G&K Services "g k" Reviews | Glassdoor

G&K Services Employee Reviews about "g k"

Updated Dec 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
G&K Services CEO and Chairman of the Board Douglas A. (Doug) Milroy
Douglas A. (Doug) Milroy
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "G&K has a focus on its people and culture that is outstanding(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great Company Support for workers(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "I'm on route so the long hours is almost expected not really a con(in 35 reviews)

  • "Unfortunately G&K is now no longer(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "g k"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Talent Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time

    Pros

    Long live the G&K Legacy.

    Cons

    Acquisition by Cintas was a major bummer

    G&K Services2017-12-13
  2. "G&K was a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Sad to see it go.

    Cons

    None. I enjoyed my time with G&K.

    Advice to Management

    G&K Legacy will live on. Some of the greatest leaders I know.

    G&K Services2017-07-12
  3. "Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Brought by Cintas and no longer G&K

    G&K Services2017-05-14
  4. "HR Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G&K Services full-time

    Pros

    G&K has a focus on its people and culture that is outstanding. Sr. management is transparent, supportive and driven.

    Cons

    Being bought out by Cintas

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    G&K Services2017-05-04
  5. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Account Executive in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was able to do all the jobs that I ever dreamed of! TSE, Service Manager, District Sales Manager, National Account Executive, Major Account Executive. Always had the support of my peers and my management! I have met and worked with some incredible people! Fortunately I know from experience, Cintas is a great company and treats their partners with the utmost respect and they too employ great people. Great chance to... work with some new rock stars.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately G&K is now no longer G&K. Due to the merger, many outstanding employees will be looking for employment elsewhere.

    G&K Services2017-03-25
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Solutions Representative in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career path oriented company that embraces employee development. I've worked with several managers who have experience in multiple roles within the organization. The knowledge of these managers passed on to me has helped me grow as an employee and helped shape my career at G&K Services.

    Cons

    Not enough focus on new/additional product and service offerings. We have a fairly limited core group of rental items that does not seem to change with the industry from year to year.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate additional product and service offerings to add revenue streams. Perhaps a focus on offering commercial chemicals to our existing customers that could be serviced by the same Route Service Representatives that handle their uniforms and other rental product items would be a sensible additional service to offer. Investigate ways to include sales and service on inner company promotions. Though the resulting... sales do benefit both sales and service, there is not much done to recognize this aspect of a promotion.

    Show More
    G&K Services2017-01-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Territory Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time

    Pros

    The G&K Services Core Values and Customer Promise are simple yet State exactly what most Buyer's want from a company they decide to do business with. Unfortunately, not all of G&K Services Branches operate by those.

    Cons

    G&K Services will be acquired by Cintas in June of 2017. Although Cintas has indicated that all of the G&K sales associates will still have a job after the merger, it is not known as to what the positions will be nor the territories. There is still a lot of uncertainty and it has not been clarified as to whether you will be hired by Cintas under a 90 day probation as a new hire or as a normal employee.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring new sales people by convincing them they have a certain future even after the merger since it is very likely that we will most likely be brought on under a 90 day probation period to prevent unemployment claims and then weeded out very quickly in those first 90 days.

    G&K Services2017-01-16
  8. "District Sales Manager, responsible for a team of 7. All new business outside sales B2B. Exceeding goals and quotas fory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Dickinson, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company to work for. Sales are sales and need to be followed up by great service. G&K lives and breaths their customer promise and instill it in every employee. Service can not always at 100% levels but how you follow up to an issue needs to be timely and communication is at the highest of importance. G&K treats every customer with these values. Which creates an environment that is ethical and values... integrity. This type of environment makes it easy to sell for. You can count on your teams loyalty to the customer being genuine.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can not honestly think of any!

    G&K Services2016-12-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "In charge of 5-10 route sales personnel and over 500 customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a route manager gives you the lowest level of management at G&K. The benefits are great with an opportunity to earn a large bonus.

    Cons

    As a route manager you can work 40 hours a week and you will see the results. I work over 50+ hours a week and I have seen the results. The only con is long hours

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop employees

    G&K Services2016-12-04
  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G&K Services

    Pros

    I have work for G&K for over 20 years, great place to work and great people to work with.

    Cons

    since the announcement of the merger this company has went down hill and we are losing a lot of very talented and dedicated employees -

    G&K Services2017-01-09
Found 61 reviews