GAME Digital "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

GAME Digital Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 31 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
GAME Digital CEO Martyn Gibbs
Martyn Gibbs
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Majority of the team are great people who love the brand(in 13 reviews)

  • "Staff discount is good, and sometimes game developers will give you extra discount on launch days(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office make poor decisions regularly(in 26 reviews)

  • "only find out your rota a week in advance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good fun but high pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff at sales level are a good bunch and you make amazing like-minded friends. Staff discount is good, and sometimes game developers will give you extra discount on launch days. Good training. Good hours. All staff are one big family and I feel like I speak privately with managers about any issue I'm having.

    Cons

    SO much pressure to sell. If your figures are phenomenal on everything but one thing you WILL get challenged on it and asked to explain yourself. Witnessed a lot of rude and nagging sales tactics that are not only encouraged but you are trained to use them by the senior staff using them. The company also refuse to update their tills when they've not changed in about 12 years so they will crash constantly and... searching it is a nightmare.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting so much pressure on sales figures. We can't force £40 out of someone and we don't deserve a patronising lecture if we're having a bad day with it.

    GAME Digital2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful. Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount. Cool freebies.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance . Overworked and underpaid. Head office completely out of touch with what goes on in stores.

    GAME Digital2019-04-14
  3. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operative/Team Lead in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent hours, good benefits such as staff discount, good working environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of communication from management

    GAME Digital2019-03-05
  4. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time

    Pros

    Fun people on team, decent staff discount

    Cons

    Poor area management and head office do not care about staff

    GAME Digital2018-10-16
  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The minuscule staff discount is nice

    Cons

    Trying to sell Elite to someone buying a £10 game and having no room for error.

    Advice to Management

    Accept that physical games are dying and stop trying to shill Elite onto customers.

    GAME Digital2018-09-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Depends which store you are in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - If you love videogames you will get to share that passion with customers and fellow staff alike - Great retail experience, e.g. objection handling, meeting sales targets, dynamic work environment - The staff usually act as a family unit and would be very close - if I hadn't been surrounded by such a brilliant team at Christmas I would surely have quit! - The staff discount is quite generous - Some of the... Managers are brilliant and really can make the store a successful and enjoyable place to work - Incentives for the Managers are fantastic - GAME can be a really great place to work - as long as you only see it as a temporary thing

    Show More

    Cons

    Company Wide: - A LOT of time and effort goes into the main COD and FIFA type games which I feel alienates your core customers with very little pre-orders or special editions coming in for other titles. - Customers will often yell at you for things which are out of your control, e.g. pre-orders not coming in, online prices differing from store prices, which can be very frustrating & stressful - Do not expect... to get lunch breaks during peak times - Some offers advertised before the infrastructure was even live in store, causing serious issues for staff dealing with customers - Obligated to push add-on offers to customers, often multiple times in one sale - You are expected to work A LOT of unpaid overtime hours. Leaving the store at 11 p.m. when the shift was due to finish at 9 p.m. - There is a large chain of Management and it is very difficult to get through to anyone to sort issues out from stock faults to codes not scanning through properly - Favouritism unfortunately rife within the company & things go unnoticed when there are so many layers of management - There is no clear career path. You will be promised a promotion by store management (you will more than likely already be doing the role), which is then changed by regional management and even if you do as they ask and do well - they will still hire from outside - Communication structure could use some work, most floor staff were unaware of what is actually going on company wide Specific to My Store: - Rotas were never done in advance - meaning you had to dedicate your life to game's schedule. - We were also not allowed any annual leave between September and February which is literally half of the year. - Attitudes towards female staff were atrocious - Staff incentives were offered but very rarely received in the end. Vouchers, games, merchandise etc were kept by the Store Manager. - The pay is nothing special, especially when you are "promoted" with more responsibility and more hours but no salary increase - Very little training provided or hours provided to enable you to train staff - Store Manager often rewarded for meeting sales targets etc on midnight launches even though they weren't even there and the launches were run by the Deputies or Senior Sales staff, who received no recognition whatsoever

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep a closer eye on your store managers, especially in the stores which have a high staff turnover. - If a certain staff member wins an incentive, contact them directly instead of relying on management as many of the guys were unaware they had even won something. - Don't make promises that you have no intention of keeping. - When senior management come to a store actually speak with the floor staff and not... just management as certain managers do not know which issues are affecting the store as they are hardly there! - Stop carrying out stock audits during trading hours! This should be done at night when the stock is not moving - rather than on a busy bank holiday!

    Show More
    GAME Digital2016-12-01
  7. "This is one for the gamers..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're interested in video games then this is definitely a job I would recommend. Selling something you are passionate about makes retail actually enjoyable (most of the time). I have made some excellent friends in my colleagues, and love working with a team of young and like-minded people. The hours are flexible and most managers are willing to work around your needs. If you aren't a huge gamer it's not an issue..., it's still a nice and friendly place to work, but a bit of background knowledge will help with interactions with customers. Staff discount is decent plus free merch like t-shirts etc is pretty cool if you're into games.

    Show More

    Cons

    The contracts are small and it is very difficult to increase them, although there is almost always the opportunity to work extra hours - you can't actually guarantee what that will be. It's also hard to work your way up the ladder with promotions as they don't come around that often - and are highly sought after when they do. Obviously with all retail work you do have customers that are less than pleasant which can... be a little disheartening especially at peak times when tensions are high. Training is done on the job, which suits some people, but not everyone. There is a fair bit of pressure applied to meet KPI's and daily targets set by the company, which means there is a lot that needs to be asked customers when they're making a purchase which sometimes feels like you're playing '20 questions'.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Comunicate with your staff, be as open about everything as possible. A negative attitude when the team struggles to meet targets is not going to help, it just lowers morale.

    GAME Digital2016-07-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Slowly becoming a bad place to work. Which is a real shame as I used to be so happy working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital

    Pros

    Great staff and great store management. Staff discount good. Good communication between management and sales assistants. Promotional items are nice to collect.

    Cons

    Since op capita bought Game out of administration, the heart of the company is only interested in profit and not interested in benefiting staff working there from the communities they operate in. Do not look after their staff. Continue to cut down on hours every week. Company obviously doesn't run for the benefit of the communities they operate in. They only care about profit. It's a real shame as the staff in all... Game stores I have visited have very friendly staff with excellent customer service. They also now want us to be a Broadband sales rep as well as a mobile phone & tablet sales rep. When serving customers the customer gets bombarded with what seems like 20 questions and the customer knows all the company cares about is getting these extras. Game continue to add more workload but cut hours for us to do this within. This leaves managers having to work even more unpaid hours over their contract. It's now got to the point where I think why should I sell all these new extras they come up with, and look out for the company if they are not looking out for me. This company doesn't support staff I have worked here for a good few years and I can honestly say the company is getting worse. It used to be so much fun working here, now all me and my colleagues do (including senior, assistant and main manager) is complain about the company which never used to be the case before a new company bought Game out of administration a few years ago.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pass staff feedback to regional manager which should feed through to directors and Mr Gibbs and Mr Hamid themselves. It obviously isn't at the moment!

    GAME Digital2016-03-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely no training - don't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Seasonal Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital for less than a year

    Pros

    - Staff discount is okay on some types of product. - If you can survive working at GAME over Christmas then you can survive any job.

    Cons

    - Only training was in how to operate a fire extinguisher - we were told to just get on with it and told off (for want of a better phrase) if we asked a manager/assistant manager what to do in a specific situation. The job application stated no experience was necessary, which is appalling as we are then expected to have prior knowledge. - ABSOLUTELY DO NOT RECOMMEND AS A FIRST JOB. - Shift pattern is awful. As I am... a full time student, during term I was limited to working weekends which somehow meant I only got 5 hours/week, despite some of my colleagues getting 30+ hours. After term finished I asked for more hours and was told there weren't any to give despite the rota saying we were plenty under budget. - All contracts are 4 hour contracts and despite being frequently told "Nobody ever gets just 4 hours" at the interview, I have frequently only worked 4 hour Saturday shifts. - Rota made up a couple of days in advance, rather than the recommended two weeks, meaning staff members might only find out on a Saturday if they are working the next day. - PERSONAL - Treatment from staff members as well as working conditions damaging mental health/self esteem and causing severe breakdown, no accommodations despite having advised my manager I have Aspergers syndrome during the interview stages, frequently made to deal with the most difficult customers while colleagues laughed from behind the desk.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff and don't treat them like crap.

    GAME Digital2015-12-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Simple target Staff discount

    Cons

    Pay could have been better, but has since improved.

    GAME Digital2015-10-18
Found 11 reviews