Fry's Electronics "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fry's Electronics Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
27%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Fry's Electronics President Randy Fry
Randy Fry
460 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fry's Electronics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible Good learning experience Build customer service skills

    Cons

    Either hourly pay or commission No fixed schedule

    Fry's Electronics2019-02-04
  2. "Computer Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Fry's Electronics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hand on experiences on both current and old technology - Good chance for practice on customer service - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Work only part time and no benefit

    Fry's Electronics2019-08-13
  3. "Needs better management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fry's Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is not that good but the associates are awesome

    Cons

    Bad management and customer service

    Continue reading
    Fry's Electronics2019-06-21
  4. "Losing battle to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fry's Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pay was decent - for me anyway. - You can make some amazing friends. - Holiday OT was nice to have. - Depending on your store, in store management can be pretty awesome and reliable.

    Cons

    - Corporate Management isn’t good. They can’t make up their minds of what they want to do. They had a massive slew of terminations for many Department Managers and the Manager in Charge for every store. They continue to sell product under margin just to increase customer count. Many vendors don’t get paid on time or at all/ vendors pull out from Frys due to Frys undercutting the MSRP by a lot. - The customer service department is the only way to get a guaranteed paycheck (not that great but better than it was in previous years) unless you are a Department/Store Manager. The sales floor guys are all commissioned based, but some depts have a base pay as well (it’s a buffer, not a way to keep a job).

    Continue reading
    Fry's Electronics2019-04-28
  5. "Inadequate Pay - Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Webster, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fry's Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Job experience that pays, low standards for appearance and customer service.

    Cons

    Pay rate inadequate , nepotism is frequent, expectations are often unrealistic.

    Fry's Electronics2019-02-06
  6. "Work environment and pay lacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fry's Electronics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rapid Hiring Process. Hour lunch breaks. Exposed to interesting technology. Some managers and employees are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Back-biting, drama laden, high school atmosphere. Managers show favoritism, gaslight employees, and harass employees. Some managers have zero to no management skills. They pay the least they can get away with, according to state law. Managers make inappropriate remarks about past and present employees. Customer service is not a top priority. When hired, management did not make clear position was part-time.

    Continue reading
    Fry's Electronics2019-01-24
  7. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Fry's Electronics

    Pros

    Fun Entertaining Engaging customer service

    Cons

    Slow busy work favoritism high turn over

    Fry's Electronics2018-09-14
  8. "Audi Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fry's Electronics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can have a best experience with customer and electronics product and know how to work in retail stores.

    Cons

    cash handling, payroll, customer service, sales, customer opportunity, scheduling

    Fry's Electronics2018-09-12
  9. "Fry’s Electronics Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service/Return Desk Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fry's Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working there was a good learning experience I’m thankful for. I worked in customer service and at returns during my time there. Fry’s was my first job and during the 2 years I worked there I met allot of great people and learned to deal with all type of customers. Working there mostly taught me to how to handle tough situations in a professional manner. Also there was always opportunities to grow in the company.

    Cons

    The pay for a customer service was minimum wage. We were scheduled to work long hours and were given too many task for what we were getting paid. There was also too many scheduling conflicts where there would only be 3 cashiers scheduled for a big store like Fry’s.

    Fry's Electronics2018-05-11
  10. "Great retail start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fry's Electronics part-time

    Pros

    can establish a a solid sales background

    Cons

    have to deal with customer service in retail, at times can be great but sometimes can get difficult

    Continue reading
    Fry's Electronics2017-08-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 62 Reviews