FrogDog Reviews | Glassdoor

FrogDog Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FrogDog CEO Leslie Farnsworth (no image)
Leslie Farnsworth
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "FrogDog is a fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FrogDog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked for a more caring and thoughtful company. From how projects are set up and run to just how employees are treated, FrogDog is amazing. FrogDog has a fantastic process for managing projects and clients so that everything is always calmly completed and on schedule. You are given a lot of autonomy for how you go about completing your tasks but the process is managed so that nothing ever falls between the cracks. The result is a highly-productive, happy, and reasonably stress-free work environment. Leslie, the CEO, truly cares about her team and is a fantastic boss and mentor. I have learned so much from her during my time here and feel like she is helping me to the best version of myself. I love my job and working for FrogDog has been a gift.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons. This is a fantastic company with strong leadership.

    FrogDog2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Working at FrogDog is amazing and truly challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FrogDog full-time

    Pros

    The leadership and environment have allowed me the opportunity to become a better manager of my team while keeping my own personal growth as a priority to the company. That's very cool. The communication channels here are the best I have ever been exposed to. At FrogDog, the work is less "marketing agency" type and more "high-level problem-solving firm" through advanced marketing tactics. I can see if you are new to the business world where this type of strategic thinking and implementation for clients can be a huge challenge, but I have enjoyed every minute of it. You are not going to see a bunch of designers and social media interns running around the office. Instead, you see breakout meetings discussing the client's issues, goals and suggested solutions being white-boarded, then the employees go back to their desk and begin doing the work needed to achieve the goals. I find that refreshing and very professional. Really cool office space helps keep me focused on the projects while also stirring up my creative juices. I am also in walking distance to a gym and plenty of great lunch spots. A big plus for me since I commute from the Northwest side of Houston. I have received reviews in a timely manner and my career trajectory is well defined! That means more to me than almost anything else because I know exactly what the management has planned for my career and not just the company's goals. I look forward to updating my FrogDog review in a few months and building on this positive experience!

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't list a con about the company. You are asked to perform and deliver on the tasks assigned to you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The staff appreciates all of the time and efforts you put in. It is truly a pleasure to work with you!

    FrogDog2016-10-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A fun and energetic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FrogDog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job environment here is designed to encourage team work and thinking outside of the box. The management does a great job of ensuring that the staff can think creatively and add their unique insight to the structured path the company follows.

    Cons

    This is not a place where you can just put your head down and go unnoticed. You need to be able to engage others and work well as a part of a team if you expect to thrive here. Being able to excel with the input of others is a must in order to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to do team building exercises as they provide a great opportunity for all employees to get to know each other in a more casual setting. This creates better team work when collaborative work is to be done.

    FrogDog2016-05-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Many Opportunities for Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 

    I have been working at FrogDog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many opportunities for growth at FrogDog, even for entry level staff! The nature of the company ensures that you will learn a lot about all sides of marketing--planning, strategy, and implementation. These are experiences you simply won't get at a firm that focuses on only one or two areas of marketing. The CEO is very engaged with employees and provides opportunities for both personal and professional growth. Not many CEOs hold regular individual meetings to set goals with all employees, including junior staff, and provide resources and support to help them achieve those goals--this is one of the major pluses of working at FrogDog! There is also a fun company culture akin to what you might find on the west coast with regular book clubs, lunch 'n' learns, and other fun office events.

    Show More

    Cons

    Expectations can be fairly high and you will definitely be given challenging projects. For anyone who's looking to learn and grow their marketing abilities, however, these should serve as motivation and be viewed as opportunities instead of as negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Continue activities that contribute to and help develop company culture and definitely continue to provide valuable feedback and opportunities for growth!

    FrogDog2016-04-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Keeps you on your toes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FrogDog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company does highly interesting work for fast-paced companies in a variety of industries; it's challenging and engaging work. The team is professional and highly skilled, as is needed in a quickly moving organization, so you're working with smart people (and who have high expectations). In the spirit of a company with high expectations from its people, there's a focus on continuing education and continuous improvement of employees and the organization. Often, educational events are team-building events as well, and the company has a book club, monthly lunch 'n' learns, and more. It's a fun culture--the people here truly care about each other.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company and its clients are quick moving and have high expectations. You can't rest on your laurels here. If you want a job, not a career that's going to push you, this isn't your spot. Also, there aren't layers and layers of management, so you need to be self-motivated, a quick learner, and highly autonomous. People who need lots of oversight and support won't succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the focus on continuing education and culture building; both help employees meet the expectations of the company and its clients while helping foster a positive internal environment among the hectic day-to-day. Given the pace and the expectations, be more exceedingly careful about hiring--in the past, some people came on board who weren't suited to the environment; when people are let go or leave because of poor job fit, it's disruptive (especially in a client-centered company).

    Show More
    FrogDog2016-04-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "I dare you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FrogDog full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none, none, none, none, none

    Cons

    I dare anyone that works with this company (client of employee) to ask if a client has ever been satisfied or if an employee has lasted more than three months. The owner has no capacity to lead and as a result-- a caustic environment envelops every aspect of this company. There is no working history for a company of 12 years because the employee turn over is so rapid. To make matters worse, FrogDog bill clients for bringing new staff up to date.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up. Get help and stop scamming clients and burning employees to fuel your delusional understanding of FrogDog's capacity.

    FrogDog2014-08-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Simply not a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FrogDog full-time

    Pros

    The location of the office provided a very short commute and it is located near a lot of great lunch options.

    Cons

    The owner of the company has virtually no ability to understand social norms. The employee retention is extremely low because of the lack of market wages, benefits, and the hostile work environment. The owners does not have the clients best interest at heart. Trying to upsell an already overpriced product when a client is not getting the attention they deserve boarders on greed. The owner sells to clients that they have senior level full time people looking after accounts when the fact is that most of the work is contracted out to freelance creatives.There are very few good things I can say about the work environment other than I made a few good friends at the company due to having to band together to survive. Clients and employees don't stay very long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize what it is that the company does and not oversell the services to clients. In addition, understand how to relate to people to create a more hospitable work environment. Also, go on Glassdoor and see what people are actual paying employees for the type of work being executed.

    FrogDog2013-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working at FrogDog is a bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FrogDog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The central location makes travel to and from work relatively easy. The challenging work environment builds an esprit de corp among employees that is akin to the manner in which prisoners of war or Chilean miners can relate to one another.

    Cons

    FrogDog bills itself as a full service marketing communications and business strategy firm. Its autocratic and caustic leader is either incapable or unwilling to see the firm for what it actually is; a tiny floundering agency whose few full time employees are demotivated. Most go into the job with good intentions, but eventually realize the situation, and use their time fulfilling duties, while planning their exit strategy. Furthermore, the agency outsources the vast majority of its creative work to part-timers at staggeringly inflated hourly rates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest to yourself and change the value proposition of the business to reflect your true capabilities. Stop overselling yourself to prospective clients or employees. Examine the perpetual staff turnover and be honest with yourself about why everyone leaves.

    FrogDog2013-11-13
Found 8 reviews