Fund for the Public Interest "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fund for the Public Interest Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 414 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Ed Johnson
159 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with like minded people who really care about the issues you're canvassing for(in 66 reviews)

  • "Working for a good cause, surrounded by others who are passionate about the environment(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dealing with a lot of rejection while canvassing - will need thick skin for(in 123 reviews)

  • "long hours that aren't always advertised(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Shady practices to underpay workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Canvasser in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The campaigns and goals of the organization are admirable, and as a result it feels like you are working for a good cause.

    Cons

    The company practices some very questionable methods when it comes to their employees, and as a result it can be an exceptionally demanding and risky position with little payoff. -Will avoid paying for time when you start, claiming it is "unpaid interview" instead of training. -In the DC office, you will be required to commute to the main office and then go to Maryland or Virginia to canvass. This allows the company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers better, and don't hide behind shady excuses like "unpaid interviews" to avoid paying for training.

    Fund for the Public Interest2019-05-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Cause, But Demanding Hours with Little Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great work experience -good job training

    Cons

    -long hours that aren't always advertised -job insecurity if not meeting fundraising goals -pay that is below a livable wage

    Advice to Management

    Make your hours less demanding and pay your workers a livable wage

    Fund for the Public Interest2019-03-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with in the office! I actually met my best friend here. Lots of room to grow in the office and there IS an effort to be encouraging. Role-plays are definitely worth doing. They do give health insurance to SOME full time employees but you have to ask for it repeatedly.

    Cons

    Oh where to start: The money doesn't go to where you think it does. Mostly to salaries but not yours. You work long hours for very little compensation (the high hourly rates they advertise are because they factor in your supposed commission pay). You are required to work full time in the summer. Limited breaks and required to stand in inclement weather under the guise of "Justice...

    Show More
    Fund for the Public Interest2019-02-20
  4. "Not worth the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Canvasser in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Fund for the Public Interest part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -when you work for them, the staff is pleasant and friendly. -relaxed working space

      Cons

      -pay was non existent -long hours with not much return -high demand to meet quotas

      Fund for the Public Interest2019-02-22
    • "Overall good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Field Manager in Bethlehem, PA
        Recommends

        I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Compensation based pay means one can distinguish themself and earn more Great company events Feel like you're making a difference

        Cons

        Long Hours Pay is on the lower end

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-09-26
      • "Field Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Fund for the Public Interest part-time

        Pros

        I worked at the New York office. The people were great and the training taught me skills that transcend canvassing.

        Cons

        The long hours in the hot New York sun

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-06-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "Canvasser"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Fund for the Public Interest full-time

        Pros

        nice and enthusiastic co-workers, looks great on resume.

        Cons

        Long hours, low pay. No transparency with the employees. Unrealiable Pay you less than advertised

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-05-21
      • "Canvass Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great people, great training and staff development. If you want to gain a bunch of skills and move up quickly while also making a big impact on saving the planet, this is a good place to start.

        Cons

        The job is tough and isn't for everyone - long hours, pay is low (good benefits though!)

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-04-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Hard Job but Super Fulfilling"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Fund for the Public Interest full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Valuable leadership skills, fundraising skills, and wonderful work environment.

        Cons

        Nonprofit work is hard with long hours but they are upfront about this at the beginning.

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up!

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-03-05
      • "Assistant Canvassing Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Fund for the Public Interest full-time

        Pros

        Magnetic and energetic people to be around with. Highly conscious of political scene and motivated to make a difference in our society.

        Cons

        Long hours. Outside working in extreme weather. Beware of the winter season.

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up

        Fund for the Public Interest2018-01-09
      Found 414 reviews