G-Research Reviews | Glassdoor

G-Research Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Too many blockers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at G-Research full-time

    Pros

    Some very smart people to work with Good pay and benefits Mixed blessings: Rules limit hours in the office so engineers generally have to leave before 8pm Lack of email outside of the office means getting urgent emails that disrupt your holiday is not an issue

    Cons

    Very draconian constraints in the name of security make getting work done extremely hard (rubber stamping from various levels of management to make otherwise-straightfoward changes, mandatory spyware-like tools that cause performance issues on workstations and servers, purposeful knowledge siloing, ...) Lack of personal phones in the office and work-from-home options means office-hours life admin can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Make empowering the people beneath you a priority and listen to them when they advise that your decisions are getting in the way of their work

    G-Research2019-01-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Probably the best company I'll ever find"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible compensation. - Everyone here are really smart. - People get their responsibilities right. You literally never have to spend time fixing other people's stuff. You will almost never feel like you could do it better, no matter how smart you are. I've never seen any other workplace in the IT industry where this was true, and I've had a few jobs before this. - Very relaxed work environment. The work hours...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Strong focus on security could be a problem for some (I don't mind) - Work from home is not permitted (I don't mind) - Seeing how smart your collagues are, and how much they know that you don't could be a hit to your self-esteem.

    G-Research2018-10-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "G-Research dev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time

    Pros

    Good code base. Company is investing a lot in tech. Excellent work life balance.

    Cons

    Very siloed organisation. Limited interactions with research.

    G-Research2018-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good tech, variety of work. Social company

    Cons

    Structure and progression. A lot of sideways movement, but limited upwards progression

    G-Research2018-08-12
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, excellent benefits and opportunity to explore new ideas

    Cons

    none that pop to mind

    G-Research2018-08-09
  6. "IT Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at G-Research full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Young, fast growing tech company.

    Cons

    Did not see/feel any cons.

    G-Research2018-08-08
  7. Helpful (23)

    "Best job I've had so far (and I've had a few)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Positive working atmosphere - people help each other out, no prima donnas Smart colleagues - the standard overall is by some way the best I've ever had in a workplace. it's a great place to learn Sensible work/life balance - the emphasis is on sustainable work, no-one is expecting any death marches I find the day-to-day work interesting and challenging - we are trying to get and stay ahead of others in our sector,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Security concerns mean home working is off the menu. Not a problem for many, but a major drawback for me It's growing, so it's not as small as it was - not a problem for me, but some might prefer a sub-100-employee type setup

    Advice to Management

    If I do personally drift away from G-Research, it will most likely be because of a lack of flexibility in working patterns, whether it's not allowing home working or everyone having to work 5 full days every week.. As the workforce ages (and so more of them have kids), this will become a more general problem in G-Research. Don't let this creep up on you!

    G-Research2018-05-11
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Good potential wasted by technical debt and questionable choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    G-Research hires really good people and the office environment is quite nice. The company is supporting the effort of modernising the large legacy codebase they own.

    Cons

    Employees cannot really express their full potential. Technical debt and all the focus put on security are slowing down development speed.

    Advice to Management

    Try to put paranoia aside and rethink the relationships between the different groups. Failing to do this you're just hiring very good talent and waste most of it.

    G-Research2018-06-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "G-Research is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart colleagues. New technologies. Plenty of resources available for investment in anything that's needed - i.e. more computers for the cluster. Good pay.

    Cons

    Very strict security procedures. No working from home except for support. Support is a pain due to procedures around logging on from home.

    Advice to Management

    Relax the security procedures and allow working from home for most jobs. Most jobs don't have access to the really sensitive data / code.

    G-Research2018-05-06
  10. "Really good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G-Research full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Really interesting projects to work on - Senior staff listen to your ideas - Lots of great social events - Very competitive salary and bonus

    Cons

    - Security is a bit over the top sometimes

    G-Research2018-03-13
Found 27 reviews