Freie Universität Berlin Reviews | Glassdoor

Freie Universität Berlin Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Freie Universität Berlin CEO Peter-André Alt
Peter-André Alt
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Ist halt ne Uni, wie alle anderen auch(in 3 reviews)

  • "rokratie, hin und wieder muss man sich die Aufgaben selbst suchen - kommt immer auf den direkten Vorgesetzten an(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Freie Universität Berlin

    Pros

    Great place to work, awesome work environment, people are always willing to work with each other and help each other, Berlin as a city is great too!

    Cons

    Main campus was very far compared to my department.

    Freie Universität Berlin2017-05-08
  2. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Researcher in Mount Sinai, NY

      I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin for less than a year

      Pros

      Great Professors and mentors, good access to equipment and lab space. Nice location right outside the city of Berlin

      Cons

      Project was not organized well. Time was constrained so not much was able to get done. Classes were running during our research so there was not much guidance

      Freie Universität Berlin2015-11-11
    • "TA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin part-time

        Pros

        Always looking for new TAs to hire

        Cons

        The pay is not great

        Freie Universität Berlin2019-03-18
      • "Good science, poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin full-time

        Pros

        Great scientific environment. Super smart people. Very innovative. Great offer of courses. Quite non-German speaking-friendly.

        Cons

        Administration is a mess. There're over complicated procedures and not enough employees, so every reimbursement takes ages. Same for the IT department. Other disadvantages same as for any science related job: fixed term contracts, big workload, etc.

        Freie Universität Berlin2019-03-13
      • "Meteorology - Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - PhD Student in Berlin

          I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          - Relaxed working culture - Good industry ties

          Cons

          - Not social - Not very active (invited speakers, poster days, etc)

          Freie Universität Berlin2019-03-12
        • "phd"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin part-time

          Pros

          good professors and resourses there are also some conferences or workshops

          Cons

          organization for science and study is not that well

          Freie Universität Berlin2019-01-29
        • "PhD - Student"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin

          I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin part-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Work / Life balance A lot of opportunities

          Cons

          Passive atmosphere Lack in communication Partially archaic organization

          Freie Universität Berlin2018-09-28
        • "Stable but wage policy not up with times."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin part-time

          Pros

          Stable, with paid holidays, good future prospects for some.

          Cons

          Really depends on the position you work in

          Freie Universität Berlin2018-06-02
        • "Postdoctoral fellow"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I worked at Freie Universität Berlin full-time

          Pros

          Great science, great colleagues, great students.

          Cons

          Administration is a little bit hard to deal with.

          Freie Universität Berlin2018-05-14
        • "not good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Freie Universität Berlin full-time

            Pros

            people are really nice and friendly

            Cons

            the overall system is really complicated

            Freie Universität Berlin2018-03-06
          Found 69 reviews