedom Mortgage. The opportunities are endless.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great First Year!

      May 12, 2021 - Business Analyst in Marlton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible people, leadership, and culture. Everyone has been extremely patient and helpful as I continue to grow. I feel very appreciated for my hard work from leadership. Freedom Mortgage cares a lot about it's employees and community. I look forward to a long career with Freedom!

      Cons

      Due to the pandemic, working from home has denied me from meeting many of my team members in person.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,197 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Freedom Mortgage Job Seekers

    Loan Officer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Freedom Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

    or