Frenkel & Co. Reviews | Glassdoor

Frenkel & Co. Reviews

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Frenkel & Co. CEO John F. Kelly (no image)
John F. Kelly
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Very Poorly Run Company! Stay Away!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time

    Pros

    The one pro I have is that some of my former colleagues were very nice people

    Cons

    Cons.....where do I start! Working at This company was the WORST experience in my entire life. The blatant favoritism that was displayed was shocking. Some of the managers were unqualified to manage a team. The salary is very low compared to other competitor companies and the growth opportunities are lacking. I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worse enemy! I’m glad this horrible experience is behind me.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that you have human beings contributing to the growth and stability of the company. EVERYONE should be treated like they’re important and that they matter.

    Frenkel & Co.2019-05-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A stressful mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time

    Pros

    A handful of professionals that care about clients.

    Cons

    A nightmare. #meToo paradise. Former General Counsel, the CEO, the Surety guy, the co-owner in Benefits. All guilty. Employees are like furniture, just another expense. Slugs. Worthless. Their words. Amazing that they were acquired. CEO treats staff like rats on a ship and I hope they abandon ship.

    Advice to Management

    You sold. Go away and let EPIC rebuild

    Frenkel & Co.2018-05-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Tough place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time

    Pros

    you can keep to yourself and get your work done continuing ed courses available

    Cons

    lots of micro managing upper management doesn't care about you the work doesn't stop

    Advice to Management

    don't play favorites take time to educate employees

    Frenkel & Co.2017-05-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time

    Pros

    I was happy to get the job then realized that nothing that they promised was real.

    Cons

    This place is a revolving door. No opportunities unless you become your boss favorite. Stay away and run fast

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of big shots that make too much money and do too little.

    Frenkel & Co.2017-04-28
  5. "Not a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Depending on your department you can have a really amazing boss or terrible. My overall experience with my boss was spectacular.

    Cons

    Salary is just about average, they are a bit cheap overall if you're not on the insurance end.

    Frenkel & Co.2017-03-17
  6. Helpful (6)

    "A disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some solid insurance pros who will help you grow.

    Cons

    Manage through fear and intimidation. That. Driven by the CEO.

    Advice to Management

    Sell

    Frenkel & Co.2016-08-12
  7. "Broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Broker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frenkel & Co. for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything they told me in the interview about my job duties and clients has been true. The interview process and on boarding was very smooth. So far I have enjoyed making the switch from my past firm which was a larger global broker.

    Cons

    The biggest con is that I did not win anything at the company holiday party. The firm raffles away fantastic electronic gifts but unfortunately I didn't win. I couldn't believe that a company would still have such a wonderful holiday party.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Holiday Party!!!!!

    Frenkel & Co.2016-02-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cliend Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frenkel & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Frenkel is an organization that provides tremendous opportunities to their employees. They are always open to new ideas, Examples of these ideas include working remotely, holding various marketing and organizational events, traveling to various parts of the country (and international), approaching different segments of business. If you have a respectable plan, the organization has the resources to help advance the... plan. From the top down, everyone has an open ear and is very hands-on. Friendly staff and employees. A team approach is encouraged within the organization to help further departments growth and development. To help advance employees careers, continuing education is offered and encouraged. The work life balance is great. Overall a wonderful organization to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Workload can be intense. Although, what organization doesn't have employees who have an intense workload! The good thing about Frenkel is that they have the open ear and are willing to work with you to spread the workload.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop technology. This has been big push for the company and the changes have been amazing so far. As the industry continues to develop this area will become more and more important. Finally keep attracting motivated young talent. We have many senior employees who are willing to help develop the younger generation.

    Frenkel & Co.2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "AVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frenkel & Co.

    Pros

    None, but could be good. Lots of smart folks.

    Cons

    Too many to list. Angry, dreadful, childish bullies

    Advice to Management

    Retire and give the agency a fighting chance to survive.

    Frenkel & Co.2016-02-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Many headhunters and recruiters regard this company as one of the most poorly run shops in the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broker in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frenkel & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are absolutely no pros for workling at this company

    Cons

    Medical Benefits are not comparable with any industry standard. Employees are not compensated well. Accounting department is sub standard. They conduct business illegally

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company

    Frenkel & Co.2014-09-05
Found 18 reviews