KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

G/O Digital

Part of TEGNA
Is this your company?

G/O Digital

Add a Review

G/O Digital Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 of over 161 reviews

2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
G/O Digital President and CEO Tim Fagan (no image)
Tim Fagan
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing culture, opportunities for growth, great leadership, the company is growing a lot so that's positive(in 6 reviews)

  • "Covered parking and a great cafeteria on the 8th floor(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They are downsizing and going back to tegna(in 4 reviews)

  • Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    3,037

    254 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Team

      Nov 22, 2021 - Senior SEO Strategist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were a great team of people to work with.

      Cons

      The company was closed and employees were laid off with little compensation or time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      brilliant

      Apr 23, 2021 - TOP DOG in Black Earth, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GOD is a decent employer

      Cons

      They are a little judgy

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      I Stay For The People

      Aug 6, 2016 - PPC Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tim the CEO is a fantastic leader. He communicates well and on a regular basis. He knows most employees by name in the Phoenix office even though he's based out of Chicago. Free snaks, coffee, tea in the break room. Co-workers are hip and fun to work with. The office is decorated well.

      Cons

      Middle management is puzzling. No one really takes the lead and people are off on different projects constantly. Front line people are often left to fend for themselves and battle over who will help meet deadlines when everyone is already swamped. Due to high turnover accounts are constantly transferred around. If you're the go-to person you are rewarded by getting the problem accounts and tougher workload but no raise. Annual raises are so low they are borderline insulting and do not keep up with the cost of living. Also, they are pro-rated for new hires. The medical benefits are terrible. Very high deductible before insurance pays anything ($1600 I think?) so I basically have to pay 100% of all my doctor visits. They have 10 free teledoc appointments, but sometimes I have to see a doctor. Excessive overtime is the norm. Everyone is so burnt out they have a hard time making conversation. The downtown Phoenix location is a pain to get to. It's in the middle of the ASU downtown campus, and you have to park in a parking garage. Oh and work makes you pay to park. It ads 15 min each way to the commute to be located here.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bitter Sweet is how I define my time at G/O Digital

      Oct 26, 2016 - Digital Marketing Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code. Game room with foosball, pingpong, and PS4. Generally nice people to work with. Free snacks and coffee. Phoenix location is downtown, so next to some great places to dine and visit.

      Cons

      Compensation plan just recently changed so that the higher "base salary" promotion can no longer be achieved for the Inside Sales team. Comp plan seems to be getting cut as the company grows. Tegna's former parent company recently bought out another digital marketing agency and soon to be taking most, if not all, of their accounts with them that G/O Digital is fulfilling. There may be some major cuts when this happens in 2017. Benefits are garbage for being a Tegna company. At my time of employment, had a 4K family deductible, with 80/20 co-pay after hitting the deductible. Getting any special requests fulfilled can take a long time. Can be frustrating when your entire business model is centered around servicing your customer's needs. Have to park in the AZ Republic Parking Garage a block away and no parking below the 3rd level. So parking can take some time.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Regional Account Executive

      Dec 2, 2015 - Regional Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you can sell it pays very well in both up front and recurring but only once the customer goes live. So you have to be able to implement as well. The Account Managers will do everything in their power to delay a client from going live so you have to be on them like butter is to bread. You have to champion the orders and get them live. You have to work hard at this job to be successful. If you don't have clients and relationships you can work when you walk in the door expect to cold call a lot and work hard. The negative reviews in here are from Sales people who literally sold nothing. I saw a bunch of bad hires and these folks had Zero's after six months. Please Do Not believe them - I love my job it is the best sales job and company I have ever worked for. The products are amazing and the customers are incredibly happy with our service.

      Cons

      We need to have better communication between the account managers and sales people. I am not really sure why so much animosity but there is. I think they prefer to be left a lone and not be bothered so someone needs to incentivize them more. they need a bonus for when it goes live and a bonus for when they work well with the sales rep. They need to think outside of the box more instead of telling a client you can't focus on "this keyword" because its not on your website say - "we can focus on this keyword if you add it to your website".

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Heroic Company with Heart and Integrity

      Feb 24, 2017 - Social Ads Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I recently got laid off from G/O and am giving 5 stars to this great company, so take it to heart, this is a solid company that cares about you and it shows. Things are transitioning as they do in any business and it required that the workforce be modified accordingly and this is where they shined. The CEO worked out a plan and a deal that would give the laid off personnel 60 days notice and severance on top of that - so we have the time we need to find a new place to work. I've never heard of this before and what this company has done to help preserve the financial states of the people they care about (their employees) and the really care and it shows, is absolutely amazing. Thank you so much G/O for being a great company while I worked here (and am for another 60 days or so from now) and a great company when things changed. Props to Tim Fagan and all of the people who made this happen and for doing the best possible thing you could in this type of situation. Other Pros - culture is awesome, snacks snacks and more snacks, Great cafe for breakfast and lunch, amazing people to work with, solid fun job

      Cons

      It's hard to write cons for this company bc I have enjoyed working here so much and have found such a great group of ppl to work with. Any job isn't all roses, but this one came close.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Favorite company to have worked for in my career

      Apr 15, 2016 - Director of Pre-Sales in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for G/O Digital. I have been with the company for 3 years and had positions in Sales and Strategy. G/O has had growing pains like many other organizations who have experienced rapid growth. In the time I have been here most of these changes have been tremendously positive for the business and employees. The company responds to feedback from our customers and our employees. The organization truly cares about employees and provides opportunity for growth. I have experienced growth in my personal career, and watched many colleagues receive promotions and career changes after proving themselves. The leadership team is responsive to feedback, and works hard to enable a culture that is both performance driven and fun. There are many ongoing incentives for superior performance like the "lever up awards" which provide both financial and public recognition for exceptional work. Sales reps are given more autonomy in selling then anywhere else I have worked, with a very aggressive compensation plan that rewards performance

      Cons

      At times there is too much process. As we grow, these processes become more important for scalability, but we need to retain our ability to move fast and be nimble.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Quality growing company

      Dec 17, 2015 - Biz Dev in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -this company supports a very unique culture that fosters each person's individuality along with their opinions -looking to progress their company very quickly and if you are willing to work hard and dedicate time it will pay off 2 fold -great leadership now in place and have a common goal -coworkers are a blast to work with and the company culture team has done a great job to build great amenities and events for employees to partake in -foster a culture of internal growth. many long term employees have grown through the ranks and impacted the business through their growth

      Cons

      -sometimes it is hard to push the envelope due to the size of the company, but leadership is working on that -as with any company, certain people in management roles are difficult to deal with

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Keep Trying

      Jan 8, 2016 -  in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are fun and it is a young office. Free snacks on Thursdays and free breakfast on Fridays. Once in awhile will give gift cards for a job well done. Flair is given out (think Office Space). They organize culture activities and events. The work can be fun if you are in the right department, but you have to like what you do to be content here.

      Cons

      Don't expect upper management to care that much about you if you are in Fulfillment. Low pay and really only gives raises during a designated time once per year. CEO was asked about the high employee turnover at one meeting, which there is a lot of and a lot of useless meetings, and he responded something to the effect of "people always come and go." Usually get the vibe that they only care that the work gets done, not as much about the people who do it. Only will hire you up if someone leaves, and would rather hire outside than promoting good people from inside. Some managers make it obvious that they don't want to be there either and many managers fall into their roles (when someone quits) and don't know what they are doing. A good place to start your career if you are interested in digital marketing, but don't expect this to be a long-term gig.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Company Out of Touch

      Nov 18, 2016 - Social Media Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers! Most are knowledgeable and are team players. Just all around great people to work with.

      Cons

      VP Management in their fulfillment department is out of touch and cold. While they may get along with some more influential folks in the department, the silent majority is constantly looking over their shoulder and feels ignored. It is also a completely micromanaged environment. If that's your thing, then this is the place for you, otherwise, look elsewhere. While G/O has great people that you will interact with on a daily basis, you are vastly underpaid for it. Think 15-20k below the average salary for Phoenix. They like to hire kids fresh out of college who typically don't know any better and management will let you know that someone who is willing to work the salary is right behind you. Health Insurance is also pretty bad. G/O is also facing a business crisis and will be losing one of its major partners in June. Outlook could be shaky.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 157 Reviews

    G/O Digital Reviews FAQs

    40% of G/O Digital employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated G/O Digital 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at G/O Digital to be benefits, career development, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

    Popular Careers with G/O Digital Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at G/O Digital? Share Your Experiences

    or