KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Fry's Food

Part of Kroger
Is this your company?

Fry's Food

Add a Review

Fry's Food Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
43%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Fry's Food President Steve McKinney (no image)
Steve McKinney
265 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, nice environment and room to grow(in 23 reviews)

  • "good benefits, care about employees(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As minimum wage increases, those already making more only get a quarter raise(in 33 reviews)

  • "Low Pay and no benefits for part-time employees(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Mar 22, 2021 - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits matched those with other big chain stores

      Cons

      Worked weekends and super busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Most days, I felt like family working there but, it was a smaller store.

      May 15, 2021 - Ecommerce Associate in Gilbert, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay : way above min. pay and great bonuses

      Cons

      Lots of drama Don't get treated fairly by upper management Nothing is good enough Can change schedule without you knowing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Job to gain Customer Service Experince

      Apr 7, 2021 - Courtesy Clerk in Laveen, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a fairly easy job and you do learn a lot of things about grocery stores and their functions. You talk with a lot of people everyday and learn how to speak and interact with different types of personalities.

      Cons

      Managers; I will preface this by saying that most of my managers were great, however, their were some managers that lacked empathy and would get angry when carts were not filled. These managers were unappreciative of their workers and what they would provide for the company. Summer; AZ tends to get really hot and pushing carts in 100 degree weather is never fun (always wear sunscreen and a hat if you can).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Mediocre

      Apr 23, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Flagstaff, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Available Hours, I was hired quickly and the manager has always been willing to help me with scheduling around my availability.

      Cons

      We get paid minimum wage to do difficult physical labor, we're given a 20 minute break for an 8 hour shift, exhaustion on top of customer service. The Deli works on a constantly fluctuating crew that typically widdles itself down to a skeleton. The manager might be willing to work around my availability but that means nothing when there is no coverage and in order to give me hours, he cannot give me the time off that I need. Plus the assistant manager is a soulless witch.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Trash, pure trash

      Mar 16, 2021 - Pharmacy Technician in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, place was worse than garbage!

      Cons

      Too many to count. 2 10 min lunch breaks, doesn't even give you enough time to head to the breakroom while management enjoys an hour (when they dont do anything). The pay was insulting (minimum wage for a person who handles other people's medication). If you have a problem with management, quit and go elsewhere. All that happens is nothing for the management but if you make a minor mistake, you get written up (especially if you dont kiss the management's a**, you'll probably get fired, regardless of how well you do your job with no investigation) , the union is a complete joke, union rep is on the phone while you are being written up and says they'll help you get rid of the write up but does absolutely nothing but take union dues. I really wish the CEO would look at how management treats employees but only sides with them, leading to your termination. To sum it up, STAY AWAY! THIS PLACE IS A COMPLETE DUMP TO WORK FOR, DOES ILLEGAL PRACTICES, SWEEPS IT UNDER THE RUG, AND BLAME EVERYTHING ON THE LOW END EMPLOYEES! Pretty bad when the pharmacy manager/pharmacist Tina Pham has multiple complaints against her but yet is still there. Wonder who she knows or in bed with?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Amount of pay is a joke compared to the amount of work you put in.

      May 2, 2021 - Meat/Seafood Clerk in Goodyear, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours/scheduling, good people to work with. Most of the managers are pretty laid back and act more as another fellow coworker rather than somebody who you should be on your toes with, when present.

      Cons

      Alot of hard labor for such a small amount of pay. Limited supplies to work with, as well as the quality of some of the equipment/tools are either damaged or not efficient. Good luck getting something serviced or if you need something to help you out with your job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fry's does not feed the human spirit

      Feb 17, 2021 - Cashier in Gilbert, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have amazing coworkers up at the front end. Many friendships formed.

      Cons

      Fry's state they feed the human spirit. However, I can attest, under the penalties of perjury, that this is just a line of hog wash. Management only fault find. They never talk about anything good you have done. They rip your human spirit down, rather than encourage it and feed it. I am so disappointed. I thought my work experience would be a real blessing because of the principals they claim to follow. However, it's complete opposite.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I liked it but never got my transfer I asked for.

      Apr 26, 2021 - Dairy Clerk in Goodyear, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job was fun. Really repetitive but it made the day go by.

      Cons

      Management didn't really want to help me and only cared about the stores needs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Store level pickup department

      May 17, 2021 - Pick Up Clerk in Maricopa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When it is slow you can play music on a speaker and just hangout with coworkers

      Cons

      Anything that goes wrong is your fault you get written up for any little thing that they want to write you up for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Decent for part time

      May 4, 2021 - Produce Clerk in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sometimes works with schedule, decent pay.

      Cons

      Work load is heavy for some jobs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 743 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fry's Food Job Seekers

    Grocery Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Certified Pharmacy Technician
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Fry's Food? Share Your Experiences

    Fry's Food logo
    or