G & W Electric Company Reviews | Glassdoor

G & W Electric Company Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
John Mueller
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "perks are profit sharing every quarter and Merit raises(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Profit sharing and quarterly bonuses(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Many strong employees have left or been pushed out by changing flavor of the day/"what have you done for me lately(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assembler, Company rewards loyalty which is rare now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Blue Island, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G & W Electric Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Our assembly team had a good group of people and everyone worked together despite being very different personally and professionally. I was paid fairly for my experience level and the work I was doing. 9 years after I have left, 2/3 people in our team now hold management positions and support families (in addition to staying on through the blue island to Bolingbrook relocation). The Christmas and profit sharing bonus...

    Show More

    Cons

    There were some supply chain problems that at times limited our production. This problem was temporary and it never hurts to learn experience in other cells and connect with other individuals (I didn’t mind masking for the paint line or testing at times if I could). It was very hot in blue island but we had fans, breaks, and the atmosphere is much nicer in Bolingbrook.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make the decisions you believe are best for every employee and this company’s future! Growth will bring new challenges and never stop listening to employees.

    G & W Electric Company2018-02-26
  2. "Great Company but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G & W Electric Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great and friendly co-workers and colleagues

    Cons

    Some bad new and old managers

    Advice to Management

    Don't just listen to what your manager says, listen to your employees too because they know more than their manager. Your employees are the the ones at the front line and not your managers. This is the reason why we have two ears...

    G & W Electric Company2019-04-02
  3. "Not a world class company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at G & W Electric Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    perks are profit sharing every quarter and Merit raises

    Cons

    Reviews given about every six months for new employees but little raises. It's supposed to a "percentage" of base salary (so I was told). Not all internal jobs are posted and it seems to me you have to know someone to step up to a better position.

    Advice to Management

    Someone should be assigned to take charge ordering parts. Many times parts are not available and work is held up.

    G & W Electric Company2019-03-19
  4. "Dont settle it's just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Bolingbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G & W Electric Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most coworkers are ok and the bonus every quarter

    Cons

    Dont expect a bonus when you first get hired they'll stiff you on that one and dont expect a nice raise and management is a mixed bag of nuts

    G & W Electric Company2019-02-20
  5. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Bolingbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at G & W Electric Company

    Pros

    Free Lunch for the HR department.

    Cons

    No challenges at all you go with the flow.

    G & W Electric Company2018-11-15
  6. "Raise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Machine Operator 

    I have been working at G & W Electric Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean plant. Employees are friendly

    Cons

    14 cents raise for a yr. Supervisors low ball you so you dont receive a good raise.

    Advice to Management

    Supervisors need to do own work and not rely on leads some are bias.

    G & W Electric Company2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unforgiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salaried 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G & W Electric Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO is a good person, but is loyal to those complacent to detriment to the company

    Cons

    By appearances is a good mid-sized company, but is full of a toxic corporate culture , stifling creativity and change.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting inept people, add benefits that are truly lacking and not competitive. Lose the 1950s office hours.

    G & W Electric Company2018-01-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work at with great benefits!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G & W Electric Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Excellent compensation that rewards strong performance-Great bonuses!!! - Lots of autonomy - Room for growth and the company likes to promote from within - Very transparent from the top down. The Owner is amazing and extremely genuine - Strong leadership - Team environment - Exciting work in a fast pace growing environment -Great culture with an emphasis on family and collaboration

    Cons

    Need to update company infrastructure and processes to keep up with the tremendous growth.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! I truly felt like part of the G&W family and the only reason I am no longer at G&W was due to relocation.

    G & W Electric Company2017-10-23
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great company that was ruined by current mamagement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G & W Electric Company

    Pros

    Owner of the company is an amazing individual. Brilliant and kind business man

    Cons

    Management staff runs it like a high school. Popularity over competency. Current HR staff has a lot to be desired. No confidentiality in that office

    Advice to Management

    Go back to how you managed 8 years ago when you were loyal and growing.

    G & W Electric Company2017-10-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of the better companies..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G & W Electric Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Owner makes every attempt to keep employees happy and customers satisfied. Good pay, profit sharing and bonus eligibility available to ALL employees, generous perks. Safety is #1; clean environment; promotion from within and across functions is common.

    Cons

    Some "long-timers" struggle with change. Some "newbies" want to change before they understand the ramifications. Typical growth issues...

    Advice to Management

    Growth is a good thing - we may need to manage it

    G & W Electric Company2017-10-23
Found 51 reviews