FreshCo (Canada) Reviews | Glassdoor

FreshCo (Canada) Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
FreshCo (Canada) CEO Mandy Rennehan
Mandy Rennehan
0 Ratings
  1. "Okay job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The cashier position for Freshco is only good for people who need less hours or a flexible schedule, so if your a student or need a less demanding second job on the side then this is good for you. However if you are someone that needs full 8 hour shifts then the cashier position is not right for you.

    Cons

    - minimum wage - cashiers get very little hours - not allowed to have bottle of water with us at cash while we work - seniority basis so new cashiers get closing shift hours - cashiers get a max 5 hour shift - basically no opportunities for career growth

    Advice to Management

    hire less cashiers and give the ones that already work there more hours instead of giving them 4/5 hour shifts all the time.

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-07-19
  2. "Good starter job, but no benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great first time job - Nice coworkers - Management is efficient and professional

    Cons

    - Hours are bad, if you're young or a student they'll take advantage of that and book you up the entire weekend while giving the older ladies early morning shifts - Seniority issues, employees who have been there for longer are clearly prioritized - Hours aren't that great, pay is minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Students matter too! Students have a life as well. I get that you want to give the older ladies the weekends off but think about us for a change and about whether we have plans or have to study/do assignments. Try and be more fair and stop giving younger people the worst shifts; it's noticeable and I'm not the only one who has complaints about it.

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-06-26
  3. "Supervisor/Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at FreshCo (Canada) part-time

    Pros

    - good hours, usually get 25-40 - flexible with scheduling especially when you

    Cons

    - sometimes they may cut hours - underscheduled staffing

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-04-11
  4. "Excellent work atmosphere and great/flexible managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Niagara Falls, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment, flexible work schedule, understanding managers, lots of hours, teamwork is always a thing. Probably one of the best work areas I have worked in a very long time.

    Cons

    Low pay (minimum, or close to minimum wage). Plenty of good employees there needs to be paid higher, especially the ones that have been there for over a year.

    Advice to Management

    None, really.

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-03-18
  5. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly employees, good benefits,

    Cons

    Lazy management, lazy manager, not so flexible work hours

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-01-15
  6. "Good work place but only for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and good managers

    Cons

    minimum pay no room for growth

    FreshCo (Canada)2018-01-04
  7. "Receiver and dairy clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dairy Clerk/Receiver in Scarborough, ON

    I have been working at FreshCo (Canada) part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The friends I've made there and I'm getting faster at my job

    Cons

    I don't have anything bad to say about FreshCo

    Advice to Management

    You are doing such a great job

    FreshCo (Canada)2017-12-17
  8. "Produce Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at FreshCo (Canada)

      Pros

      Friendly, Calm working environment. Great for students

      Cons

      Low entry level wage, but room for growth

      FreshCo (Canada)2017-11-06
    • "Good if you are young or need a full time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Meat Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at FreshCo (Canada) full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As a manager; write your own schedule, are able to have full control to do things as you see fit, generally good co-workers, can be very laid back during slower months, your department can be something to take pride in.

      Cons

      No benefits, store operators/owners vary in their management style so some are bad, it is very monotonous, can get really stressful during holidays seasons, lots of responsibility and accountability involved, gets extremely tiring after a while and it is hard to want to do for 5+ years, dealing with customers for your entire shift

      Advice to Management

      Give benefits and don't be so stingy on raises.

      FreshCo (Canada)2017-10-20
    • "Grocery Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Whitby, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at FreshCo (Canada) part-time

      Pros

      You are working are a grocery store. Interacting with customers. The managers and full-time employees are good examples as to why a young person should stay in school. Motivating, in that respect.

      Cons

      No discount on goods from the store. :( Schedule is very much based on managers preference.

      Advice to Management

      Probably try to find a new job. If you own the store, please stop and ask yourself are my managers promoting a positive work environment?

      FreshCo (Canada)2017-10-25
    Found 36 reviews