GBMC HealthCare Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

GBMC HealthCare Nurse Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
John B. Chessare
7 Ratings
  1. "So far so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just started. Orientation and onboarding went well. So far everyone seems friendly.

    Cons

    Long commute for me. Other than that, none.

    Advice to Management

    Great job with training new employees.

    GBMC HealthCare2018-08-10

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    August 15, 2018Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review! We are glad to hear you have had a positive experience here!

  2. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Patient population , staff support services and technology

    Cons

    Location and using beltway is a nightmare

    GBMC HealthCare2019-07-11
  3. "💰"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Modern hospital with updated resources

    Cons

    No support from management .

    GBMC HealthCare2019-05-11

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 21, 2019GBMC Relationship Manager

    We are surprised by your post and we would like to learn more about your experience at GBMC. Please feel free to reach out to our Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, Anna-Maria Palmer, at 443-849-2033. We want to ensure you have an enjoyable employment experience.

  4. "Poor Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Location and free parking Location and free parking

    Cons

    Unsafe environment for nurses Poor Work environment- work load too heavy. Can not provide quality care Poor Leadership alot of Mangers, no real leaders No Diversity in Nursing education, Administration etc. Unhappy work place for nurses Nurse pt ratio poor Poor Communication from Nursing Administration A lot of basics

    Advice to Management

    Change!!!

    GBMC HealthCare2019-03-25

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 8, 2019GBMC Relationship Manager

    At GBMC we take pride in the compassionate care we provide our patients, and the positive employee culture we embrace. We encourage you to share your opinions and ideas in person with either a member of our Human Resources staff or your nursing leadership. Having a dialogue together ...

    Show More
  5. "Nursing Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Technician in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Hospital to be employed with

    Cons

    Not able to work overnights

    Advice to Management

    Great Management

    GBMC HealthCare2018-03-27
  6. "A Community Hospital of Comradery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What makes GBMC so great is that it is one of the few remaining not-for- profit community hospitals that exist within modern society that genuinely evokes a sense of compassion and comradery amongst it's staff; and the community. Being that it is not your large scale industrial big name hospital, GBMC is the kind of place where you slowly develop those special and close personal relationships with everyone from the cafeteria...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not exactly the ideal hospital to work at if you are looking for experience in more action packed high acuity areas such as shock trauma or advanced cardio-invasive intervention as this hospitals acuity level does not accommodate those cases at this time. The hospital is also not as technologically advanced as others in the surrounding metro area.

    Advice to Management

    Send out courtesy reminders for those who may need renewal of certifications or licenses before expiring.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-06-22

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    June 23, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your review and great feedback, I will pass it along to our HR specialists.

  7. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Good benefits and hours but that is it

    Cons

    Poor management. What would you do if it was your daughter is the motto but this does not apply to the staff. I had a hostile work environment with a manager. She was nasty and rude. I actually had to file a grievance with HR. She was unstable.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust your staff for the professionals they are and stop treating them as disposable commodities. This is especially true of seasoned senior nurses. I realize you can hire new grads for less but then spend thousands training them just so they move on due to poor treatment by management

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Be Careful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has a very good vision statement, the organization needs to take their vision and treat employees the same. Maybe they should change the vision statement from "Treat every patient as if they were a family member" to "Do unto others as you would like done to yourself"

    Cons

    Cannot speak up without retaliation! Leadership titles such as VP and others given to people who do not have a degree. What organization do you know that a Masters Degree is not required for a VP position, well go to GBMC and you may have a chance. But wait, it is not what you know it is who you know. Dictatorship, many silos, one person or department does not know what the other is doing. No advancement!!

    Advice to Management

    Break the triangle that came from New England. Instead of laying honest and good employees off, consolidate upper management. The organization is not that big. You want to stay independent downsize the C suite, i.e. Most small organizations don't have a VP of risk/legal and a VP of Quality and Patient Safety. One VP oversees risk/legal/quality/patient safety; then have directors for each entity. This would save $$$$$$$.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-07-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nursing Support in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, excellent staff, promotes team work

    Cons

    Bad management, doesn't compromise with staff

    Advice to Management

    None

    GBMC HealthCare2016-06-02
  10. "Good place to work despite poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Joppa, MD

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare for more than 8 years

    Pros

    supportive co-workers opportunities for advancement wonderful benefits

    Cons

    Patient-nurse ratio disorganized lack in leadership budget limited supplies to do your job

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the needs/concerns of your employees and really make an effort to find a solution to some of their needs.

    GBMC HealthCare2015-11-19
Found 16 reviews