G&K Services Reviews | Glassdoor

G&K Services Reviews

Updated April 19, 2017
457 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

457 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The knowledge of these managers passed on to me has helped me grow as an employee and helped shape my career at G&K Services (in 36 reviews)

  • Great company but unfortunately it was bought by Cintas (in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • I'm on route so the long hours is almost expected not really a con (in 34 reviews)

  • Unfortunately G&K is now no longer (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "In charge of 5-10 route sales personnel and over 500 customers."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Manager in Jackson, MS
    Current Employee - Route Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Being a route manager gives you the lowest level of management at G&K. The benefits are great with an opportunity to earn a large bonus.

    Cons

    As a route manager you can work 40 hours a week and you will see the results. I work over 50+ hours a week and I have seen the results. The only con is long hours

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop employees

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you're having a great experience being a route manager - a critical role on our team. We appreciate your feedback and advice to management.


  2. "project manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Mid sized company with customer focus. High integrity.

    Cons

    Operates on a very conservative budget. Some older technology.

    Advice to Management

    Merger is killing employee morale.

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad that you had a good experience and recognized our customer focus and integrity. The merger news has made it challenging for some employees, but we're confident that ... More


  3. "HR Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Layton, UT
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Was great to be part of the management team. Worked well with them and had plenty of employee interaction both in the plant and outside.

    Cons

    There was a distinct sense of differences between local management and corporate. Especially when it came down to HR matters. Instead of encompassing a learning environment for someone relatively new in HR, I was kept out of crucial HR conversations.

    Advice to Management

    Be more aligned locally with corporate initiatives


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Route Driver"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are good, pay is good

    Cons

    The management changed over alot. You didn't go home till your route was finished. If you needed help usually wasn't there

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you've had a good experience working for G&K.


  6. "Service Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, clear company strategy and countless talented employees. G&K provides the information and infrastructure that helps you succeed.

    Cons

    The merger with Cintas has left everyone in a state of uncertainty. Customers are tentative to commit to G&K making for a difficult environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find ways to engage and incent employees. Improve recruiting which is always the greatest challenge especially in the areas of routes,route management and sales.

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you've had a good experience with G&K. We know the merger has made for uncertain times, but we appreciate your advice and look forward to many great days ahead. ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    to bad they sold out to Cintas

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review of G&K. We're glad you've enjoyed the company and the people. We know the merger is making for challenging times, but we look forward to many great days ahead.


  8. "Route Sales Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Aubrey, TX
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Aubrey, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Ran my route like my own little, business. Aimed for Growth and met my goals.

    Cons

    Working Hours 70 -75 weekly

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed working for G&K. Running a route is like owning your own business - we're glad you were successful meeting your goals.


  9. "Great company, niche business"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent management at corporate
    Phenomenal culture, everyone pulls their weight
    Wonderful field employees, able to differentiate the company

    Cons

    Smaller company carries some limitations
    Unfortunately, G&K has agreed to be purchased by Cintas - likely to happen in 2017

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thans for your review. We're glad that you enjoy the management, field employees and culture. We know the merger has made for uncertain times, but we appreciate your engagement and look forward to ... More


  10. "Great company to grow with"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Solid managers that went out of their way for us. They compensate hard work. Positively push you to reach weekly and yearly goals. Very fortunate for my time with GK

    Cons

    Early early mornings of the industry. But that's the name of the game with any company in this industry, at the end of the day you save lots of time with those 4am starts!

    Advice to Management

    Greg Blanchette and Jon Jenkins were terrific managers. Very pleased with my time working under them.

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you've had a great experience with our company and managers!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Lead loader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Mobile, AL
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at G&K Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Reason to work there is the over time I love this company they just had poor management skills.

    Cons

    Management was poor the supervisor didn't care what we had are didn't have inventory was mess up.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees on what they need to make their job better.

    G&K Services Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Sr. Manager, Strategic Communications

    Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some of our managers and appreciate your advice to management.


Showing 457 of 464 reviews
Reset Filters