G2 Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

G2 Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
G2 Co-Founder and CEO Godard Abel  (no image)
Godard Abel
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Rocketfuel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Ability to be yourself amongst colleagues - no pressure to be best friends but the opportunity to be your authentic self in a productive environment * Quality benefits for an organization of this age ($0 HDHP PPO, 401k match, options) * Traditional tech perks - beautiful and innovative office, healthy and plentiful snacks, breakfast and lunch included * Success Org has a transparent line of sight into leadership, goals, and challenges - a true family team * Feedback is encouraged with healthy discourse to grow * Empowered to grow your book of business as an entrepreneur

    Cons

    * G2 might be 7+ years old, but they are not immune to traditional start-up woes of underproductive staff with rapid hiring. All new orgs go through growing pains. * Tendency for those more tenured individuals to constantly reference "the old days" which can be younger colleagues feel left out (fortunately, events and social opportunities are inclusive to all) * Communication hiccups and opportunity for growth * 401k match isn't vested for 2 years

    Continue reading
    G22020-02-19

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for providing feedback and context to your experience at G2! We’re proud to hear that you’ve been able to be your authentic self amongst our teams. We’re always looking for more opportunities and events for G2 team members to meet and interact. You’re right, we have not been immune to the ‘start-up growing pains’ and have had a few bumps as we’ve built G2 and our teams. As we continue to improve our internal communication, feedback like this will always be important. Please continue to share your thoughts with either your manager, a member of the Employee Success team, or reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com to share your thoughts!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Honored to have a seat on the rocket ship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    G2 has mastered the community and culture aspect of going to work and truly enjoying who you're working with and where you get to work every day. G2 allows you to be an entrepreneur in your role, encourages you to challenge the status quo, and is overall a really fun place to work.

    Cons

    I believe their pay bands are slightly off for what a typical role may see elsewhere. I'm hoping this will change as we're now a rapidly growing 'start up'. They put a heavy focus on the perks available to you as part of your compensation, but as someone who doesn't necessarily use all the perks, I'd rather have the option to be compensated appropriately.

    Continue reading
    G22019-11-20
  3. "great company culture with people development mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    awesome benefits; culture promotes individual learning and growth; flexible wfh policy; snacks and catered lunch;

    Cons

    the jobs/tasks can be a bit messy

    Continue reading
    G22019-11-12
  4. "I LOVE working at G2!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office environment is amazing. It's a very 21st-century company with great perks. But the thing I love most about G2 are the people. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. You can tell very clearly how passionate people are about their roles and the work that they do at G2. I feel like I am inspired and supported to do my best work every day and to never stop learning. G2 is a very innovative company and I can't want to continue to watch us grow!

    Cons

    Honestly, nothing to add here so far!

    G22019-11-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Have really enjoyed my time at G2 so far, excited for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Really great product / platform - it's constantly improving which makes it "easier" to sell -Fulfills a need in the software industry -Brand awareness has never been higher...in almost every conversation I have, the prospect knows G2 (was not the case when I started at the company). Marketing team is killing it. -Executive team has had success growing other companies, it's comforting knowing the company is very stable -Executive team does their best to be very transparent. Have monthly all-hands and SKO's twice a year. -Everyone in the company is accessible - if you need help from C-level, VP, etc you can usually reach them pretty easily. They will almost always help on deals if you ask which I appreciate. -On the sales team(s) there is a good amount of internal promotions to leadership positions. The outside hires have been outstanding. -Great benefits / perks -Offices are awesome (Chicago and SF)

    Cons

    -The pay for sales is average. I don't feel "underpaid" but I do know other Chicago/SF companies that pay more for similar sales roles. -We have a very tough interview/hiring process, which I can appreciate, but frustrating when we are behind on hiring goals -There are some teams (not mine) that have expressed their frustration in being micromanaged

    Continue reading
    G22019-10-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to grow your career, despite growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Success in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to executives and senior leadership, benefits are awesome, people are very intelligent, fast moving business, lots of opportunity to try new things and explore your career.

    Cons

    A lot of the growth changes impact people who have been around for a while (eg outside hires installed as the new boss, structural changes, unprofessional behavior that was OK with a much smaller company is no longer tolerated); Some teams seem to be burning out while others are clipping along; some teams are more siloed than they should be; budgets are not at all transparent so buying things is like asking your dad for money; certain senior leaders appear out of their depth and instead of being open about this, they appear to shut down and get defensive.

    Continue reading
    G22019-10-07
  7. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Content Marketing Associate 

    I have been working at G2 full-time

    Pros

    competitive salary, unlimited pto, work from home capabilities, stocked kitchen, fun events

    Cons

    nothing really to say now

    G22019-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Paced, Challenging Work & Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunity to make an impact quickly and continually take on new things because we’re growing so fast - G2 continually invests in their people through new trainings and resources - Clear vision for the direction of the company and leaders with a proven track record - The people here are amazing - kind, intelligent, and fun - Lots of momentum in the business, we’re on an incredible trajectory!

    Cons

    - We’re growing quickly so there is still a lack of process at times - Given the speed and growth, it can be hard to stay in the know about what’s happening in other teams

    Continue reading
    G22019-09-30
  9. "Great Environment to Learn and Start a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Targeted Outreach Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall excellent work culture of support and encouragement to continue to learn and improve. The values are absolutely a representation of the people at the company. Everyone is incredibly welcoming and happy to help you. They take great care of employees with excellent benefits and perks to top it off. Very much so the tech start up feel with lots of young people who are excited to come to work every day. The mission is very genuine and transparency is abundant.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything.

    G22019-09-24
  10. "Great Start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, unlimited lacroix, great culture

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    G22019-09-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 64 reviews
</>Embed