G2 Reviews | Glassdoor

G2 Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
G2 Co-Founder and CEO Godard Abel  (no image)
Godard Abel
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rocketfuel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Ability to be yourself amongst colleagues - no pressure to be best friends but the opportunity to be your authentic self in a productive environment * Quality benefits for an organization of this age ($0 HDHP PPO, 401k match, options) * Traditional tech perks - beautiful and innovative office, healthy and plentiful snacks, breakfast and lunch included * Success Org has a transparent line of sight into leadership, goals, and challenges - a true family team * Feedback is encouraged with healthy discourse to grow * Empowered to grow your book of business as an entrepreneur

    Cons

    * G2 might be 7+ years old, but they are not immune to traditional start-up woes of underproductive staff with rapid hiring. All new orgs go through growing pains. * Tendency for those more tenured individuals to constantly reference "the old days" which can be younger colleagues feel left out (fortunately, events and social opportunities are inclusive to all) * Communication hiccups and opportunity for growth * 401k match isn't vested for 2 years

    Continue reading
    G22020-02-19

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for providing feedback and context to your experience at G2! We’re proud to hear that you’ve been able to be your authentic self amongst our teams. We’re always looking for more opportunities and events for G2 team members to meet and interact. You’re right, we have not been immune to the ‘start-up growing pains’ and have had a few bumps as we’ve built G2 and our teams. As we continue to improve our internal communication, feedback like this will always be important. Please continue to share your thoughts with either your manager, a member of the Employee Success team, or reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com to share your thoughts!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (7)

    "What started out bright turned ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch. Genuinely well meaning and kind peers. Don't have to stay at your desk.

    Cons

    A ton. I started out thinking G2 was a great place to break into the industry, and even though there were people that were ready and excited to help me learn, there seemed to be a road block at every corner. - Internal communication between teams is abysmal, and often times within teams isn't great either. Many teams didn't know what other teams did. People mixed up Research and Content Marketing daily. No one understood clearly what sales was doing since numbers were consistently not hit. - The CEO making some offensive joke was a routine event, and every team lead is a master in making excuses for each comment. - The sad attempt at diversity and inclusion ended up making people more angry. It also made people aware the company cares more about how it looks diverse, rather than caring about truly diversifying their workforce. - Worked in a position with no clear position responsibilities for 6 months because they were "exploring internal career paths" for over a year. - If you don't drink the koolaid, you're left far behind. There are better, less toxic startups in Chicago you should try for, give G2 a pass.

    Continue reading
    G22020-02-17

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Empowering our employees is a big focus of ours. We are releasing career pathing which will explain the competencies expected in each role, as well as what you will need in order to make sure you’re growing effectively in your career as well as within G2. Cross-team communication has been a challenge, as we’ve gone from 150 to nearly 400 employees in a single year. For 2020 we are focusing on developing the people we have, creating clear communication channels, and aligning team goals to a consistent vision. Thank you for your feedback. G2, like many tech companies, recognizes the critical need for inclusive and diverse representation across its teams. Our focus is on ethically and effectively improving our processes to ensure that people of all backgrounds and experiences feel welcomed and have a place at G2. This is a company-wide mission, all play a part. Please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com if you have specific thoughts on how we can continue to improve.

    Continue reading
  3. "The company to watch out for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Quality Associate in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fast growing startup with an organised structure in place. -Inclusivity and kindness across teams and people -Super fun place to work in -Young workforce and a new presence in India -Free snacks!

    Cons

    Hope to get an individual office building soon!

    G22020-02-13

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for your review! We’re excited about our now-global G2 teams and ensuring that everyone feels welcome is incredibly important. New offices and new people is just the start as we continue to grow! If you have any thoughts on how we can continue to bring our global offices directly, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Had so much hope... Good luck G2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the coffee and coconut water that you can drink.

    Cons

    When I was doing my research into G2, I found so many great things about how good the culture was, free lunch and coffee, healthcare, etc. And all that was true. The culture of my direct team and sister teams provided were among the best I've experienced in a work setting. But the lack of transparency from upper management is a big downer. Many positions I felt like were created as a temporary solution to reach a goal and then let go afterward. They also pride themselves in internal employee satisfaction reviews, but too bad they don't mean much.

    Continue reading
    G22020-02-10

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    G2 values feedback and insights both internal and external, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We had growing pains last year and needed to assess how we were achieving our goals. G2 is still growing rapidly and are proud of the success we’ve had, but unfortunately, difficult decisions had to be made. Listening to employees and advisors to support those decisions is a major part of our ongoing growth. Refocusing our strategy is key to ensure that all of our teams are aligned, communication is clear, and we continue to provide value to members of G2, buyers, and our customers. If you have specific ideas on how we can better show transparency and that we do value and listen to internal feedback, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com and share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  5. "G2 is a perfect employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - G2 is a rocket ship! It will not be long before G2 becomes the Amazon for B2B software. - Personal development: Not only is the company on an incredible trajectory, but they want you to be on your own career rocket ship as well. Management are results focused which allows flexibility in approach. - Amazing culture: it is rare to find a company where anybody is happy to help. At G2, you can ask anybody, anything, and you will get an answer. - Work-life balance: G2 has a work hard, play hard culture which is great for any ambitious individual that wants to celebrate their wins.

    Cons

    It is genuinely hard to find negatives. I can promise you that G2 will never be a poor career move.

    G22020-02-06

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for your review! We’re proud that you’re having a great experience here at G2! Empowering our people like you to discover their growth path is a core focus as we continue to expand our career pathing and training. Passion like yours is key to our continued success as we expand our product and the value we provide buyers. If you have any thoughts on more comments on what you’re finding most engaging in our culture, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Incredible potential sold out for a ham sandwich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're poor/mediocre at sales you may be able to stay on board as long as your CRM is kept up to date with meaningless, time-wasting updates. If you play your cards right you could even get promoted. Mediocrity has a home here.

    Cons

    Buckle up. My cons are based on experience in the sales team because there are so many of them, but I've heard unfortunate feedback from every other team there as well. --PRODUCT: Very tough product to sell, even tougher to renew once vendors fully understand what they're paying for. The "next big thing" for the product was always a quarter away, and when they finally arrived two quarters late it required a lot of smoothing over and half-truths to sell and maintain. Leadership comes from CPQ software and is completely oblivious to challenges of this type of product that isn't "sticky" and is a nice to have. If you're in mid market or below and get a decent book, you have a good shot at hitting 75% of your quota. Enterprise... good luck. Top achievers in both categories barely scrape 100% quota, and there's only going to be one or two. --COMPENSATION: Sorry to say that compensation is nowhere near where it should be given how high quotas are and the difficulty of the sale. It is not commensurate based on experience and ongoing performance, it's based solely on how much you made at your last company and will remain that way until you leave. I actually had to provide a pay stub from my last job to get an initial offer, and despite being a top performer I only received a raise when I pointed out how much more new hires were making than me. That was just to MATCH what new hires were getting, despite being one of the most tenured and having proven performance. Took HR about a year to explore fair pay bands and they severely underdelivered, though that probably rests at the feet of the CEO, along with most of the other issues you're going to read about here. I would suggest that "OpEx is king" and blame it on management being cheap, but then they throw millions of dollars at events that don't produce deals so I have no idea. --CAREER TRAJECTORY: G2 leads the way when it comes to overpromise/underdeliver for career paths. They hop on the startup bandwagon when it comes to "avenues for growth are limitless!", but as you'll probably see in other reviews, nepotism reigns supreme and they very very rarely promote internally to leadership. Even getting promoted to a new sales tier requires way too much campaigning and begging. It's funny because when they do finally promote somebody internally to leadership the choices they make are shocking and obviously not based on performance or peer reviews. There is ZERO transparency into what new roles are being created and there's no interview process, decisions are made completely behind closed doors and you only learn about roles after they're filled. --SALES LEADERSHIP: Hapless. Absolutely and utterly lost. When targets are missed, they justify it by throwing individual contributors under the bus. Every month or quarter when targets are inevitably missed the one and only thing they consider is the notes being kept in the CRM and whether it looks complete enough. It's a rallying cry of middle management when they need an excuse for poor attainment: "They don't keep enough notes in CRM, I have no idea what's going on with their deals." The truth is that not only are you required to keep detailed notes of every single call and every single meeting and every single email update (resulting in more time in CRM than with clients), they have such ridiculous requirements that team members will literally create fluff meetings for the sake of boosting activity numbers. This is a top-down culture--the CRO has absolutely no idea how to sell the product and uses CRM updates as a crutch for poor performance and lack of understanding. He will literally go through every single open opportunity in CRM, light you up in chatter with the same copy-and-pasted message asking how he can help and what's the next step, and then never, ever respond when you get back to him in chatter actually asking for his help. I'd say it's comical, but it's really frustrating and depressing, and it's hammered into every level of sales leadership there. I've seen leaders with great potential reduced to parroting middle management that are afraid to speak up because with every concern brought to the CRO he can say, "well what's the activity look like in CRM?" How's that for your ham sandwich. --CULTURE: I cringed every time I heard the CEO say "lead with love". Actions speak louder than words, and there is clearly no love lost between leadership and individual contributors. There's a miserable work-life balance, there is a toxic culture of fear and brown-nosing, the compensation discussion is a can constantly being kicked down the road, the language and attitude used towards employees is appalling (CEO: "Do your ******* jobs!" multiple times in a single meeting about setting up meetings at an event), and no amount of free lunch will make up for the unfortunate way they believe they can treat people. You'll notice most positive reviews here are from people who have been at the company less than a year. They never do the right thing when it comes to caring for employees. Yeah you'll get a sweet jacket or backpack with their logo on it at xmas, but then when the new variable comp plan rolls out it's a serious blow to your paycheck. The coolest part about their holiday swag is that the logo can be easily taken off. --TRAJECTORY: They just went through a massive (sadly overdue) downsizing because they've been hiring way too rapidly and in all the wrong areas. Maybe they thought throwing an army of marketers and blog writers at the revenue problem would fix things, but unfortunately real inbound interest never really arrived and good employees carried the bag. I have no doubt that in 3-5 years they could see a decent exit, but the IPO dream is probably dead. Unless somebody finally steps in that knows how to run a company/product like G2, it may be a rough road ahead and they may have hit a plateau already. --OVERALL: It is absolutely gut wrenching to write a review like this about a company that I cared so much for and made so many incredible friends at. The only reason stayed so long was the people around me, but in retrospect I stayed way too long. This company had a real shot of being the Chicago darling for SaaS but was completely upended by the new CEO and CRO who came in assuming everything was easy and any problems were the incompetent employees' fault. There are great people still there and great leaders still there, but the ratio has dwindled considerably and it's just not worth it unless you're looking to scoot in under the radar and stay there. There is absolutely no loyalty to tenured employees, feedback is rarely received and certainly never heard, and leadership is unabashedly in it for themselves and no one else. They've already moved on to their next CPQ company while running G2, which tells me they won't remain focused on G2 and it's probably going to keep experiencing these serious growing pains.

    Continue reading
    G22020-01-28

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    G2’s value to both buyers and sellers has been demonstrated through our continual year over year revenue growth and where we fit in the market. Our track record of proven value has cemented us as critical tools for many companies and increasing that recognition is a big next step in our continued growth. Compensation is an important part of any job and G2 recognizes that. We invest in tools and surveys to ensure that we competitively compensate our employees. We also want members of G2 to be healthy and encourage happiness through our robust benefits and flexible PTO. Our leaders have built many trusting and authentic relationships with people across multiple startups, who have a proven track record of success. Teams at G2 work incredibly hard and have that track record as well. We are incredibly proud of how many people have grown their careers and leadership here, and our recruiting and hiring processes are put in place with integrity, so that all qualified candidates who are interested, have an opportunity. There are growing pains during every hyper-growth stage. Unfortunately, we realized that we were growing in the wrong direction and had to make hard decisions as we evaluated the long-term health of the company. We are still growing quickly, but are focusing on strategic growth to ensure G2 will not be in the same position. Thank you for providing your experience and feedback. If you’re interested in having a discussion, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains but Amazing Platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Buyers do come to G2 to read reviews about software Lots of white space at accounts to grow our product set Autonomy to do your best work

    Cons

    Its a difficult product to learn/understand The review content seems to be volume based instead of quality, think they are fixing that though

    Continue reading
    G22020-01-10

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! You’re right, review quality is an important part of G2 being an essential product. Our data team is constantly iterating our review quality assurance process which includes AI and real human verification. We’re excited to build our recognition and value for both Buyers and Sellers. Part of expanding our training is to best prepare users as well as our own teams to get the maximum value that G2 provides them. If you have more insights you’re interested in sharing, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solving a really good problem Very smart and talented people on the team Great office

    Cons

    In 2018, there were some major changes at the very top of Sales leadership and since then G2’s culture has been dying a slow and painful death. The people who made G2 what it is have started leaving and the morale has dropped. From the ground floor, here’s the main problems: Ridiculous Quotas - C levels even admit there was little to no thought behind goal setting last year, so nobody hits quota or makes their OTE. Product Market Fit - team still doesn’t understand that we sell to marketers and marketers need to show ROI. So much of our resources go towards things that don’t matter, but they refuse to address the obvious product gap that has existed with G2 since day 1……..leads. Nepotism - the old boys club is STRONG at G2. If you worked with the founders at a previous CPQ company, you’re protected no matter what. No matter how incompetent you are, no matter how many of your direct reports complain about you to HR, you are protected at all costs.

    Continue reading
    G22020-01-09

    G2 Response

    January 28, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We know how incredible the people who make up G2 are and look for new ways to add to our growing teams. We've revamped our internal Culture Team and G2 Together groups that empower employees to drive change as we continue to grow Over the past year, G2 has worked to evolve our strategies in a scalable way. There were some challenges that we needed to work through but were able to finish our fiscal year strong and improve sales strategy as we enter into 2020. Continuous improvement is a core value of G2 and we’re excited to continue on this upward trajectory and lead all of our teams to a successful year! We’ve seen incredible growth in the last year. We’re focusing on making sure everyone is effective and improving through training and structured evaluation. Clearly defined metrics and goals are a clear indicator of performance and allow accurate benchmarking for team members to track their success here at G2. If you have more thoughts on your experience at G2, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com. We take all feedback seriously.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Read This Before Interviewing/Accepting An Offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will notice that over 90% of the "Pros" about this company pertain to the free lunches. That is pretty sad

    Cons

    - When it comes to your comp plan, you will be hilariously underpaid. The comp plan does not reflect the production you bring to the table. Any raise is barely enough to cover the rise in cost of living and inflation. - This company routinely disrespects early employees by promising promotions and advancement only for those in charge to hire friends from other companies. Too many exceptional colleagues left this company to go somewhere else to be appreciated, paid accordingly, and their talent recognized. More are following. - How can you expect to retain people with a lack of career development opportunities? The term “bread-crumbing”, in the corporate sense, is applicable here - The company touts an aptitude test, yet managed to hire a lot of really bad people. Not necessarily bad at their job, just not good human beings. The lack of respect and the toxic environment is enough to run for the hills. - Few management types in this company that know what they are doing or how to run a team. Look up any article about why good employees leave bad managers and this company could be featured in those articles. "Growing Pains" is just not an acceptable excuse. - Witnessed several former colleagues consistently over perform only to never be considered for the leadership opportunities they asked for and told they would never be given. Why would you work for a company that is not going to recognize your contributions or invest in you? - You can put lipstick on a pig, but it is still a pig.

    Continue reading
    G22020-01-09

    G2 Response

    January 28, 2020

    G2 invests in ensuring that all of our employees are paid competitively and given an opportunity for growth and advancement. As part of our ongoing effort, we have office hours where you can discuss growth opportunities and concerns with a member of our Employee Success team, roll out career pathing in 2020, expand manager training, and improve the employee evaluation process. Giving managers and team members the tools they need to succeed and providing a platform and opportunities with which to do it is a foundational aspect of how G2 will continue to grow. We'd love to discuss your specific experience in more depth so that we can better understand opportunities to improve G2's experience. Please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com at your convenience.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (25)

    "Incredible journey turned sour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits including healthcare, fully-stocked kitchen, beer on tap, events, and more. - The majority of the company are very talented and driven individuals. - The journey taught me a ton. - Well-known and respected brand in SaaS

    Cons

    - No form of empathy. - Totalitarian-like dictatorship from newer c-suite. - Gaslighting from leadership. - Lack of thought diversity. - Illusion of transparency. - Abandonment of company culture and values in lieu of exiting ASAP. - Protection of certain* leadership by all means necessary.

    Continue reading
    G22019-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews
</>Embed