G4S Secure Solutions Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
G4S Secure Solutions CEO John Kenning (no image)
John Kenning
289 Ratings
Pros
  • "Solid work, good pay, great training(in 78 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, weekly pay, flexible(in 58 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for amount work being done(in 67 reviews)

  • "Upper Management really do not care about employee's at all(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of G4S Secure Solutions and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Psh

      Mar 12, 2021 - Armed Security Officer in Tavares, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that I can think of

      Cons

      Very hard to advance position

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible no promotional opportunities

      May 2, 2021 - Custom Security Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Daily Pay app on the phone.

      Cons

      -no upward mobility with in company ( i was told that it would be easy for somone to move up in the company. As i have a masters degree and wanted to go into the inteligence side of the company. When I started the inital training/onboarding the instructor said this is a bad company and insisted us to find other jobs and that there is little to no upward mobility. When I got to my site my coworkers insisted that there is no upward mobility either and they have tried to move up but could not some of them been with the company for a bit. I asked city management about the inteligence branch of the company and they denied that it existed when i pull up articles about it and showed them and they had no idea about it.) -management dosnt know how to treat employee's ( my site manager made sexual crude jokes about women who worked at client site.) - pay is terrible they dont care they just want warm bodies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Unless you’re in college, retired or desperate, don’t bother

      Feb 24, 2021 - Upscale Security Officer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good chance of getting overtime, easy job to get and maintain depending on site. It’s a job that anyone (without a record) can get and make money in. If you want overtime, chances are you’ll get it. If you’re in it for the right reasons it can be a decent job.

      Cons

      Unqualified management, judgmental staff, limited advancement opportunities, very low pay, sometimes boring if you’re looking for a lot of action (depending on site). Unless you have no life and only work, you’re not moving up in any other position. Even then, there’s little advancement unless you kiss a lot of rings. I was an employee at 2 different sites through 6 years and never got promotion, even when I applied for one, with all necessary qualifications. Model employee, rarely late, followed procedure, proved dedication to site and staff, and never got anywhere. Switched sites and the same deal happened. Managers play favorites quite a bit and get very judgmental. Some sites can be very mundane and monotonous, while some sites are overwhelming. The benefits might be good but they suck your paycheck dry and payroll can sometimes not pay out some benefits and the staff on the phone lines at the main office can be very rude. The only people I would suggest this job to would be a kid in college looking for money to help tuition, retired folks looking for steady paycheck to go with pension, and pretty much anybody that is down and out looking for any kind of job that pays.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy Job, but has its downsides.

      May 5, 2021 - Security Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly easy, and leaves you a good deal of downtime. It's steady work, with a pretty well-kept management system when it comes to efficiently handling security issues.

      Cons

      Employees are pretty openly racist and homophobic at times, and management doesn't give a flip if you complain, or ask for help. If you're not in the main office they have a tendency to just not tell you fairly important things, and seem to forget aspects of your workplace if it isn't an immediate problem. Doesn't pay well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you want to get started in security this is a good place.

      May 8, 2021 - Security Officer - Site Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work with real people who understand you have a life and your own problems as do they.

      Cons

      As a supervisor I feel like I'm constantly being badgered by corporate managers about little things, conference calls, and being threatened about losing my job various times due to shift coverage. Also the officers they send me to interview and hire to my sites are more often than not unreliable and useless. But that can be any job honestly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The site I was stationed at was amazing, management not so much

      Apr 27, 2021 - Security Officer in Piedmont, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the site I was at, the work is very straightforward, and the pay for that site was okay.

      Cons

      My first manager was a terror after a few months and her boss and the HR department refused to do anything about it. The site manager eventually got involved and handled the situation. The schedule gave me sleep deprivation (6a-6p sun, 6p-6a mon/tues, off wed, anytime 6a thurs-6am fri, off after 6am fri-sat) and the new manager refused to change it. Long weeks, lots of unexpected shifts, and no raises/room for advancement at most sites without specific four year degrees, police experience, military experience, or prison experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place for experience

      May 6, 2021 - Security Dispatcher in Pontiac, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pay, Opportunity for Growth

      Cons

      Lots of Hours, Life Balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great environment

      May 5, 2021 - Security in Fresno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can't complain. Had a good experience

      Cons

      I had all I need to donate job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Worst job ever

      May 11, 2021 - Security Gurad I in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They give you hours but your at random spots with no training

      Cons

      No management they always mess up on your hours under paying you

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      G4S

      May 4, 2021 - Security Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with

      Cons

      Lots of overtime due to short staffing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,927 Reviews

    Popular Careers with G4S Secure Solutions Job Seekers

    Upscale Security Officer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Multiple Site Security Officer (MSO)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at G4S Secure Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    or