KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Fresh Market

Is this your company?

Fresh Market

Add a Review

Fresh Market Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 of over 51 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Fresh Market Sr. Vice President, CFO Robert Obray
Robert Obray
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fresh food for fresh price

    Apr 13, 2020 - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in South Ogden, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get money and maybe some benefits

    Cons

    I don’t think there is none

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Not a High-Stress Job

    Jun 10, 2021 - Produce Clerk in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -The salary may be a little low, but not unreasonable for the simplicity of the work. -There's a 5% shopping discount. -The co-workers, managers, and store director have been supportive and nice. Corporate people are helpful when they come by. -It's a great place to learn basic skills of business and the produce industry.

    Cons

    -Sanitation is good, but not always a top focus. -It can be hard to take breaks. -Low workplace variety at times; be prepared for monotony.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great first job

    May 26, 2021 - Courtesy Clerk in Price, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The atmosphere was great, it gave me a good start on a resume, they worked with my highschool schedule very well.

    Cons

    It was hard to get certain days off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great co-workers but you will be worked to death

    May 26, 2021 - Department Manager in Jeremy Ranch, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    family atmosphere, fast paced work day

    Cons

    long hours, no recognition, hard to progress

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fresh market

    Aug 21, 2020 - Cashier, Bakery Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work environment and people

    Cons

    The Pay wasn’t very much

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The Job is What You Make It

    Jun 20, 2020 - Assistant Front End Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    employee discount, flexible scheduling, good experience

    Cons

    The customers were so rude and snobby, when not enough people were scheduled, it would be very stressful, especially trying to close at night

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Midwest store.Since the negative rating from 2018, it's still a discouraging place to work

    Sep 21, 2019 - Deli Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like most other companies, good people exists. Deli work is mostly centered around the deli counter, so you'll socialize a lot. Encouraged to sample food. Not strict on dump/discards. Although there aren't many actual doors behind the scenes, the "open door policy" concept to ask anyone any question is upheld true at our store. Same amount of loyal customers as other grocery stores, but usually a more positive interaction than negative rants. Managers have bonus incentives to not give overtime, so full timers can expect exactly 40 hours a week. There may be a Xmas bonus of full time staffs.

    Cons

    "Deli" work includes other job titles, such as dishwasher and cook. These are separate jobs at other retails, like Walmart, Kroger, and Whole Foods. The amount of work and the expectation of fulfilling "premium service" is not practical. Managers usually only stay until 5pm, so you better get along with whomever you're stuck with for the rest of the day. Few of my coworkers have worked in restaurants before as a server or assistant cook like a decade ago. Only managers *might* have food handler's license. Safety/sanitary levels are below or at minimum levels due to a combination of too many tasks and being skimpy on proper equipment (good gloves that will keep us safe are only presented when the regional manager vists, "knife cutting gloves" that is required to use is not available, only one rag/towel is used per day... this should be per shift and as needed to be replaced). Only hire bottom tiered positions as part time and give them vague hope of converting full time. Store transitions are easier than changing positions or department within one store.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Family-like environment, for good and for bad

    Jun 19, 2019 - Cut Fruit Clerk in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I actually applied because of the family-like feel of this place. It is small and many of the people working there have been there for over a decade. I had been shopping there for a while and many of the employees knew me.

    Cons

    Communication was ineffective and problematic. When problems occurred because expectations weren't clearly communicated, blame was placed on me. The biggest problem I experienced was that I was threatened with not getting paid for shifts I had already worked. I was fully paid but I felt the use of that as a threat was inappropriate and unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hated it

    Jan 3, 2020 - Meat Clerk in Lafayette, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In River Ranch if that helps.

    Cons

    Didn't like the company. Sucked. Lafayette, Louisiana location is horrible

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good job

    Jul 31, 2019 - Grocery Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Made some good friends, okay medical insurance, pretty good hourly wage.

    Cons

    Corporate seems too top heavy. High expectations with minimal labor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

Popular Careers with Fresh Market Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Fresh Market? Share Your Experiences

Fresh Market logo
or