Fyber "berlin" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fyber Employee Reviews about "berlin"

Updated 2 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Fyber CEO Ziv Elul (no image)
Ziv Elul
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "company language is English - great if you're still integrating in the Berlin life(in 10 reviews)

  • "I feel like I have a very healthy work life balance, and I couldn’t be happier(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's clear that money is more important than people, as people were laid-off but bonuses for the new C-level stayed(in 6 reviews)

  • "Half of the berlin office is already closed, I bet by the end 2018 only few people as german speaker support will be left(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "berlin"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Founders have a strong vision for the company and back up their long term plans. Great teams and people. A lot of opportunity if you are ready for it. Nice to have the chance to travel to Berlin occasionally.

    Cons

    For a German company you would expect a little more beer in the fridge. The early morning calls with Berlin can be challenging sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    It's exciting to see the company grow and think it is currently growing at just the right pace. Looking forward to the year ahead!

    Fyber2016-01-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Potential, not so amazing staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, seasoned engineers, SF office is close to BART. Berlin team is friendly

    Cons

    SF office is primarily staffed by millennial account managers who moved up from food service or retail work. Very cliquey and high school-style gossip. If you're not sharing gossip, you're likely the target of it.

    Advice to Management

    Hire based on merits and ambition, not who the "cool kids are"

    Fyber2016-12-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A good company who has been going downhill too fast and too soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During 2015 and 2017 while I worked as a full time employee in Berlin office, I had the chance to learn from my peers, to improve processes and to deliver results, in a genuine collaborative way. Unfortunately, in 2017 when co-founders left the company and the entire C-level had changed, being replaced by the Tel Aviv management, it had become more or less a power game and a very ego-driven culture.... Unfortunately, this new leadership approach has not appreciated accordingly the strong HR team in Berlin, nor some of the highly experienced C-level people in Berlin. All of these circumstances, combined with a lack of awareness in terms of managing cultural differences, as well, led to many high performers resigning in the Berlin office and slowly to make the one-of-its-kind culture in Berlin office fade away. Other Pros: - a structured onboarding process - internal knowledge base and documentation - educational leave - flexible hours - work from home days - leadership and communication training - multicultural teams - an efficient IT Support team

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of trust in Berlin office's senior employees and leadership An increased level of office politics Overestimating some so-called senior leadership people in San Francisco office

    Advice to Management

    Assess, appreciate and reward accordingly the senior and experienced people you still have in Berlin office.

    Fyber2019-01-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Give it a shot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Mini-On Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fyber full-time

    Pros

    You have colleagues and superiors that teach you new stuff every day. You have the chance to grow. Against what was mentioned in other reviews, at least I am asked for my opinion regularly. Of course, this opinion is not always reflected in decisions but at least asked, considered and sometimes used. You get to work with people from all over the world. You learn to get along with them. You learn that the US... colleagues always use great, super, fantastic and just mean good. That Germans are sometimes grumpy and don’t talk that much. Or, that Israelis are loud and very much into hierarchy (well, if they all serve the army and live in danger every day, you maybe can understand why). But you learn to get along with all of this and to use it to make the company and yourself better. Even though all start-ups offer it these days, breakfast, catered lunch, language classes, regular parties, drinks and beers are offered at Fyber. One last thing that I think is fantastic about Fyber is its Social Committee. Normal employees are given a budget and out if this they are organizing parties, Pong or Darts tournaments and lifting the atmosphere every day. Thanks for that! In a statement that indicated that the management created their own list for works council and those employees are their minions. This is so disrespectful against those employees! This list and those employees are the ones that are fighting daily to keep the Works Council alive. Others just leave and leave the people who voted them behind. Also, to call colleagues that are directors or above incompetent. This is -again- so disrespectful. A lot of those colleagues (especially in Berlin because I see them every day) are working hard and long hours to make this place and company a success. I never, never (!) heard anyone complaining before, it’s actually the other away around. The people I work closely with, are happy to learn from them every. single. day. I am one of them. Another last thing. It was written that Fyber will not be profitable soon and rather will go out of business. Also, this is not true. Yes, times are rough, and money doesn’t fall from the sky. But to fear people, potential candidates and for almost colleagues is... You are threatening employees for no reason!

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course, not everything is golden at Fyber. It’s an international company so it might be that your superior is in the US or Israel what makes it sometimes very hard. In general, the communication between the offices and departments can be improved. At this point information gets lost what leads to wrong decisions and frustration and some point. Employees are currently divided into several groups that are... supporting the management or fighting (yes, fighting) against the management or don’t care at all. That consumes resources that could be used in a better way. It’s tough to get promotions to “Head of ..” and beyond. That causes frustration at some point. But to close the loop here, as said, some of those people are so strong, it’s hard to pass them. So rather learn as much as you can and take it from there.. It’s tough these day’s and it will be tough tomorrow and the day after. But only the rough sea makes a good sailor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I see that you try to be transparent and open. Just try a little harder. Less meetings, more doings. Try to create more possibilities for project work and for people to lead that are not heads or above. As mentioned above it’s hard to get promoted to that level but this can provide additional skills to employees that are willing to develop them.

    Fyber2018-11-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "good company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - benefits (5 extra holidays per year, breakfast, ice cream during heat waves) - very nice people to work with (international team) - company language is English - great if you're still integrating in the Berlin life - recent developments are promising - Friday team presentations/introductions are a very good idea

    Cons

    - worldwide departments do not use the internal communication tools to their maximum potential - feels like long term planning is affected by short term needs

    Advice to Management

    communicate development plans in a more friendly way

    Fyber2018-08-08
  6. Helpful (25)

    "New management destroyed the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It used to be a very good place to work in Berlin, but almost nothing from that time is left

    Cons

    It was supposed to be a merge with Inneractive, but at the end is more like Inneractive acquired Fyber. Since Summer 2017 all the company is under control of managers coming from Inneractive in Tel Aviv, removing and firing all previous managers and founders from Berlin. Current situation is terrible: * New management are not used to "european" standards, they are used (and like) to treat employees as slaves and... are continuously criticising / attacking our rights, Some examples: they are "surprised" they cannot call you at 8pm or weekends, they think the office is too "nice" for people like us, they tried to stop the creation of the Work Council with mafia-way attacks (firing, bribing, the worst I have ever seen....) * They decided to close down the Berlin Office and move everything to Tel Aviv, making 3 rounds of lay offs and making the life of the people left a pure hell. After 6 months only 1/4 of the people is left in Berlin, almost all the IT department is gone by now * Half of the berlin office is already closed, I bet by the end 2018 only few people as german speaker support will be left * C level and VPs are all disrespectful, micromanage everything, lie about everything and have no idea how to manage an international company. The only thing they care about is themselves and to move everything to Israel, no matter if the product is going to blow up . They came to Berlin saying we were to "expensive" and we needed a diet, but all of them are getting salaries+bonus of 1 million euros!!!. It is crazy for a company the size of Fyber * In the tech side, they force us to stop any "modern" way of working, no more agile (instead they like to assign tasks to a person with a fixed time in an Excel and chase you...), QA, test automation, Infra as code, or CI/CD.... They stopped all the current projects in Berlin (well developed in modern technologies) and move to Tel aviv where Junior devs working 60 hours a week just code and push to production in a pure waterfall mode. * They are spending a huge amount of money in marketing for the "new" Fyber, including the new awful logo and the "super new unified product", that is no more than the former ones from them and Heyzap, and will be a total disaster * If I would be a publisher or advertiser, I would run away from this people ASAP, the platform will blow up in 2-3 months for sure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    none, they achieved what they wanted, close Berlin and get huge bonuses... I guess they will sell the company soon, cash out and laugh

    Fyber2018-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy, relaxed, fun people, great parties. Central location. Berlin is a great city. Young company. Friday free beers fun vibe

    Cons

    Poor management, company lacks strategic thinking. Very little investment in people, attrition rate is very high. Talent. It encouraged to move laterally.

    Advice to Management

    Improve leadership and strategy

    Fyber2016-12-27
  8. "great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fyber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sponsorpay is a young growing start up at the heart of berlin. Sponsor Pay has a very young international team f

    Cons

    As it is as small company, often the opportunities to grow within the company aren't so much. but this is maybe the only reason that are not positive about this company

    Fyber2013-04-21
Found 8 reviews