Fulcrum IT Reviews | Glassdoor

Fulcrum IT Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Fulcrum IT President & CEO Jeff Handy (no image)
Jeff Handy
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "The corporate office is in a great location(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very mediocre middle management(in 3 reviews)

  • "if you indulge on their benefits outside of the free healthcare it'll cost you more in time you need to work for them(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Specialist in Crystal City, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fulcrum IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the feel of a smaller company but the support at the level you would expect from a larger company.

    Cons

    Recently bought out by larger company.

    Fulcrum IT2019-12-11
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time

    Pros

    nice management, good growth potential

    Cons

    sold to a big fish

    Fulcrum IT2019-11-09
  3. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Developer 

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time

    Pros

    Environment, Flexibility, Ability to learn and grow in the company

    Cons

    None, really I had good time working with good people and at the great place.

    Fulcrum IT2019-11-01
  4. "Excellent place to work with a relaxed and fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and management is very supportive, specifically with professional development, work flexibility. People feel cared for.

    Cons

    Benefits are good, but not better than the average for the market.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to communicate to staff the long term vision for the projects and company.

    Fulcrum IT2019-05-06
  5. "Great company to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked for this company twice. The first time, Fulcrum was a sub on a contract that changed hands and Fulcrum was not picked up by the new prime. Having said that, the company grew quite a bit in the six years I was away. The owner and senior management still seemed to be grateful for their employees and the work done to make the company reputable and known. Spot bonuses are/were not uncommon and unless you screwed up, you could pretty much count on a pay raise annually.

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have any negative comments about the company. The company has recently been sold...I hope the purchasing company does not make changes that negatively impact the workforce. I marked 'career opportunites' down to four stars only because my particular position does not have any upward movement...that is NOT the company's fault, it just happens to be the position I work in.

    Advice to Management

    You guys/gals have been great. To the ones leaving, I hate to see you go and am happy to have been part of the Fulcrum Family...twice!

    Fulcrum IT2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A company solely focused on profits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fulcrum IT full-time

    Pros

    Lots of work and projects They're a growing company The C suite executives are actually good

    Cons

    The company has no culture They only care about profits. They invite you to a lunch and then tell you that you can't charge that time for lunch. Meaning you need to work an extra hour to spend time with your coworkers. They also charge for snacks, never seen that in my life. Most managers are so busy that they have no time for people or their issues. You're left to fend for yourself. Hiring process is extremely frustrating and yields tons of bad candidates. Change is so slow there and you have like 10 managers above you if you want to change something

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people and learn to create a good culture. The people are your most important asset as they drive the company. Learn to help your people with their problems.

    Fulcrum IT2018-09-14
  7. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Specialist in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays well for analytics in JIDO

    Cons

    weak management and room for progression within the organization

    Advice to Management

    be more personal and see your subordinates, always counselor and help to improve your subordinates in their job, personal goals and education level.

    Fulcrum IT2018-07-15
  8. "Company non-responsive after interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    I received an unsolicited email from an internal recruiter about an open position. I expressed interest and was scheduled for an interview with the hiring team. The time was inconvenient for me, but I rearranged my schedule so I could make it. I got the impression that they wanted someone more experienced than I was at the time, which I respect. However a week after the interview I emailed the recruiter who contacted me initially seeking closure, and was absolutely NOT looking to argue with their hiring decision. I didn't receive a response, and so I wrote off the opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get better at communicating with potential employees, ESPECIALLY if you contact them initially. The candidate who you wrote off as inexperienced today could be exactly who you're looking for two years from now. Many candidates have long memories and will refuse to work with companies who disrespected them in the past.

    Fulcrum IT2018-07-31
  9. "Tiny Pond with Small-minded Big Fish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer Or Senior Technical Writer in Centreville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coffee/tea machine is somewhat cool.

    Cons

    Poor salary, paternalistic attitude, chauvinistic, young white men and a few token minorities, poor benefits, unprofessional, not given tools required for mandated tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Speechless. Start over?

    Fulcrum IT2018-07-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good while contract lasts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fulcrum IT full-time

    Pros

    Bonuses, Leadership, Benefits ok, interesting work

    Cons

    When contract ends, management doesn't actively work hard to place you in another position/contract. If you see the end of the contract, don't wait to look around.

    Advice to Management

    Whenever contract ends, management needs to work to keep key talent around.

    Fulcrum IT2018-05-05
Found 47 reviews