G2 Reviews | Glassdoor

G2 Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
G2 Co-Founder and CEO Godard Abel  (no image)
Godard Abel
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains but Amazing Platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Buyers do come to G2 to read reviews about software Lots of white space at accounts to grow our product set Autonomy to do your best work

    Cons

    Its a difficult product to learn/understand The review content seems to be volume based instead of quality, think they are fixing that though

    Continue reading
    G22020-01-10

    G2 Response

    February 21, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! You’re right, review quality is an important part of G2 being an essential product. Our data team is constantly iterating our review quality assurance process which includes AI and real human verification. We’re excited to build our recognition and value for both Buyers and Sellers. Part of expanding our training is to best prepare users as well as our own teams to get the maximum value that G2 provides them. If you have more insights you’re interested in sharing, please reach out to employeesuccess@g2.com!

    Continue reading
  2. "Good so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Engaged, motivated teams - Free lunch 4 days a week - Lots of opportunities for growth - Strong culture

    Cons

    - Company's definitely in a growth spurt and ironing some stuff out - There could be a little more diversity

    G22019-09-26
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outreach in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    G2 is great at giving you perks. They have catered lunch 4 days a week, unlimited PTO, flexible hours, you can work from home anytime you want, and more. The health insurance is also good and affordable. The overall company is younger, it still has a tech start up feel to it, even though they are out of that phase. It is easy to move up and there is a lot of room to grow.

    Cons

    The managers never seem to know what is going on. You have to do a lot of managing up. It's hard to know when things are happening because communication isn't always clear. They could feed us 5 days a week but they won't. The sales team is favored greatly over the rest of the company.

    Continue reading
    G22019-09-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unlike any other company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    G2 has a culture i've never seen before in my years in the professional world. The leaders really strive to live by their values in everything they do, and really care about their employees and making G2 the best place to work. Not only through the numerous amazing perks (free lunch 4 days a week, unlimited PTO, AMAZING healthcare benefits, free swag, apple products, giveaways, fully stocked kitchen/fridge) but also in their investment in their employees. They've put in efforts to ensure all employees are fairly paid, are building career paths for all roles, are opening an incredible new office in Chicago and San Francisco, and are offering international opportunities. This is a great time to get aboard this rocketship!

    Cons

    Similar to other commenters, this company is going through some insane growth right now which comes with some pains. You have to really dive in head first to the start up life, which means very hard work and requires flexibility. If you're not up to the challenge then G2 isn't for you. It's also a very young workforce, with that comes some immaturity.

    Continue reading
    G22019-05-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great People and Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people are genuinely invested in the company and each other to achieve goals and solve problems - The product is unique and is having a real-world impact on the way companies buy software - Catered lunches & a kitchen that's always fully stocked with snacks, La Croix, and cold brew on tap

    Cons

    - The pay is below average - Expect to work your butt off. Management expects a lot from everyone

    G22018-04-29
  6. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time

    Pros

    Amazing team with a common goal to change how software buyers utilize information to make purchases.

    Cons

    They like to bring in talent from other major organizations. Difficult to get promoted within.

    Continue reading
    G22017-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "An excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time

    Pros

    The team at G2 Crowd is exceptional - smart, hardworking people who genuinely care about the company's mission and each other. When you work here you have the opportunity to take on a lot of responsibility right away, which is great for building your professional skills. G2 Crowd values transparency, which is reflected in the open environment - ideas for improvement can come from anywhere.

    Cons

    A start up environment comes with uncertainties and ambiguities, and G2 Crowd is no exception. This can be a pro or a con depending on your personality.

    Continue reading
    G22015-12-13
  8. "Responsibilities, Perks, Free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can push production level code as soon as you get in Flexible working hours Very helpful team

    Cons

    More challenging projects would be an added bonus

    G22019-10-29
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at G2 full-time

    Pros

    good management and pay structure

    Cons

    long hours are expected to be worked

    G22019-08-23
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Good not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Anyone will tell you the perks here are pretty good. Free lunch, snacks, and good benefits overall. Technically you get unlimited PTO, though in practice this doesn't really work out the way you'd think it would. The amount of PTO/schedule flexibility you actually have is very dependent on your team. In the beginning, G2 offered up great opportunities to learn from other teams and gain experiences across the board. There was flexibility and encouragement to expand your role and bring new ideas to the table, which was great to experience for a time.

    Cons

    The Sales Org is a disaster. I quickly began losing faith in C-Level leadership because of that, and in particular have very negative opinions of the CRO. He is an absolute bully and the culture in Sales soured fast once he arrived. Unfortunately the poor culture there has bled into the other Orgs since Sales makes up so much of G2's headcount. The quality of AE/RM hires (particularly at the Enterprise level, which I assume the CRO has a bigger say in) has noticeably dipped as well. Many of them barely knew how our product worked even 1-2 years in, which puts a heavy burden on the other Orgs who support them. There were/are many people who are trapped in their roles at G2. Being a high performer does not get you promoted. In fact, it can get you cemented in place instead so that Managers don't have to replace you. Many of the best employees I knew here only got promoted after they threatened to quit. G2 has some good ideas but many are half-baked. G2 maintains a "we'll do it live" mentality but once you've moved past the start-up phase this no longer makes much sense. Many of the decisions made at the top seemed tone-deaf to the concerns/ideas of the lower-level employees who were actually on the front lines.

    Continue reading
    G22020-03-18

    G2 Response

    March 30, 2020

    Thank you for providing a review! We want all of our employees to be able to learn continuously and are glad you found G2 to be a strong contributor to your development. We’ve heard your feedback about needing to make sure our Sales teams are positively supported, and G2 is searching for a Director of Sales Enablement so that our Sales teams are setup for success. G2 is glad that we’ve passed the ‘scrappy’ start-up phase and are now a mature organization with $100 million in funding. While that means we have and will continue to build out processes, we believe that keeping a ‘Do it Live’ mentality keeps us poised to jump on opportunities as a company. Thank you for your contributions to G2 and for giving us feedback on how we can improve.

    Continue reading
Found 68 reviews
</>Embed