Fried Frank Harris Reviews | Glassdoor

Fried Frank Harris Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Fried Frank Harris CEO David J. Greenwald (no image)
David J. Greenwald
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best place I could have worked at.

    Cons

    Not enough management in recorded time there

    Advice to Management

    Finish cleaning the rest rooms

    Fried Frank Harris2018-06-10
  2. "Nice firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good benefits, jeans on Friday, stable environment with good work-life balance

    Cons

    slow to change, no other cons

    Fried Frank Harris2019-08-13
  3. "DC Office is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are down to earth.

    Cons

    Ratio of attorneys to secretaries is a bit high

    Fried Frank Harris2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible & Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Legal Assistant 

    I worked at Fried Frank Harris full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee, and it's nice to be near Battery Park in the summer.

    Cons

    Hostile, filthy (e.g., bugs, cramped, loud workspace, boxes of files scattered about), abusive work environment (e.g., crazy, burned out, incompetent attorney managers). Insufficient peer support. Sweatshop working conditions (e.g., extreme volumes of last minute work coupled w/impossible deadlines). There are some very nice, knowledgeable associates, but, generally, the morale is awful (at least it was in my... group). An absolutely horrible job and not worth any extra overtime or salary they are willing to pay you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It wouldn't matter; they are too arrogant to care or listen.

    Fried Frank Harris2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It all depends on whom you are working with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be a fabulous work environment, well supported and generous. Some gifted attorneys, some not so much

    Cons

    If you are assigned to work with an uncommunicative, unfriendly person who expects you to figure everything out without any help or guidance, the pros don't really matter.

    Advice to Management

    Provide greater guidance for how partners treat associates

    Fried Frank Harris2019-01-21
  6. "FF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Fried Frank Harris

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and sustainable jobs

    Cons

    Outdated firm. Need to invest more in technology and space

    Advice to Management

    Put in time for better training employees

    Fried Frank Harris2018-08-17
  7. "Records specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Records Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the fact i love going to working helping people made me day and my job a success

    Cons

    Lot of job training in help your growth within the company

    Advice to Management

    Be nice

    Fried Frank Harris2018-05-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Special Counsel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fried Frank Harris part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, many very intelligent and good people. Management has taken many steps to improve various aspects of the firm, from profitability to culture.

    Cons

    It is a big firm and requires putting in the hours.

    Advice to Management

    More openness is always a plus.

    Fried Frank Harris2018-01-21
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid! Terrible place to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Business Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are ok, though not great. Some good supportive staff members, but many of them are treated poorly. Good views from some of the conference rooms.

    Cons

    Incredibly toxic environment, counterproductive, and the not good environment. There is a reason turnover is so high. This was by far, the worst and most bizarre experience I’ve ever encountered. I do not recommend this place if you’re serious about your career.

    Advice to Management

    There so much that needs to change, but nothing ever happens. Good people keep leaving. Common sense, happy employees will lead to happier environment and a better experience for everyone.

    Fried Frank Harris2018-02-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not my favorite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fried Frank Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm does top quality work, invest in its associates, and is successful.

    Cons

    Daniel Greenwald is totally unapproachable, partners can be hostile and passive aggressive, clients are super demanding, and the place is not a warm atmosphere, at all.

    Fried Frank Harris2018-01-25
Found 54 reviews